We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
William Tell Express - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Gotthard Panorama

If this is the same trip I can highly recommend it. We travelled from Lucerne to Fluelen by boat... read more

Reviewed 22 June 2017
Shirley39
,
Western Australia
A beautiful ride on a beautiful lake

We took the William Tell to Weggis and picked up the cog railway to Mt Rigi there. A great trip... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2017
hhstitches
,
Saratoga Springs, New York
Read all 86 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
47
25
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
25
8
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We traveled in Sep 2008 on the Wilhelm Tell Express. Our plan was to go from Lucerne to Zermatt and so decided to experience the Wilhelm Tell Express from Lucerne till Bellanzano and then from their to Zermatt.

It was an unique combination of a boat cruise and a pleasant train ride. The boat cruise takes you through Lake Lucenre giving a breath taking view of the Swiss country side on the sides of the lake. We were treated to a lovely lunch on the boat (all part of the package).

We boarded the Wilhelm tell express in Fluelen till Bellinzona.

Very nice experience and worth going for it.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Ashish_Neogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The trip is advertised as if it is one dedicated train followed by a dedicated steamer. It is a bit more involved than that. Don't get put off before you read on - it is super but you need to know! We started from Lugano where we took the train to Bellinzona. This is the regular express train from Milan to Zurich. There are no special features and nobody recognises you as a WTE passenger. In our experience, this train is regularly late (Three times out of the three contacts we had with it) The Swiss Rail Office in London scheduled us with a seven minute connection time at Bellinzona which when queried, they said was because Swiss trains were seldom late. On our day, the Italian train was 11 minuted late so we would have missed our connection. Fortunately we took a gamble and got another one 40 minutes earlier (Still 4 mins behind schedule) - So do look at the times.
The next train is the regular express from Locarno to Basel. They have bolted on a panorama car. This part of the trip is magic and the lady from the railways who came with us was brilliant at explaining the engineering etc. (We used this train a couple of days later and it was 20 minutes late by the time it got to Basel). The train connects with the regular steamer that runs down from Lucerne in the morning and goes back in the afternoon every day. This is a public service and not in any way dedicated to WTE. When the crew see you struggling with bags they guess you are WTE passengers and direct you up stairs but that is the most personal contact on this part of the trip. The food is good but still expensive with your discount voucher. The trip is marvelous and not to be missed. Do, however, make sure you have time for delays!!

Date of experience: October 2016
19  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a great trip. It starts with a train ride and then finishes with a boat trip. Well worth the money. The steam ship has an impressive view of the working steam engine. Great Trip!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank LismoreLakeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We travelled on the 1st class panorama cars, well worth the extra money the scenery was awesome, deep ravines, tunnels and bridges.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank Campbell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The time went so fast on this trip. Food was not very good on the boat as expected, but the scenery on the boat and train were stunning. The guide was not as attentive to our section of the train I don't even think she knew we were part of the tour. The spiral tunnels were so cool!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank emaock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews