We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
William Tell Express - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Gotthard Panorama

If this is the same trip I can highly recommend it. We travelled from Lucerne to Fluelen by boat... read more

Reviewed 22 June 2017
Shirley39
,
Western Australia
A beautiful ride on a beautiful lake

We took the William Tell to Weggis and picked up the cog railway to Mt Rigi there. A great trip... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2017
hhstitches
,
Saratoga Springs, New York
Read all 86 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
47
25
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
25
8
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a great trip. It starts with a train ride and then finishes with a boat trip. Well worth the money. The steam ship has an impressive view of the working steam engine. Great Trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank LismoreLakeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We travelled on the 1st class panorama cars, well worth the extra money the scenery was awesome, deep ravines, tunnels and bridges.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank Campbell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The time went so fast on this trip. Food was not very good on the boat as expected, but the scenery on the boat and train were stunning. The guide was not as attentive to our section of the train I don't even think she knew we were part of the tour. The spiral tunnels were so cool!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank emaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We travelled by boat from Lucerne to Fluellen and were delighted by the experience. We had a refreshment voucher which we used to pay for breakfast. We were allocated a table in the First Class Salon which was ours for the duration of the journey. Food and drink were good and the service excellent. We chose to spend much of the journey outside on the First Class reserved area from where we could watch the beauty of the lake.
At Fluellen we transferred to a "Panoramic" train. Unfortunately we were directed to an excursion train (despite having our tickets checked three times) and it was only because two other travellers objected to us having the same reserved seats that we narrowly avoided being treated to a close inspection of the soon to be opened new Gotthard Tunnel!
Fortunately the "Express" train was late and we made it to an adjoining platform to complete our journey. Some signage for the William Tell Express would have been useful here!
A very zealous lady (who had originally directed us to the tunnel excursion train) regularly pointed out "features of interest" to us. She appeared to be an employee of the Swiss Railway but I'm not sure what her function was.
We had intended to purchase some light refreshments but this proved to be very difficult (impossible actually) because as the trolley reached our seats it moved out of the carriage to allow the ticket inspector to get by. Although we, and others, tried to catch up with it in the next carriage it disappeared into the ether and was never seen again!
For some inexplicable reason the train ran very late and those who were transferring to Lugano and beyond were told that they would not make their connections. Goodness knows what happened to them!
Truly a journey of extremes - the sublime lake paddleboat and the ridiculous train . This was not a cheap trip and should have been of a consistently high standard. Someone needs to get a grip!

Date of experience: August 2016
9  Thank PollyHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This was a highlight of our trip to Switzerland. The journey is spectacular for both its scenery and its engineering marvels. Well worth the slightly extra time to travel between Lugano (Bellinzano) and Lucerne.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank FamiCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews