We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, spotless rooms, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great location, spotless rooms, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Having arrived by train, it was rewarding to find this hotel 5min away on foot with the bus station nearby (to head to Mt Pilatus cable car station 15 min away) and that the riverside was just 7 min walk. This was a blessing for us, being independent travelers.
The rooms are spotless with the most comfortable beds ever!
Breakfast is so-so for a five-star hotel. One can give this a miss as there are several nearby cafés .
Staff are friendly and helpful and were eager to help first-timers like us with necessary advice.
As is the case for a hotel near a busy street, specify a higher floor for some peace and quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear DoctorBakar

Thank you for staying with us as well as for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. We feel proud about your comment on our staff and are grateful for your feedback on our breakfast. We are always searching for areas for improvement and your comment helps us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerelly
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    298
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
180
443
26
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The girls at the desk are very nice, the hotel in General is fine. However our room is over a very loud nightclub that didn't stop the music until 2:00 at the minimum. This room 103 should not be rented out. Made for a horrible stay! Will not return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Pjlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Pjlieb

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your stay was not to your satisfaction. We deeply regret that you could not sleep that night. We do our best to find a technical solution together with our ovnership. However it still may take some time.

Despite this unfortunate issue we would be more than happy to welcome you again at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Renaissance Lucerne Hotel:

- Excellent location
> approx 5 min walk from the Luzern main train station.
> 5 - 10 min walk to the Old Town
> 10 - 15 min bus ride to Mount Pilatus (10 - 15 min walk from bus station to the cable car station)

- Friendly and helpful staff:
> Room was ready and we were able to do early check in (We did request in advance.)

- I enjoyed the breakfast despite same spread during our one week stay

- Electric Water Boiler available with free coffee and tea. (Decaf available too)

- Free Wifi

- Clean and spacious bathroom (Our room has a bigger bathroom).

- Comfortable bed

- Room with nice/modern interior design

Some points for your consideration:
- Our room was facing the main road and we opened the window for ventilation so we heard some shouting/cheering at nights as there are a few bars/lounge around.So do request a room away from the main road if you are a light sleeper. (I'm not sure if it's happened every night, as I'm a deep sleeper but I did hear it when I was up watching TV.)

- Not sure about other floor but certain rooms on level 6 will pass by this small steps (2 steps only) beside the small lift, so please indicate to hotel if travelling with wheelchair or walking aid or stroller. Also note that the corridor is kinda narrow.

- The room size we stayed would not be suitable if you have big luggage (more than 2 luggage) and travelling with wheelchair or stroller). So please check with the hotel before booking. Some reviewers did mention spacious room so believe the hotel has bigger room.

Overall, we would recommend to our friends and will consider coming back if we do visit Luzern again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Ms Ang

Thank you for your nice note. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Renaissance Lucerne Hotel is a small historical building in the heart of the city. We are aware of the slight challenges this may occassionally cause.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

fantastic friendly clean hotel in a very beautiful city, the staff were so helpful and friendly they could not do enough for us. the rooms were exceptional, and we cant wait to go back and use this perfect hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

VISA: I stayed 2 days but weeks before the pre-authorised my VISA with one day for assuring the cancellation even if the cancelation of the reserve was free until the day before! In my arrival they not only cancelled the preauthorisation but they ask me to pay the 2 days in advance and pre-authorise with 2 additionals days that is in total 5 days. It was late night and winter so they told me: Give us the same VISA or go! When I checked out I asked them to free my 3 days of pre-authorisation but they rudely say no, without any additional reason. I needed that day the credit of the VISA to caution the renting of a car so I have to go to an ATM for very big a mount of cash with an additional cost. Next month the 3 additional pre-authorisation days were still limiting my VISA credit so I have to make a complain to the card issuer who finally solve the issue and told me that this practice was illegal. A nightmare!
Noise: The two first floors are very noisy because of the South American Bar in the hotel, so they put me in the last floor where rooms have only ceiling windows.
Comfort: There are not room thermostats and in my case was uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid first, second and last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacitoali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your feedback.
Reading your review we feel very concerned about the mentioned issue. This is in no way the manner we treat our guests and we deeply regret this experience. Therefore, we would like to investigate this problem further and kindly ask you to contact me at: +41 41 226 87 02 or jana.jeschek@renaissancehotels.com.

Best regards
Jana Jeschek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and were very comfortable. The rooms are very large for European standards, and the bed was to die for! Extremely comfortable with 6 pillows! Location was great, with just a short 5 minute walk to the old town. We didn't do the breakfast buffet, since it's $30 Francs per person. But there were several nice bakery's next store that were cheap (under $10 for 2 people).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this place on our second day to Lucerne. The first day was spent at a budget hostel near the Lucerne main train station, and it was horrid but we won't go there :) So, we chanced upon this hotel on booking.com, and decided to go with the choice. As we checked out from the first hostel, we had to rush for an early morning train to Engelberg. We asked if our luggages could be deposited at the concierge, and the manager gladly and immediately agreed and even asked if we wanted to check in at 9am! That was really good service, and we couldn't wait to come back to the hotel at night. The hotel staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, the room was a tad small but well-equipped with amenities and the bed was awesome! Came with 6 pillows to boost! Location was great, it was only a mere 5 minutes walk to the heart of Lucerne. The breakfast was simple but great and of high quality. I like the birchener museli!
Highly recommend this hotel if you have the budget!

Room Tip: Could choose the room facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esteller1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear guests

Warm greetings to Singapore!

Great to learn that you enjoyed our service and liked our hotel as well as our associates.

We thank you for the recommendation to other travellers and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Jana Jeschek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing