We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and good rooms but avoid lower floors.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I just came back from Luzern and as fellow reviewer WTO mentioned, be aware!

My first room was a nice, larger room (no.212 i believe) and I was very happy with the layout and size. Also the decoration was pretty nice, far different from most Swiss hotels i visit and tend to be a bit out dated.
The lobby is almost non existent but checkin was friendly and smooth. The big surprise came when I returned back from dinner. around 2300. The restaurant/bar downstairs turns out to be kind of night venue with loud music and I was able to enjoy it all the way till 2AM. The next day I complained I and requested for a new room, high up and away from the bar. This was arranged and ended up in room 610.

Although the action they took was correct I was not offered an apologize. This is not new to them and I feel cheated because I still paid my full rate in the expectation I was going to enjoy a good night sleep. If I deliver a bad or faulty product to my clients I am forced to give a discount or even worse, accept a return.
This hotel should have acted accordingly, offer an apologize and a discount or a bottle of wine, whatever..show they actually did care.

The room I landed in 610 was top floor and a so called attic room but on the corner. Nice room, pretty large. Only the bathroom was kind of small.

The breakfast is pretty complete and service friendly.

Bottom-line is that a really ok hotel turns out to have its drawbacks so if you don't mind to enjoy the music well into the morning then your are ok. If you like to enjoy some silent hours during your night sleep stay away unless you are guaranteed a room higher up. And the later is of course not possible.....so decide yourself.

Room Tip: Refuse lower located rooms due to noise of road but for sure the Bar / club at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Roger S
Thank you for your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel and to take time to share your experience at our property.
We apologize for the sound emission from outside the hotel. During summer in the middle of the city people like to sit outside for their dinner. The Renaissance is a small hotel with 86 rooms allotted on 6 floors in historical block, 5 minutes away from the main station and every sights of Lucerne is in walking distance. Our lobby at the ground floor is cosy and clearly arranged. Additionally we offer our guest a Lounge with free coffee, tea and flavored water on the first floor.

We thank you for your concession to change the room to the 6th floor. Normally we always put a small gift in the way of Swiss chocolate or Swiss wine and a card of excuse to the room.

Please feel free to contact us directly for any further feedback.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel during your next trip to Lucerne.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

My family and I booked a Junior Suite here for 3 nights. They gave us Room 103, which was a lovely room. However, be warned that loud thumping music can be heard very clearly throughout the night, and it only ends at 1am on weekdays, and later on weekends. When we went down to alert the concierge to this fact, they told us that they have received this complaint numerous times, from many other patrons. I am quite puzzled as to why they would knowingly give guests such a room, where they would be denied a restful night of sleep, despite paying so much. The concierge told us that they could transfer us to another hotel or give us a single and a standard room at no extra cost. I don't think price is really the issue here, if we can pay for a Junior Suite, right? He seemed to have completely missed the point. The other hotels they showed us (The Hotel? I don't remember) was inferior to the Renaissance, and apparently the Astoria Hotel is catered more towards group tours. We politely declined to change hotels, and luckily enough, they managed to give us a different room the following day. We got 403, also a lovely room, but music can still be heard throughout the night, although it isn't as loud at 103.

The rooms are undeniably very nice, and I like how there are quite a few power sockets in the room, not to mention the bathrooms are absolutely gorgeous and spacious, but do be warned if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Room 103 has poor sound proofing, so loud thumping music can be heard at night, preventing a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTO_WTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear WTO_WTO

Thank you for your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel. We regret your unsatisfactory first night at our property. The Renaissance Lucerne hotel is in the heart of the city and every sight is in walking distance. Our hotel is part of block which shares with many different other establishments and apartments, for example a Mexican bar, a hair stylist or a bakery. We always try our best to prevent the issue of the sound impact.

The Renaissance is an over 100 years old building and each room hast its own charm and individual footprint. It is also a great pleasure to note that you enjoyed the rest of you stay and especially that you liked you room.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel in Lucerne

Best regards from Lucerne

Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and were thrilled with everything. We were upgraded to a very nice suite on one of the upper floors. Never any problem with noise. Breakfast was included and was quite nice. Hotel was an easy walk from the train station. The staff at the desk was very helpful with any questions we had. Excellent anniversary vacation. Lucerne is a beautiful city with many sights only a short train ride or hike away.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank JandD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Recently we had stated at this hotel for two nights having booked the room about 2 months before. We have booked a standard room. After reaching the hotel we have been allotted the room (No.617) which was more of an attic than the standard room that we were told it was. Terribly small, crampy and barely space enough to move around without bumping your head or foot. The location of the hotel was no doubt good but when we brought this to the notice of the manager, he said he is helpless as they have 9 categories of rooms and that the hotel is 100 years old..(wonder how that mattered!). if someone still needs to stay I suggest you find out first what you get for your buck and then take a call.
Another very interesting (preposterous) practice this hotel follows is that they charge for using extra glasses and spoons etc as part of room service as much as 5 euros per glass. Nowhere else in the world have I seen this practice.
Overall our experience at this hotel has been terrible
.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prakash n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Prakash n

Thank you for your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel. We regret that your layover was not to your satisfaction.

The Renaissance Lucerne Hotel is an over 100 years old historical Building with 6 floors, 9 different categories of rooms in the heart of Lucerne. Quiet each room has its own ground plot and characteristic. The rooms on the 6th floor are designed in a romantic attic style. Unfortunately during high season we are not able to give a free upgrade to the next higher category of room. Every guest receives that room he has booked for. Additionally our terms and conditions for room service are mentioned in the guest directories in every room.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best regards

Stefan Bischoff and the Renaissance Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We kicked off our summer holidays from Lucrene this year and coudlnt ask for a better start, a very short walk from the station with all the luggage, so no issues in that, unlike other hotels in the europe, hotel offered to pick up our bags and deliver it to the rooms, we had an upgrade on one of the rooms, which was a good size, however one room was really small size that was the only drawback, rest the staff of the hotel was really nice n friendly, good breakfast and friendly staff at the breakfast buffet, happy to serve all your needs, in all a really excellent stay, a small room or a play area for children activitiy could have been nice to have kids get some play.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PunitMatlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lucerne is a must-see city on any European tour. Nestled in the Alps on a serene lake, Lucerne has all the charm you think of when dreaming of vacationing in Europe. The hotel is situated on the edge of old city and new - within easy walking distance from the train, restaurants and tourist attractions on the lake.

The concierge is very knowledgeable about the area, restaurant recommendations, train schedules... anything you need while vacationing there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Russ C

Thank for your stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Lucerne.

Lucerne is a small city in the heard of Switzerland with an historical old town, a charming lake and a great view over the Swiss Alps. The Renaissance is in the middle of the city and every landmark is in walking distance. Our Navigators at the front desk are always delighted to help our guests with recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great location - only moments from the train. However, the room is very small by Renaissance standard. We are Marriott members but didn't get any recognition or upgrade. There was very little space to walk at the end of the bed (certainly not enough for two people to pass), and no space at all when the chair is pulled out. The sliding door of the bathroom doesn't close properly and leaves a gap.

Our room was on the 4th floor above the restaurant / bar and it got very noisy at night.

Staff was generally helpful. Although having read one of the previous reviews, we asked for some plates and cutlery on our first night for some precooked Migros chicken. When we asked again the second night however, we were told that they would need to charge us CHF5 for them - this was certainly unexpected.

On the whole though, for its convenience to the train and bus stations, and tourist spots, it's still a good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear LLNemo

Thank for your stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Lucerne.

Our property is very well situated in the center of Lucerne. Every hot spot in town is reachable by walk. We always appreciate our Marriot Rewards member and try our best to do their stay to their satisfaction. Unfortunately during high season we are not able to guarantee a free upgrade for them.
Our terms and conditions for room service deliveries are mentioned in the booklet in every room.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £133 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing