We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice place to stay in Lucerne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seminarhaus Bruchmatt
Ranked #8 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice place to stay in Lucerne”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for one night in double bed room. It was small, but nice. The bed is comfortable. The room is clean. The sink in the room works nicely. The shared bathroom is spacious and clean. Not so far from the central station, but there is a small-climbing road to reach this place by walking. The staffs are great too. Cheap and nice place to stay in Lucerne :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandanikape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    22
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
18
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, España
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

During our eurotrip me and my husband we stayed in Luzern in this hotel. In general Switzerland is very expensive place, so we were really surprised how good the hotel was for the price we paid. Shared bathrooms are very clean, nice breakfast, free parking (!), really attentive stuff. Location is perfect, 5 min walking to the center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugen1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Don't expect much from the property and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are small, but neat and clean. The bathrooms are common, but there's a sink in the room. It's situated a little uphill and it's best to take the bus from the station while going here.Not exactly prime location, but decent for a night. The wi - fi works only in the common area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaunakGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Nothing is cheap in Switzerland, so if you're traveling solo, then it's important to find decent, cheap lodgings that aren't a hassle to get to and are a bit of an upgrade from a hostel. This place runs about $70 USD per night (cheap for Luzern!)

From the Hauptbahnhof, go out the front doors and hop onto Bus 10. It's free if you've just arrived using your Swiss/Swiss Flexi Pass (valid same day travel). Get off at Berglistrasse. Out of the bus, go back the direction you came (downhill) and cross the street. The seminary is right there. Everything is within walking distance--major sites are about 15 to 20 minute leisurely stroll away.

Don't forget that this is a seminary, so the people working there are somehow church connected. Don't let that bother you, because they aren't there to convert you.

The room I stayed in was spartan, yet clean as a whistle. It did, however, smell like mothballs; I just opened the windows to alleviate that issue. The room has a single bed with comforter, a table with chair, and a lounge chair, along with a basin area. To use the WC or shower, you have to head down the hall. So...don't forget to bring cheap slippers or shower shoes. Also, you'll need to bring your own shower gel/soap, because they don't provide it (which they should--it's not a hostel and soap is cheap!)

The place isn't exactly quiet because there are major train tracks right near, so you'll hear trains from about 7 a.m.-11 p.m.--ish. And it will depend on who else is staying there because regardless of what part of the world you're in, over half of humanity is totally clueless as to how their behavior affects others...as in, people talking loudly in the hall when they come in, not smart enough to figure out not to let the door slam and/or how to use a skeleton key without waking everybody and their brother up! So bring some earplugs, otherwise you'll be awakened at midnight or six a.m. by other guests.

Even though there isn't any AC, and it's hot in the summer in Luzern, you can open the windows, pull the shutters that will still vent air in, and use your shoe to prop your door open to get a breeze.

There's a TV room, one computer, and free wifi in the club room areas. The property has a nice little garden with tables and chairs for your use, which is nice if you want to read, have a picnic, or just relax. Don't forget your bug spray!

Breakfast is available for a very reasonable price--do yourself a favor, and book it. You won't find breakfast for under ten USD unless you go to the grocery store, and even then, you won't be able to get a coffee except at a cafe. If you want to buy groceries, there's a COOP and a Migros about nine minutes away on foot.

I do have to say, overall the place was good for a budget option; however, the cleaning crew did not lock my door after they emptied the trash (but luckily nothing was stolen--or so far as I can tell!) The shortbread-jam cookie was a nice touch upon arrival in my room. Seminarhaus Bruchmatt gets a solid B.

Room Tip: A room on the back side of the building is probably far quieter than a room with a view in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceejinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here one night in mid October 2012. The place was a little tricky to find (we turned the wrong way when we got off the bus) but we were pleasantly surprised when we found it. There was a very pretty garden on the premises, which was nice. The room was small and simple, with a small sink in the room, full size bed and a desk. There was a computer that you could use if you needed and also a tv room and dining room. We used the tv room to have a picnic dinner. When I was booking our hotels, the price on this B&B could not be beat. It is close enough to downtown, but far enough away to bring down the price significantly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_S470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We don't normally stay in hostels so I can't really compare Seminarhaus Bruchmatt to a hostel experience, but if it is similar I would do it again.

We stayed two nights at Seminarhaus Bruchmatt. It is very well located, only a few minutes walk from the heart of town but far enough away that is was peaceful and quiet. Our room was small. and a little dated, but clean. We were at the end of the hall in a corner room for two overlooking the peaceful garden. The room had a sink. As this is a seminary you have to share a bathroom but we never found that to be a problem at all. In our "wing" there were ten rooms, serviced by four bathrooms -- two with showers. Free wi-fi and TV is available in the common spaces. Breakfast is available for a fee but we did not eat at the seminary.

We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#37 of 68 in Lucerne
1,553 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 68 in Lucerne
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminarhaus Bruchmatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminarhaus Bruchmatt

Property: Seminarhaus Bruchmatt
Address: Bruchmattstrasse 9, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Seminarhaus Bruchmatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing