We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The staff of this hotel were friendly and helpful. The rooms are small,but clean and relatively well furnished. Don't expect airconditioning, but the evening hours proved that you don't need it. Excellent food as well as free breakfast. Wifi worked pretty well and the view from the room was picture book quality. Good value for the money even though it is a little way from the town center. Buses run regularly so no problem.

Room Tip: Park across the street was not open, but would be great in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyb3112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Seeburg guest. Good day from Luzern.

Thank you so much for your positiv feedback.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel website says that it is 10 minutes from the train station. They really should clarify that this is 10 minutes by cab and 15 minutes by bus. It is a 45 minute walk to the center of town. (They also do not provide bus vouchers unlike every other hotel we stayed in while visiting Switzerland.) The website also says that breakfast is included. They do not tell you until check out that this is not the case if you have booked the room via. an online booking site (like Expedia). Rather you get charged 17 USD per person after eating a mediocre breakfast. The rooms were clean and absolutely fine with a nice but not fancy balcony. The dining staff were very warm and lovely but the front desk staff were awkward and while they tried to help with questions about sights etc. they really weren't very well trained to do so (at least not in English). This was surprising for staff at a major city hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Mr. Chun

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

Thank you very much for the note regarding our not very well explained "Directions" on our website. We have changed it immediately.

We do apologize for the unprofessional handling of our service at the reception. Please note that we have already discussed your feedback and already taken the necessary measures.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had great views across the lake. Rooms were average (No air conditioning but this is standard for Swiss hotels.)

Restaurant.had a great location, with the lake just across the road but my main course was bland and I couldn't eat it. (Although the prawn cocktail starter was great!)

Bit out of town but there is a bus that runs every 15 minutes outside the door.

Friendly enough staff. Was going to rate this 3 stars but it just scrapes in for 4.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Seeburg guest

Thank you so much for your kind and positiv feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologise for the unsuccessful main course in our Sunset Bar!

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg we send you best regards from beautiful Luzern.

Best regards

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Bad experience. No one to help with the luggage. Smelly rooms. Poor housekeeping.
For any request for extra tea u have to pay 10 francs extra for room service.
We were given complimentary vouchers for use in restaurant. But u can use only on the main dish which is just a ploy to lure customers to the dinner & pay heavily.

Room Tip: Stay away if u can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologise for the unpeasant experience you have made with us. Please note that we de provide free tea and coffee facilities in our rooms so for that you don't have to pay any room service charge.

The voucher of CHF 10.00 per person is a present from us for the guests who decide to have dinner with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

very good hotel, excellent service, very nice surroundings and very nice views
excellent service, we asked for a babybed, immediatelly good service, both in english as in french, and a good wifi connection

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at the Hotel Seeburg again.

Best regards from sunny Luzern

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are a good size, with a fabulous balcony view over Lake Luzern. There is indeed no air conditioning, but there was a fan provided in the room to circulate the air, and a canopy to pull down to keep the heat off the balcony. The staff were first rate and the welcome pack of refreshments in the room was a nice touch. We ate at the Hotel on the two of our three nights there. It was a good menu, and being able to dine in the open air with a fabulous view of the lake was a real highlight - it beat being crammed together on a so called table for two (in reality 8!) at a riverside restaurant in the centre of Luzern.
The Sunset bar was a great place to retreat to after the restaurant meal - good beers and cocktails available and an opportunity to sprawl out on the many loungers as the night fell.
Luzern is very accessible - four busses an hour in both directions until late at night.
All in all this is an excellent place to stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Seeburg-Guest.

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg we send you best regards from sunny Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Was not impressed with this hotel. It was not air conditioned and the rooms are small. They also do not provide wash cloths. The view from our room was great. We overlooked Lake Lucerne. Not to close to the center of town but the local bus stops right in front of the hotel. You can buy a pass that allows you to travel on the bus all day. The restaurant here is good but the menu is limited. The elevator here is VERY small.

Room Tip: DEFINITELY select a room that faces the lake, since their is no a/c the breeze coming off the lake h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

We do know that the building seeburg 61 is in a condition that should be renovated. Last year we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms, the staircase as well as a new lift, which we couldn't do bigger, unfortunately. The next stage, the complete renovation of the seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves. Thank you!

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
976 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 67 in Lucerne
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £91 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing