We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and enjoyable stay. ”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped over a for night here, motoring home from Croatia. As the hotel (s) were hosting weddings, we were a little intimidated on arrival, feeling tired and scruffy. However, we received a warm welcome and an upgrade to rooms with beautiful lake views. We didn't plan a 'posh' meal that evening but as the hotel's a little out of town we ate in the Alexander restaurant, enjoying a delicious meal with friendly and impeccable service. The breakfast was excellent also. Switzerland is expensive but the Seeburg offered very good value for money. This hotel has a lovely location, good facilities and very friendly and efficient staff. I'd love to return to see more of Lucerne and I can throughly recommend the Seeburg.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Claimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with kindest regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Rooms were tiny even after an upgrade. Breakfast buffet was average. The view of the lake from the balcony was awesome though the pictures on their website is kind of deceiving We would recommend travelers stay close to the train station, the area around that is full of life.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the lake view to make it worth the time in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ankita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the view to the lake and mountains.

Thank you very much for your critical and honest feedback concerning the breakfast and our website. It is correct that we are a little bit far (10 minutes by bus) from the city centre but there is a public bus right in front of the hotel and each 15 minutens you have a bus to town.

We know that the Seeburg 61 3*, especially the bathrooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last twelve months we have realized the renovation of all our standard rooms 3* including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the complete Seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel on July 22nd on a rainy day. We stayed here just for a day, which was too short!. The biggest USP of the hotel is the fabulous lake views. misty clouds, placid lake, anchored boats in the horizon can turn even a hard nosed businessman into a poet. The rooms are just about Ok. However they lack basic amenities like tea/coffee makers, minibars etc. So this isn't a modern contemporary hotel in that sense. Have been to lucerne earlier n this is pretty much true for all similar owner run/standalone properties. The property has a solitary restaurant that's reasonably good. Distance wise, it's about 10-15 minutes from city centre by bus. Overall, I would stay again just for the views.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Priyankar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the wonderful view to the lake and moutains.

We do know that the Seeburg 61 3*, especially the bathrooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last twelve months we have realized the renovation of all our standard rooms 3* including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the complete Seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed with my wife in Seeburg between 10-12 Aug 2014.

We requested for the river facing room and paid the additional 30CHF per night for 2 days. And it is worth it.

The room was facing the river with a great view. And we can spend hours sitting in the balcony.

There is an exclusive beach side bar with fantastic seating arrangements.

The local bus stops just across the hotel and is very convenient to go to the train terminal.

Room Tip: Ask for the river facing room. It is wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bRameshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with kindest regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

we stayed in a lake view double room.

Positives
+ nice unobstructed view of the lake and pilatus
+ bus 24 convenient. stop is right next to the hotel (stop: hotel seeburg)
+ nice Oasis bar on the water
+ there is a fan and you can open the balcony door for some air at night

Negatives
- the little frigidaire doesn't do anything...not even cool water
- rush hour in the morning can be nosiy
- may run into tour groups and they can be loud
- facing the lake means facing west and the room gets A LOT of sun during the day. gets unbearably hot until sunset
- no water heater or coffee maker
- bathroom clean but dated

we think two things can really make a difference- a real mini fridge for snacks from the grocery store or beverages and a water boiler so we can make coffee or tea to enjoy on the balcony!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandervne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Seeburg guest

Thank you very much for your kind and detailled feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your critical and honest negatives. We know that the Seeburg 61 3*, especially the bathroom, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last two years we have realized the soft renovation of all our standard rooms 3* - but there are still some shortcomings. The next stage, the renovation of the complete Seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have stayed here on a few occasions.
Room overlooked lake, had been updated since last visit. Bathroom has shower in but toilet is seperate. Shower area is very small
Food at breakfast and dinner were good.
Good transport links to town, bus stop just outside hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Seeburg guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and that you have decided to stay with us again. Your feedback gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with kindest regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The view was simply amazing. Looking out your window all you see is the lake and beautiful mountain. The staff was very friendly and patient with our group of 31. We enjoyed drinks across the street at their bar by the lake. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the wonderful view to the lake and Mount Pilatus.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
967 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £96 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing