We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with everything we needed. The nice touch was the mini bar with free water and beer. It was an easy walk from the station and well positioned to explore lucerne. The breakfast was good and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Definitely a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    325
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
217
326
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cascada recently and found it to be highly satisfactory. We experienced a very warm and welcoming check in service from the staff and they helped us out a lot with activity ideas during our stay. We also had a problem with baggage delay from the airline and as promised when it eventually did arrive, we got a call from reception to notify us.

We stayed on level 5 in room 506 which was a deluxe room with a sofa bed. I traveled with my partner and young son. I don't think it was advertised, but in addition to the fruits and chocolate on arrival, and daily breakfast, our room also included free mini bar with soft drinks, still and sparkling water and beer which was great so we didn't have to spend so much money daily on drinks when we went out. We didn't find out about the minibar until we asked because there was no price list in our room for the minibar items. I'm not sure if this depends on the room type because they have an information book which says you need to pay for minibar items on check out. Anyway it's our first time to Switzerland & it's pricey in Luzern so saving a few CHF here and there really helps!

Our room didn't have a fantastic view as it over looked a car park and I think an office building but it was very quiet, clean and warm which was good enough for us as we went out all day to visit the mountains and only came back to the hotel to sleep.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant daily, they make eggs to order and the rest is buffet style like most other hotels. We ate at their restaurant "Bolero" for dinner and had the seafood and chicken paella which was delicious. It had the biggest prawns and juiciest mussels I have ever seen in it. Had we known it was going to be so big we could have skipped the entrees. It takes 40 minutes to make but it is worth the wait. We tried our best but couldn't finish it to save our lives. If you order the paella, minimum serve is for 2 people. Which makes sense because it takes so long, they want to make a decent size serve.

The location of the hotel itself is very close to the train station. We drag our feet a little on holidays so it takes about 10minutes to walk from the train station to the hotel. Maybe a little less for other travelers who walk faster or aren't slowed down by kids :) Dragging suitcases is not a problem as there are no cobble stones. Just smooth foot paths.

The hotel also hires out free bikes but we weren't there long enough to make use of it. My only issue was the wifi didn't connect to facebook. Site might have been blocked. I'm not sure but I should have asked reception. In the end to me this wasn't a big deal enough for me to worry about because we were usually too busy having fun on Mt Pilatus and Mt Titlus anyway.

Wishing everyone great holidays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Actually, we have booked another hotel but no room for first night. So, we've been escorted to Cascada. Little bit small & old fashioned of their lobby, but the room is modern, spacious and well equipped. Staff are friendly, breakfast is the best in Europe from our experienced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Of over 5 weeks travelling in Europe, this was probably the best hotel we stayed in! It also happened to be the most expensive, but for the price it represented exceptional value.

We stayed in a 'Deluxe Family Room' and it was big! There was a sleeping area which could be screened off with sheer curtains, and another space with a sofa that converted to a bed for children. In between was a workstation space, with double doors that opened on to the inner courtyard. There was no view but that didn't bother us. The bathroom was off to the side, and it had an obscure glass wall to the shower which allowed light in while maintaining privacy. On the side facing the room the glass had a large mural on it, which looked cool when illuminated by the bathroom light from the other side!

Complimentary water, cola and beer in the minibar is appreciated, as is a free and solid wifi signal, even though we were right towards the back of the hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and offered advice with enthusiasm when planning day trips.

Breakfast was very good and offered a large selection, even champagne if you feel so inclined. I liked the pads encouraging you to order fresh eggs cooked the way you like. I had an amazing omelette with exactly the ingredients I enjoy! The Nutella filled doughnuts were pretty good too!

The location is good as others have said. We booked the hotel as it has very easy access to the station, however strolling through the back streets is a more interesting and pleasant way to reach Chapel bridge and the historic centre rather than walking down the busier street next to the station.

I can't think of a single criticism. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great weekend at the Cascada Hotel. Our superior room was lovely with a small balcony and we enjoyed the beer, cola and water from the free minibar. We found the hotel to be very quiet and never really heard any other guests. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, although we never managed to time our egg order to arrive at the right time. The front desk staff were very helpful whenever we had a question. The hotel is well located if arriving by train and is within easy walking distance of the old town.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but be warned that everything closes in Luzern on a Sunday including most restaurants. It may be different in the height of summer but we struggled to find somewhere to eat on Sunday evening in May. A good tip is that the supermarket at the Railway Station remains open when everything else is closed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ButterflyFish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

One of the best hotel and just 300 mtrs frm main station. They have kept their room names on the basis of remarkable places in switzerland, each room wall decor is different from other. Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A couple of days in Lucerne and stayed at the Hotel Cascada. Easily within a nice 5 to 10 minute walk from the main train station and historic older part of town. Check in was easy and quick and each and every member of the staff was pleasant and helpful at all times. Breakfast was included and was a great start to each day.

The room was comfortable and clean and although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, we did order room service from there and we're quite happy with the results..

If I ever pass through Lucerne again I would look to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing