We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had three nights stay in this hotel in July,2014.
First the lactation is the best. Five minutes away from the railway station.
Second the hotel is clean and the bed is comfortable.
The third the breakfast is delicious.
And the most important is the staff. They are friendly and know lots about the city. They can give you the accurate information about the city and the view point nearby.
We, eight friends travel together in Swiss, are given the deep impression by the hotel.
One more the Spanish restaurant is the remakable. The most unforgettable food is the seafood rice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Di H

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and mentioning especially our staff. Your feedback is a wonderful motivation for the entire CASCAD team which includes also the Team of our BOLERO restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends again.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    332
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
226
335
49
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our Swiss Trip. This was our first stop in Swiss. The hotel is very close to the train station and just at walking distance. The rooms are well maintained, breakfast is awesome and perfect for Indians too (who generally do not find easy options to eat in Swiss).

The staff was very cordial and warm. In short best option to stay in Lucerne as it is centrally located.

Room Tip: Take rooms with breakfast included as it turns cheaper and the spread is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhushrooDumasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear KhushrooDumasia

Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy that we could contribute with our service and amenities to your fabulous stay. We forward your feedback and our staff is deeply grateful for such warming words.

We wish you beautiful holidays in Switzerland and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is my third stay at the Cascada and I will definitely be back:

Pros:
- Close to train station.
- Friendly front desk staff.
- Clean, comfortable rooms.
- Access to gym across the street (gym access is hard to find at Luzern hotels. Note, that the gym has strange hours though).
- good breakfast
- Free water in rooms.
- Free (but spotty) WiFi
- 10 minute walk to city center
- great value for Luzern

Cons:
- Small single rooms (but that's normal for Europe!!)
- WiFi is spotty
- some rooms are upgraded, some are not. I really like the upgraded rooms with the waterfall lighting.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Daniela V

Thank you very much for choosing us 3 times. You mentioned very detailed our positive attributes and it's a pleasure to read your review. The waterfall lighting is currently in our redecorated rooms which are more than two-thirds of our rooms. The remaining rooms get redecorated at the end of this year. You will enjoy it for sure. We are hard working to resolve the problems with the WIFI.

Thank you again for your great and informative feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stays.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent service, only a short walk from train station and friendly reception staff! Thank you for a great stay with delicious food, the tapas was amazing. I would definitely stay here again on our next trip to lucerne

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkigray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Front Office Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nikkigray

It is a pleasure to read your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We forwarded your feedback to our staff and especially to the BOLERO Team.
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

We would be pleased to welcome you again and hope you had a safe journey home.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As two couples, meeting up in Luzern from Germany and the UK, we all found the Cascade to be excellent in every aspect. The extremely helpful, friendly and well informed staff made us feel totally 'at home' and welcome every time we came into the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable spacious and stylish with the added attention to detail,of the fridge being restocked with mineral water and beer, a much appreciated 'extra'. Our only slight compliant was the 'wet room' style shower which made the whole bathroom floor very wet so we would advise a room with an encased shower.The hotel is extremely well situated for exploring the sights of Luzern. We would all recommend a room facing the inner courtyard as these rooms are much quieter than those facing the road. The Hotel Bolero restaurant is really excellent and a great fun dining experience with again very friendly staff and the added incentive of 20% reduction for hotel guests. Cascade also has a 'sister hotel', The Waldstatterhof ' which is also excellent for dining and the Cascade offer a free dessert voucher for dining there. The buffet breakfast was also excellent in every aspect, even offering Cava each morning which we had the fun of taking advantage of! All in all a truly excellent 6 day visit.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a room facing the courtyard with an encased shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkUKRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Twoofi21

It is a pleasure to read your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The great feedback is a wonderful motivation for the entire CASCADA team and we have forwarded it.
The room you stayed has special facilities for physically handicapped peolpe. But for sure we noticed the case. Thank you very much for mentioning all our benefits. There is nothing else to add except the gym which is included.
We hope you had a safe journey home and we would be pleased to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived by train and walked to the hotel. We were a party of 5 with 3 rooms for 3 nights, hotel could store luggage, staff was very accommodating and we were on our way for touring in 30 minutes. When we returned, luggage was in our rooms and check-in was quick. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and they provided a 20% discount card (available every night) for dinner and this helped as it is pricy. Breakfast was included in the dining room, all of the delicious, fresh European fare plus omelets made to order. The food was excellent! Complementary mini-bar included 2 bottles of mineral water, coke, beer and was replenished every day. We were in room 402 and had a great balcony view of Mount Pilatus - see photo. Everything was extremely clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel is excellent value for Switzerland and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Larry P

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

We are looking forward to welcome you another time at CASCADA.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've been to several hotels around Europe, but place I will always remember will be hotel Cascada. I've spend there 10 weeks and I was always looking forward to it. They provide service I really miss when I'm accomodated somewhere else. Friendly "feel like home" personal, included internet connection for two devices, air-conditioning, included minibar with two bottles of coke, four bottles of water and two bottles of beer, free entrance to gym across the street, free city bike rental and wonderful breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for room after reconstruction, they feel more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenikKominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear JenikKominik

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. "Feel like home" is the greatest compliment for us and we really appreciate your kind comment.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing