We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucerne Stay at Seeburg Oct 2013”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lucerne Stay at Seeburg Oct 2013”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hi,

We recently stayed at the Seeburg and are pleased to report that we were more than happy with our stay with this wonderful hotel. The location by the lake was fantastic, not central, but close enough (10-15 min by bus 24, every 15 min or so). We were thrilled to receive a complimentary upgrade from forest view rooms to lake view rooms (3 rooms 6 guests+1 baby). The hotel also generously provided us with some meal credits which we could not use unfortunately due to dietary restrictions (vegetarian) and limited vegetarian options. Their Alexander lounge was quite lovely to sit and watch the lake. Rooms were a reasonable size, well furbished, separate bath/shower and toilet. Some complimentary bottles of water were provided and the toiletries were adequate. Staff at the reception was warm welcoming and ever helpful.

Once again, thanks for a great stay. Only gr8 things to say about this hotel, absolutely recommend.

Note: the hotel did not have a pool/spa etc but this wasnt a big deal for us as we were in lucerne for only 2 nights and mostly used the hotel as a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Go for Lakeview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediem_shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for your positive and detailled feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We are very pleased to hear that you were mor than happy with our stay at the Hotel Seeburg Luzern.

Looking forward to your next visit in Luzern we send you best regards.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    234
    63
    23
    20
See reviews for
108
278
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you are a business traveler and needs to have your clothes press for business meeting, either you bring yourself a traveler iron else don't bother staying in this hotel. They do not provide iron and ironing board and the reason is due to risk of fire. And if you arrive pass 6pm, the ironing service will not be available till the next morning after 8am (which you probably need your wear for the meeting by then!). Staff does not communicate well and was rude. They slapped a double charge for same day service for ironing without prior informing. House keeping was a disaster as cup and spoon were not wash/replace and amenities were not replenish.

Room Tip: Room facing lake makes your trip slightly more bearable with the lousy service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your honest and critical feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We have suddenly discussed the actual situation of our laundry service. Please note that we have revised them completely so that the service is more professional and less expensive. In additional we will install a special room where our guests are able to press the clothes themselves and free of charge.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed at the Seeburg Hotel in Lucerne for 3 nights in September 2013. We had booked a standard room but were lucky enough to be upgraded to a balcony lake view room. The room was a good size and I loved the style. It is definitely worth paying the extra to ensure you get a lake view room, the views are spectacular across Mount Pilatus. Breakfast was enjoyable with the standard offerings but again you get to enjoy the view while eating. The restaurant (where breakfast is also served) was a bit pricey but the hotel gave us a 10 franc discount off a main meal for each person for the restaurant which did make it a lot more affordable. Lucerne city centre is a 50 minute walk from the hotel but it is all flat and you can walk by the lake for most of it so it's very enjoyable. A bus also leaves from right out the front of the hotel as well and tickets can be purchased from reception. Great free wifi for as many devices as you like and free parking. One of the best hotels I have stayed in and would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butterz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your positiv and detailled feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and wish you in the meantime all the best.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel is on the main road. Luckily we had the rooms facing the road and across we had the picturesque lake and mountains. Staff was very cordial and helping. The bus stop near the main gate was an added advantage. Food was quite good. Slightly expensive but for quality one has to a little extra. Open air restaurant on the banks of the lake was very cool-PK JAGGI

Room Tip: Request the front office staff for a room overseeing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The staff of this hotel were friendly and helpful. The rooms are small,but clean and relatively well furnished. Don't expect airconditioning, but the evening hours proved that you don't need it. Excellent food as well as free breakfast. Wifi worked pretty well and the view from the room was picture book quality. Good value for the money even though it is a little way from the town center. Buses run regularly so no problem.

Room Tip: Park across the street was not open, but would be great in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyb3112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Seeburg guest. Good day from Luzern.

Thank you so much for your positiv feedback.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel website says that it is 10 minutes from the train station. They really should clarify that this is 10 minutes by cab and 15 minutes by bus. It is a 45 minute walk to the center of town. (They also do not provide bus vouchers unlike every other hotel we stayed in while visiting Switzerland.) The website also says that breakfast is included. They do not tell you until check out that this is not the case if you have booked the room via. an online booking site (like Expedia). Rather you get charged 17 USD per person after eating a mediocre breakfast. The rooms were clean and absolutely fine with a nice but not fancy balcony. The dining staff were very warm and lovely but the front desk staff were awkward and while they tried to help with questions about sights etc. they really weren't very well trained to do so (at least not in English). This was surprising for staff at a major city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Mr. Chun

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome.

Thank you very much for the note regarding our not very well explained "Directions" on our website. We have changed it immediately.

We do apologize for the unprofessional handling of our service at the reception. Please note that we have already discussed your feedback and already taken the necessary measures.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,
Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Property: Hotel Seeburg
Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing