We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. In the middel of it all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place. In the middel of it all.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a real clean centrally located hotel in Lucerne. Close to all the major shopping, attractions etc. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the area is excellent. They have a bar and restaurant in the hotel that looked very good. You really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    303
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
184
454
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just blocks from the train station, the Renaissance is a great choice in Lucerne.

Centrally located, the hotel offers free wifi, oversized rooms, and friendly, welcoming service. And how can you not love the free chocolates at the front desk?!

You can walk virtually anywhere of interest in the city - including museums, restaurants and other attractions.

There are less expensive options in Lucerne, but I would highly recommend the Renaissance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidrA3168AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our whirlwind mini European tour. Check in was easy and the receptionist very nice. She spoke good English and gave us some tips on taking a boat ride on Lake Lucerne. The complimentary Toblerone chocolates at the desk were a nice touch.

We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. It was in line with Mariott hotels in the US. After several nights in small family run hotels in small German towns (which don't get me wrong, were nice), it felt absolutely luxurious. I enjoyed the coffee maker and nice selection of teas in the room.

The hotel has a small fitness center and a nice lounge where breakfast is also served. We skipped the 30 CHF each breakfast and grabbed a couple of complimentary apples from the fitness center.

Parking was 20 CHF and oddly, it was all street parking. We lucked out and got a spot right in front of the hotel. If those are full however, there are several other streets that are available for parking, but you may need to walk a bit.

The hotel is very convenient to everything downtown and several sights in Lucerne. It is a very short walk to the beautiful Lake Lucerne.

Overall it was a great stay and I very much enjoyed it. I only wish it could have been longer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ww1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very well located to the train station, and the old town. Really close to the Rosengart Museum which is a wonderful museum. The front desk staff was really helpful and I loved the chocolates they offered there- really welcome after a long day! Our rooms were very nice and noise was not an issue but I did specify in our reservations how important it was we were far from the disco.

Room Tip: Ask to be far from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked the standard room and it was very nice room - clean, fairly spacious, great bathroom. It is a short walk to the old city and the train station, and one block from the Rosengart collection (which I recommend if you like Picasso and/or Klee). The only negative is the extremely loud music from the club in the ground floor of the building that starts in the evening and continues until about 2:00 AM. We were on the 2nd floor, and the music was pounding and vibrating in our room. I imagine that a room on the 1st floor would be completely intolerable. If you stay at this hotel, I recommend at least the 3rd floor, and probably 4th or higher to be safe. Also, in the back of the building, After the first sleepless night in the hotel, we spoke with Stefan (hope I'm spelling that right) the manager. He offered to move us to another hotel, but we were leaving in the morning and that would have interrupted our planned activities. Instead, he offered a rate reduction and we agreed to that. We were very impressed with the way he handled the situation. Very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a one night stay in Luzern and decided to book this hotel just to splurge ourselves a little bit. The stay was quite wonderful indeed. Upon check-in, the staff there was friendly and helpful guiding us the points of interests around the city. The hotel location was great, right in the middle of downtown. Easy walk to the train station, supermarket, and shopping area.

We got a room on the first floor facing the street. It was very clean and spacious. It also came with Nespressco machine and free coffee, which was a plus. The bed was well-made and comfy. We were quite impressed that the hotel has an ice machine (most hotels we stayed in France and Swiss did not have). It was handy when we wanted to drink something cold in a hot summer weather day.

One thing I wanted to mention though was the see-through glass door between bathroom and window. It was a bit unexpected about the privacy. Not sure every room in the hotel had this.

We also had a car and the hotel had some public hotel parking spots for us where we paid for an overnight parking fee from 6 PM to 11 AM the next day for 5 CHF. The parking pass was called Bezhlter Parkplatz. The all day parking was 20 CHF.

Room Tip: The see-through glass door between bathroom and window. It was a bit unexpected about the privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ningningning2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in July. Front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Nora.
Easy walk from the train station, to the Old Town and to the beautiful lake. Our room was right on the main street and we were initially concerned about the noise but the windows are very good and with them closed it's actually quiet. Loved the Nespresso machine in the room and the chocolates at the desk. For "cheap eats" we liked Dean and David right around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing