We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed in Renaissance Lucerne hotel for 3 nights and it was my best ever experience in all the hotels I stayed in Europe. My husband and I loved the hotel so much. The hotel was extremely clean, cosy and the bed was so comfortable that we found it difficult to wake up to explore the city the next day! It was a mere 5 min walk away from the train station and it was easy to navigate even with heavy luggages. The hotel staff was extremely polite and spoke very fluent English. They were also helpful to suggest places of interests to us. I love Lucerne very, very much. Everything was splendid. Definitely will be back again!

Room Tip: The room I had was directly above the restaurants. It could be a bit noisy as our stay coincided wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynNgCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    298
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
180
443
26
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Apparently this is the smallest Renaissance Hotel in Europe (or something like that), and actually, that really lends to its charm. Because there are less rooms, each of the staff members is extremely attentive. The front desk gave us great recommendations on restaurants, helped us to learn the local public transportation, made reservations for us, and helped us to arrange a baby sitter so that my husband and I could go out on a date and feel that our child was left in safe hands. Each morning at breakfast we ended up having such a nice conversation with the woman who was managing the room, and she jumped in and lent a hand when we needed a little extra help with our child. On a scale of 1 to 10, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is a 15.

We were able to get a baby bed for our little one, and the rooms were clean and modern. My one complaint about the experience is that the room was HOT. We went in January and the heat was apparently set by some master control, because we could not find a way to turn it down. We ended up opening our window, which I didn't love doing because the street was pretty noisy below. Otherwise, I would have given them 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveBabyWillTravel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family stayed at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel and liked it for many reasons. We had three rooms of different sizes so I could see the variety. They upgraded my husband and I to a larger room and it was very spacious. Mostly all positive in our experience. Here are the pros: 1) Very friendly reception as we checked in and throughout our stay. Front desk helped us with suggestions and reservations for dinner. 2) Very comfortable beds - the best on our 3-week European trip. 3) Location - very good. Close to train station and walking to most sights. 4) Very clean and well-kept. Rooms decorated nicely. Liked how the rooms had refrigerator and coffee maker/supplies. 5) The bathrooms were clean and up-to-date.

Everything is so expensive in Switzerland - believe me feeding 7 people (5 of them 16-24 years old) is sometimes overwhelming. I will say even though 3 rooms add up, I felt this was a very good choice and value for Lucerne. The thing that could have made this rating from very good to excellent would have been to have breakfast included. I knew this going in however. We did eat one night at the Mexican restaurant and the food was delicious.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family. We appreciated the nice service we were given.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryhks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is about 8 minutes walk from the Lucerne train station and perhaps a 15 minutes walk to the lake. Staff were very friendly and gave me much advice. They had upgraded us, though I'm not sure what's the difference. Still, it was very much appreciated.

Rooms are small but comfortable & cosy. The shower set-up doesn't block the water spray and the bathroom frequently floods. The heat radiator of the neighbouring room and mine gave out such awful noises on separate nights. One call to the front desk and a maintenance personnel was up within 10 minutes.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babysilve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Charming hotel! We loved it's great location that is just a few minutes from everything there is to do in Lucerne. The rooms are a little small but beautifully decorated. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordlytraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station, and within easy walking distance of the lake. As MarriottRewards silver members we redeemed 105k points for our 3-night stay, worth $800 at the advance (nonrefundable) purchase rate. We were upgraded to a nicely appointed (except for the no-privacy glass wall between the room and the bathroom!) large king room with balcony. The check-in rep told us that the windows were double-glazed, and that we shouldn't hear any normal street noise. We didn't. The balcony wasn't large enough for chairs, but we opened the glass doors and used our room chairs, with our little table between us, to eat our take-out lunch or dinner on our own "sidewalk cafe". The bed and pillows were just the right balance of firmness and support. Reciommend an upgrade to the toilet paper!

We never ate at the hotel restaurant, as there were two bakery/sandwich shops within a block on either side of the hotel. If you turned left on Pilatusstrasse and walked past the hotel, that shop had a couple of hot entrees each day during lunch, which were very good. There is a coffee machine on the 2nd floor where we got expresso and cappuchino. We bought some breakfast items at the train station coop before heading to the hotel, as we didn't want to pay 30 franc pp for the hotel breakfast. There was enough room in the little fridge to store some yogurt, cheese and juice.

Staff was pleasant and helpful, and check-out was fast at our early morning departure to catch the train to Zurich for our flight home.

Room Tip: We were wary of a room facing the street, but didn't have a noise problem on the 3rd level. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel had a great location and was a nice stay especially at the beginning o four trip after 24+ hours of travel. The typical European rooms and beds are not the comfiest, but this hotel allowed us to have the comforts of home! Should we visit again, we would be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing