We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Luzern”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cascada in August 2014 (last weekend) and I have to say we were blown away by it. We had a family room with a large double bed and sofa bed for the 2 kids to share... Trummelbach Suite. Clean, modern bathroom lots of extras like an ipod dock, nespresso machine, etc and a full mini bar that was included in the room cost..that's right, enjoy everything in the mini bar for no extra cost! That was a first for us and I checked twice before I could believe it. The hotel is in a quiet location within 10 mins walk from the Chapel Bridge and old town. Secure private parking, great customer service, superb breakfasts (omelettes are great and again, no extra cost). Efficient aircon, comfy beds, blackout curtains, powerful shower, deep bath. I was worried when we first arrived that the main train station is so close.. but didn't hear any noise from it once inside. Lovely big murals of waterfalls in each room/suite. 10 mins walk from the main boat dock. There is nothing bad to say about this place at all. It wasn't cheap, but then all the hotels in Luzern are a little pricey. This one was worth every penny/swiss franc.

Room Tip: They all looked good to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_hotel, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AlisonB12

You and your family enjoyed the time at CASCADA hotel, and I enjoyed reading this absolutely great review. We exceed your expetations and that is exactly what we want to do!

Thank you for sharing your impressions!

All the best for you and your family and we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a "romantic package" and we enjoyed every minute of it! we were welcomed with burning candles, a bottle of cava, some fruit...
The dinner at the Spanish restaurant 'Bolero' was execellent (and at my husband's request glutenfree).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mieke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_hotel, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Mieke V

Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and enjoyed our romantic package.

Like you mentioned we offer in our restaurant special gluten-free and lactose-free menus, also for breakfast we have gluten-free bread and lactose-free milk on request.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your husband another time at CASCADA.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Cascada in June of 2014 on our trip across Austria, Switzerland and northern Italy. The Cacada is located within walking distance of the train station, the boat docks and the old city. We found it to be extremely convenient. The hotel is modern and very clean. Our room was the largest we had in Europe and was quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent with the option to order eggs from the kitchen any way you wanted it. The service was friendly and knowledgeable. The only minor issue was there was no concierge so you had to talk to the front desk folks for tourist type info. That was not a problem because they were helpful and knowledgeable but they were sometimes very busy. Also, they only had one pc available for guest use in the lobby which often had a line . Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel if staying in Lucerne, especially if travelling without a car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_hotel, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Bernard B

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at CASCADA.

Our front desk team is really good informed about the points of intertest in Lucerne. Also you can check information at our pc in the lobby or you use the free w-lan.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was one of the best places we stayed on our 10 day stay in Switzerland. Daniela was at the front desk and was a tremendous help. She was exceptional! She went out of her way to help all guests that were there. She advised us as to what to see the afternoon we arrived and when to try and see Mt. Pilatus. Her advice helped us better manage our time in Luzern. The hotel had a parking lot for our rented car and the distance from the center of town was not a long or tiring walk. I would highly recommend this hotel in Luzern.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Jane B

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at CASCADA. Your review on TripAdivsor is also a great motivation for us and we have forwarded your feedback. We all are very happy about your comment and especially Daniela.

We would be pleased to welcome you again and hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We love this place. Ours (410-Bärglistüber) was a clean, well appointed room with a delightful balcony in this Spanish / Swiss waterfall themed hotel in an active, but not overly so neighborhood. Fantastical gratis breakfast, and don't overlook the comped beer, soda, etc. in the daily restocked mini fridge.

Staff consistently and sincerely worked hard to please . . . even happily accommodating my borderline obsessive but oft unrequited love affair with bedside fans.

Spanish theme comes through in the Gaudi-esque flourishes in the renovated building as well as the thoughtfully conceived and well executed restaurant offerings. It should be said that they don't exactly "give it away" and while it's true that the restaurant itself is white linen and a bit more posh than we generally look for, the exterior seating offers a pleasant, casual alternative. This beer loving patron does ask himself if it would kill them to offer more than one beer selection in the entire building, but even this objection is somewhat muted by my earlier point concerning the freebies. San Miguel is a highly drinkable brew after all.

Bonus tracks: easy walk to HBh, frigid AC, intriguing lighting, and a ridiculously comfortable bed. All in all this a well run, excellent little gem of a hotel I emphatically recommend and look forward to coming back to.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank jhisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASCADA_hotel, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear jhisley

We are very delighted that we could contribute to your fabulous stay.
We are also very proud and thankful for your great and detailed feedback. We forward this feedback to the whole staff and hope that you had a safe journey back home.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regrads
Your CASCADA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at Cascade in July and was totally impressed by this lovely hotel.

First the check in was extremely well done, Wireless Lan codes were handed over as well as information about Lucerne, before I even asked for it. All employees are very friendly and carry a smile on their face!

Once I entered the room the first impression was confirmed, the room was really nice, clean and well equipped, including make up mirror in the desk!

The location is really handy, close to the main train station, but very little noise.

I will be visiting the hotel again and can only recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Zsu78

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment. The great feedback is a wonderful motivation for the entire CASCADA team. Thank you very much for this detailed description.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel Cascada was a lovely modern, clean and tidy hotel. When booking we requested a room at the back of the hotel as it is on a busy road, our request was granted and we had a room looking out over the back of an enclosed courtyard (not a pretty view but it was quiet). Ideally located 5 minutes from the train station on the 'new' side of Lucerne and 10 minutes to the old town. Room was very clean, spacious and had a kettle to make hot drinks and plenty of toiletries, lovely powerful shower!
Breakfast was nice, cold and hot buffet with plenty to choose from. Eggs make to order, pleasant staff.
A lovely hotel, great location. Can not fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mojotravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mojotravels1

Thank you very much for your great and informative review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We'll keep on improving to offer best service and spoil our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Your CASCADA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £122 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern individual hotel, centrally located close to the railway station and only a few minutes walk away from the lake, the old town and the city sights. Comfortable and modern air-conditioned rooms with highspeed Wi-Fi. In keeping with the hotel’s name, “CASCADA”, all rooms feature an impressive mural of a Swiss waterfall. The in-house BOLERO Restaurante, well-known for its creative Spanish cuisine, ensures your culinary well-being with tapas, paellas y vinos. A large selection of gins and open wines is served in the trendy bar & lounge. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing