We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with friendly staff”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the Cascada for two weeks on our annual summer holiday. It is a good hotel with nice staff but a bit lacking in some areas for a 4-star hotel.

The waterfall theme extends to the rooms which have mural paintings of Swiss waterfalls. Our room was a bit small (they all are apparently) and sparsely furnished. The wardrobe was just a few shelves and hangers attached to the wall. However there was a big television and good radio, both with several international stations. There was a good supply of toiletries in the bathroom. We had a balcony too. Although we were at the front of the hotel, which was on a busy road, there was good insulation so no traffic noise at night.

The Spanish restaurant Bolero is excellent - the food is always of a high standard and lots of the locals seem to eat there. There is a small bar which is really an extension of the restaurant - service very good but the furniture had seen better days. The hotel also mentions a "lounge" but this does not exist - it is just a bar! The public areas could be better for a hotel of this class.

The Cascada is a comfortable hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gproyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for CASCADA Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

SWITZERLAND....the name itself speaks about scenic beauty....the snow...the greenery...mountains....wine...nightlife and Hotel Cascada is like a cherry on the top of delicious blended salad.
I really enjoyed my stay over there.
Don't miss the chance to have TAPAS with red wine at Hotel-restaurant.

Room Tip: For smokers...choose a room with balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soumya_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very nice place, not that close to the station. But its ok! My room is like a little condo. Good bathroom... Very nice staff. They speak spanish!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dvillasmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Nice cosy hotel, clean and stylish roms with all amenities, very friendly and helpful staff,
good buffet breakfast, near to luzern bahnof, 9-12 minutes walk by the side of Lake Lucerne and one can reach all kinds of restaurants in old Lucerne town. Overall nice experience...we will stay again if comes back to Lucerne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duttashovan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel is located in walking distance from the train station, the lake, the KKL (Kultur- und Kongresszentrum Luzern) etc.
The staff is very friendly.
WLAN is free as well in the rooms.
There is a radio with iPod/iPhone docking station as well as a quite big flat screen TV in the room.
The breakfast buffet is included.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss74_ZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We only needed a room to basically have a place to sleep therefore we needed something with good location and decently priced. This is very true for this hotel. The room was spacious, very clean and ok for the purpose. We normally book design hotels which are very trendy and hip, but as we spent only a few hours in the room the decision to go for a good value hotel worked out well. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet far beyond our expecations for the price we paid. It was quiet and we had an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Comfortable hotel located near the train station. Within walking distance to most sights which fits the economical profile. Rooms are quite unique and the several that we had as a group were all different, but nicely updated with modern finishes and bathrooms. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful, but a bit overwhelmed by large number of guests seeking attention. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of European and western options. Parking is very limited, recommend calling ahead and reserving one of the spaces.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £133 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern individual hotel, centrally located close to the railway station and only a few minutes walk away from the lake, the old town and the city sights. Comfortable and modern air-conditioned rooms with highspeed Wi-Fi. In keeping with the hotel’s name, “CASCADA”, all rooms feature an impressive mural of a Swiss waterfall. The in-house BOLERO Restaurante, well-known for its creative Spanish cuisine, ensures your culinary well-being with tapas, paellas y vinos. A large selection of gins and open wines is served in the trendy bar & lounge. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing