We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but reception at check in was BIG let down”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but reception at check in was BIG let down”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on first of 5 nights in Switzerland. The hotel is a little further from the train station than I thought, but still walkable. Could be sort of a hassle if you have a lot of luggage and plan on walking.

When arriving at check-in the girl at the reception was on the phone, and we had to wait about 15 mins before being acknowledged. I could be wrong but it sounded like she was a personal call.

The room it self was nice and big, not much to really complain about expect there was a strange smell. Not a dirty smell but also not clean. Note that once you get out of the elevators there are no signs indicating where the rooms are, luckily there happen to be housekeeping there to ask or we would have to guess which way to go.

When I called for the wifi login the same lady that checked us in gave us the wrong info, and I to go down and get it.

My biggest let down was that I had no clue the minibar was free until I read about here. Again would have to fault the lady at check in as she did not inform us, and should have mentioned it during check in.

I most likely won't be coming back and will look somewhere else next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    344
    66
    19
    8
See reviews for
246
361
52
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our recent trip. The hotel provided us a big bassinet/crib for our 2 year old. They had special pillow and comforter for children and my kid was pretty happy to see her colorful blanket and pillow. The breakfasts were a delight. They had a good selections of cheese,fruits, bread and you had an option to order eggs as well. The location was great, closer to restaurants, city and the train station. We really enjoyed our time in Lucerne and this hotel contributed to it. The Staff were helpful and pleasant. The rooms were spacious and modern and had good amenities. We mainly chose this hotel since it is near to the main train station and would definitely choose the same one next time when we are in Lucerne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shad_0w2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Cascada for 6 days and loved every moment. Room 410 is big enough for 1-2 people and has a beautiful balcony with street/mountain view. Hotel is surprisingly quiet given it's proximity to the train station, the location is extremely useful for getting around the region (all 3 modes of transport easily within reach). Breakfast has plenty of fresh options including fruit, breads and eggs to your order. The free minibar of waters, cola and beer was a lovely touch to return to after a long day traveling. Front desk staff were friendly/attentive and always happy to assist with travel questions. A special mention of Barbara, lovely and made my stay a joy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is one of those hotels where they give you what you see in the pictures.
If the pictures shown are big and spacious, the rooms are big and spaicious.
I was in one of the Basic rooms and compared to other hotels I stayed in, this has to be one of the biggest "basic double room". You can even sleep another two more guest on the sofa, which is right across to the other side of the room. Which can be seperated by a pullable curtain as well, so you have a living room and a bedroom.The bathroom was quite big, and I was floating around in the bathtub. The experience gets better as we discovered that the minibar was complimetary. There was even a coffee machine in the room, and you can refill it anytime you want. There is a counter near the entrance where you can get milk, sugar, coffee, tea etc. My friends and I only chose this hotel because it was near the main train station, but now, we have many more reasons to come visit back next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is excellent in many ways. It is ideally situated within walking distance of the main train station and all the important attractions in Lucerne. The room (612) our family of 4 stayed in was modern. spacious, well equipped (excellent coffee machine) and quiet as it faces the courtyard. Breakfasts were a delight with a great selection for all tastes. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. I an very picky about hotels but this one is hard to fault!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyril w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Service was impeccable, nothing more to say. Location is really convenient as it is only 2 tram stops away from the Lucerne Bahnhof! For someone who travels around on the train often and using a Swiss pass, this is a really good hotel for the price and location. Room was huge for 3 people and the minibar was on the house; first time in my life I saw a free minibar! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable hptel that is conveniently located next to the train station!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huiyang87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We (2 adults plus 2 young children) stayed at the Cascada for one night and had a fantastic time. The room was ready earlier than expected, the mini bar was complementary, there was a coffee machine in the room, the room was modern, clean and spacious and the location was very convenient. Staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet left nothing to be desired. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern individual hotel, centrally located close to the railway station and only a few minutes walk away from the lake, the old town and the city sights. Comfortable and modern air-conditioned rooms with highspeed Wi-Fi. In keeping with the hotel’s name, “CASCADA”, all rooms feature an impressive mural of a Swiss waterfall. The in-house BOLERO Restaurante, well-known for its creative Spanish cuisine, ensures your culinary well-being with tapas, paellas y vinos. A large selection of gins and open wines is served in the trendy bar & lounge. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing