We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault...”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hard to fault...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Of over 5 weeks travelling in Europe, this was probably the best hotel we stayed in! It also happened to be the most expensive, but for the price it represented exceptional value.

We stayed in a 'Deluxe Family Room' and it was big! There was a sleeping area which could be screened off with sheer curtains, and another space with a sofa that converted to a bed for children. In between was a workstation space, with double doors that opened on to the inner courtyard. There was no view but that didn't bother us. The bathroom was off to the side, and it had an obscure glass wall to the shower which allowed light in while maintaining privacy. On the side facing the room the glass had a large mural on it, which looked cool when illuminated by the bathroom light from the other side!

Complimentary water, cola and beer in the minibar is appreciated, as is a free and solid wifi signal, even though we were right towards the back of the hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and offered advice with enthusiasm when planning day trips.

Breakfast was very good and offered a large selection, even champagne if you feel so inclined. I liked the pads encouraging you to order fresh eggs cooked the way you like. I had an amazing omelette with exactly the ingredients I enjoy! The Nutella filled doughnuts were pretty good too!

The location is good as others have said. We booked the hotel as it has very easy access to the station, however strolling through the back streets is a more interesting and pleasant way to reach Chapel bridge and the historic centre rather than walking down the busier street next to the station.

I can't think of a single criticism. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    336
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
235
346
50
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great weekend at the Cascada Hotel. Our superior room was lovely with a small balcony and we enjoyed the beer, cola and water from the free minibar. We found the hotel to be very quiet and never really heard any other guests. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, although we never managed to time our egg order to arrive at the right time. The front desk staff were very helpful whenever we had a question. The hotel is well located if arriving by train and is within easy walking distance of the old town.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but be warned that everything closes in Luzern on a Sunday including most restaurants. It may be different in the height of summer but we struggled to find somewhere to eat on Sunday evening in May. A good tip is that the supermarket at the Railway Station remains open when everything else is closed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ButterflyFish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

One of the best hotel and just 300 mtrs frm main station. They have kept their room names on the basis of remarkable places in switzerland, each room wall decor is different from other. Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A couple of days in Lucerne and stayed at the Hotel Cascada. Easily within a nice 5 to 10 minute walk from the main train station and historic older part of town. Check in was easy and quick and each and every member of the staff was pleasant and helpful at all times. Breakfast was included and was a great start to each day.

The room was comfortable and clean and although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, we did order room service from there and we're quite happy with the results..

If I ever pass through Lucerne again I would look to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week and would recommend the hotel for its cheery and helpful staff, well equipped bathrooms, cleanliness and amazing breakfast buffet. As has been previously pointed out, it is a short walk from the railway station and buses run to the centre of the town from round the corner. The reception staff were so helpful with local information and maps. This was the only hotel during our stay to provide a kettle, milk, tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast buffet was the best we experienced in 6 hotels during our stay in Switzerland with omelettes, scrambled eggs or fried eggs being offered each morning and served at your table. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location to the train station. It was an easy walk for us, the key was to walk to the end of the platform when exiting the train and take the stairs to travel underground and exit to the street. The hotel offers free breakfast and it was wonderful. There was a nice choice of selections and on each table there was a little notepad where you could check off how you would like your eggs cooked. The mini bar in the room is free and has beer, water (still & sparkling) and cola. We thought it was a nice touch. Also enjoyed the free wifi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandy_bottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel Cascada was a nice, clean hotel, just a short walk from the train station and the historic centre. The rooms were large and modern, breakfast was quite good and service was always friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern individual hotel, centrally located close to the railway station and only a few minutes walk away from the lake, the old town and the city sights. Comfortable and modern air-conditioned rooms with highspeed Wi-Fi. In keeping with the hotel’s name, “CASCADA”, all rooms feature an impressive mural of a Swiss waterfall. The in-house BOLERO Restaurante, well-known for its creative Spanish cuisine, ensures your culinary well-being with tapas, paellas y vinos. A large selection of gins and open wines is served in the trendy bar & lounge. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing