We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed two nights at the Renaissance Hotel in late April.

The hotel is modern, comfortable and quiet and is located in a very nice section of the city away from the throngs of tourists. It is very convenient to the train station, city trams and lake steamers. There are a number of good restaurants nearby. Lucerne is a relatively small city and most of its sights can be easily reached by walking or using the efficient network of trams.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

This is a small motel owned by Marriott. For us, there were significant rate advantages from belonging to the Marriott rewards program and arranging a weekend stay.

We strongly recommend trips to Rigi and to Pilatus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    309
    63
    24
    12
See reviews for
187
461
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is located very close to Lucerne train station and it takes only 5 minutes by walk to reach the hotel. Rooms are small but comfortable. The staff is nice and responsive. Old city and the Chapel bridge are only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Enjoyed our 3 days stay in the hotel with my family. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prakash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

(+)
Just 5 minutes from the train to the check-in desk.
Quiet enough (lots of trees thorugh windows on the side street), though a base for a bar and a couple of decent restaurants.
The rooms are new, though opt for more than standard room as only they are of enough size to raise a camp:)
The check-in and check-out efficient.
Very close to everything - historical centre to lake cruise and shopping.
(-)
Breakfast is mediocre (coffee is awful) with 30 CHF price tag
Room service hasn't replenished toiletries on one of the days.
Almost emply mini-bar (water and 2 chocolate bars only)
Only news English channels.
Free internet is only provided through hourly vouchers - need to enter another one each hour.

A good option if the rate is right (under CHF 250).

Room Tip: take a larger than standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stopped by Lucerne for a weekend getaway during our honeymoon. What a picturesque town! :)

The hotel is very small but has a nice staff and well appointed guest rooms. Very easy walk to the Old Town area (and Chapel Bridge) as well as the train station.

The hotel restaurant was way overpriced (32 CHF for a burger???) but, the complimentary guacamole, salsa and quesadillas for happy hour were AMAZING and the margaritas were pretty good as well.

Sleep quality was ok- noisy streets so make sure to get a room away from the busy side!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kealey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have been to Lucerne more times than I can count. I have always stayed on the 'other side' of the main bridge. This stay was using points, so a splurge. The 'new' Renaissance is a lovely hotel, and the surrounding area has its charm. There is a nice park just a half block away. We spent pleasant times sitting on a bench, enjoying the people watching, and also more than a game or two of chess (the giant chess pieces and the board that you walk around).

We stayed in a corner suite at Renaissance, with windows on two sides, overlooking the main Pilatusstrasse and the street in front of the hotel lobby. It's far from the view we get from staying along the lakeside on the other side, but well worth a try, staying in this area of the city. This side of the river/lake/bridge is much more lively at night. Lots of people milling about, and folks relaxing in the nearby park. Bars and restaurants are open late hours; not so much on the other side of the bridge, from my experience.

Breakfast has a nice selection of breads, fruit, cereals, and hot and cold foods. Internet is free and a very good connection and speed. We paid 20 Swiss Francs per day to park our car on the street. At busy times, it can be difficult finding a place to park, but we managed. The train station (and Rail City shopping) is just a short walk down the main street. Snack shops and a Coop grocery store at the train station provide cheap eats if you don't want to go to a restaurant and dine. Our suite had a fridge, so we were able to store our cold cheeses and yogurt and water. Bottled water is not provided free of charge. That surprised me. The mini bar is sparsely appointed, but we typically do not indulge in what is offered anyway. There is a hot water pot and plenty of packets of coffee. There is also a nice Nespresso machine (we had to ask how to operate it!). Staff is always helpful and pleasant.

There is a nice big screen LG television which faces the bed. It would be nicer to have a TV that you could swivel so that you could also view it from the sitting/desk area of the suite (although my favorite time to turn on TV is at bedtime).

Also in the neighborhood of the Renaissance are lots of other hotels and restaurants and bars. We tried Pacifico in the lobby (billed as Mexican food) and La Cocina (pizza and pasta) a couple of blocks away, at Renaisance's 'sister' hotel, Astoria. One local bar, just across the street from the lobby, was quite lively (think noisy) into the wee hours as there was a soccer (football) game one evening, and the winners were reveling well into the early morning hours. IMO the people frequenting the neighborhood bars and eateries are locals in many cases, rather than tourists.

Shopping is mostly on the 'other side' of the bridge, so a little bit of a walk, especially if your hands are full of packages. But I would definitely shop here in Lucerne as the variety is exceptional IMO. One big store, Globus, is just a block down from Renaissance. It is a nice department store, but I would still cross the footbridge and shop in the "old town" area instead. Pilatusstrasse, the main street that runs beside the hotel, is a shopping street, but the variety and selection pale in comparison to the other side of the bridge. Definitely worth the walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain - Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great hotel. But you must book a suite with breakfast included to get the best value.
My wife and I did this and had a fabulous 5 day break.
Room was large and had king bed, luxury shower room, Balcony, Nespresso machine, iPod sound dock. Robes slippers.
Breakfast was very plentiful and jolly tasty.
Hot cooked breakfast and cold cuts. Fruits cheeses pastries.
The staff are very pleasant and very keen to help in any way.
Well done chaps! See you again soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you request to see the rooms as they are all unique! Some are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel was in a convenient location. It does not take long to get to Old Town from there. There are many restaurants within walking distance. As stated in other reviews, the room was small but I did not think it was uncomfortable. The hotel restaurant, Pacifico, was pretty good and the lounge was fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing