We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$271
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$131
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$294
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
US$247
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic(Lucerne)
US$153
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
535
340
69
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
340
69
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mexican restaurantgreat locationtrain stationold townmarriott pointschapel bridgetwo blocksfront desk stafffirst floorsmall lobbydeluxe roomsmall hotelstreet parkingwalk in showernespresso machinewould definitely stay here againexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is in a very good position in Lucerne, only 5 minutes walk from the train station and the old town. We had booked a standard room with king size bed, but when we were taken up to the room I was shocked at how small it was. The bed took up the whole of the room and the sliding door to the toilet and bathroom practically touched the side of the bed. This room was on the sixth floor and so had dormer style windows with sloping sides which made things even worse. As we had to endure this room for three days I called reception and asked for another room and thankfully they moved us to the second floor. This room was better but still on the small side. The hotel reception is very small and the only place to sit anywhere is on the first floor where a small area with a TV and free coffee machine is available. Breakfast is served in a restaurant attached to the hotel called the "Pacifico" which was passable. In the evening you can use this for a meal but it is transformed into a Mexican style restaurant serving Mexican style food together with blaring music, so if this is not your style you are forced to go elsewhere. All a bit weird! I wouldn't really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the 6th floor!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Mr. Barry

Many thanks for choosing the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel for your stay in Lucerne.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Switzerland and had a good journey back home.

Regarding our rooms, we would like to mention that we have many different room categories, from Standard room up to Junior Suite (20 to 37 sqm).

During the summer we serve the breakfast in our house restaurant, which offers a huge variety of warm and cold options - all you can eat. For pastries is Bachmann a very good choice, it is one of our best bakeries in town.

Despite this unfortunate issue we would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
Isabella Doering, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our group of 6 stayed here upon arriving by train. Once you get off the train, walk out the left door and keep walking for about 10 minutes. Easy to do with luggage. Centrally located to walk to all the tourist locations. Our room, 209, was on the second floor on the main street but didn't have any noise issues. The other 2 rooms could hear the nightclub music all night and their rooms were on the wall that the hotel shares with the bar. The staff did change the room of one friend when they requested it. The room was clean and large. The front desk girls were very friendly and helpful when we asked for recommendations on food and things to do. The breakfast was very expensive for what they provided-Danish, yogurt, fruit, deli meat, eggs, etc. It really should have been half the price, I don't care that it was Switzerland. The only reason we ate there was that we didn't feel like searching for food early in the morning. I would stay here again but I will skip the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side street for quiet nights
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear KisaMesue

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel. The property is situated in the heart of the city 300 meters from the main station and 600 meters from the old town and Kappel Bridge. Our hotel has 86 rooms with different categories and we try to fulfill our guest’s wishes. Our fresh and rich breakfast buffet is balanced to our client’s requests, but we stay tuned to upgrading our service and we are allocated to our guest`s hints.

It is great to learn that you will coming back to our property and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the renaissance on 26.4.14 for 3 nights ......this property is not at all mariott standard ,,,the staff at the reception was good except the manager who was really rude with us when we asked him to swap the room for us since the room provided to us was at one corner of the hotel and was really really uncosy and there was hardly space to move around but the bathroom was excellent in fact the bathroom was much more cosy than the room....we really did not enjoy the hotel as we were expecting.... .secondly the hotel is around 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from lucern main station ....but it really feels long as you have have to drag all your luggage by yourself.......so plz be very careful while choosing your hotels and opt for a hotel which is really really close to the station.......

Room Tip: Go for a room which is located very close to the elevator.....
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Amit

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for your feedback.
Reading your review we feel very concerned about the mentioned issue. This is in no way the manner we treat our guests and we deeply regret this experience.

With reference to the room size, we have many different categories from 20 to 37 sqm.

Again, our apologies for this inconvenience and our best regards from Lucerne
Isabella Doering, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed as a family. Allocated rooms right next to each other on the third floor. Lovely rooms of good size for Europe. The location is perfect being just a couple of minutes walk away from the train station and the old part of town. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice bathroom products and really comfy king beds.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Smoltzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The hotel had a good blend of the cushy amenities we American's are accustomed to, a little old school European classiness and very helpful staff--who encouraged us to enjoy handfuls of their Swiss chocolate at the front desk. And, it's conveniently located near the river and the old town. This was a favorite spot for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srmcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews