We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel should really be a 5 start hotel we absolutely loved it, very clean, modern, close to town centre, very friendly staff. Nespresso machine in every room. Wish we stayed there longer.
A bit small for a family with a toddler no room to run around but the park just across the hotel was excellent. Cant wait to visit Lucerne and stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

My room was on the first floor. Others have complained about the noise from the bar below. I didn't have that problem, perhaps as I was staying mid week. However the constant noise from the busy street outside was just dreadful. Constant drone of cars and trucks with the occasional high pitched moped.
The other problem, which was actually worse for was a horrendous stale smoke smell. I think that it was supposed to be a non-smoking room, although there were no signs to indicate that it was - and I would be very angry if I later found that they had booked me into a smoking room. I don't know if the smell was from a previous occupant or whether is has permeated from the bar below but after 3 nights the smell had permeated all of my clothes and other belongings.
I won't stay again and recommend that you avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear John M

Thank you for your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience about the noise of the street and the bad smell in your room. The Renaissance Lucerne hotel is in the heart of the city in 5 minutes walking distance to the famous Kappel Bridge and the main station. Our property is an non smoking hotel and this information is also mentioned on a flyer in the room.

We hope to welcome you again at Lucerne to convince you about our beautiful property and high standard service.

Feel free to contact me directly for any further question.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Recently driving through to Italy and needed a convenient place on route. In some ways a modest hotel, but the staff on the front desk were brilliant. A tall younger guy and his colleague were very helpful as my German is still limited. Good recommendation for parking to save money also. The buffet breakfast was nice, and the staff very tolerant and helpful to some rather unruly youngsters! Well played indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martinzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights recently. We were given a "deluxe room" on the 1st floor. It is above a bar that plays loud music with a constant boom beat. The hotel was full so we could not be moved. Very tiny reception area, but very friendly, helpful staff. A/C seemed to barely cool the room even though it was very mild outside. Not up to Marriott standards in my opinion.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, that is the first floor above the reception area. Americans would c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 277CAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear 277CAC

Thank for your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel and to share your experience with us. It is great to note that you felt comfortable with our staff and they supported you to discover the beautiful city. Our property is one of the smallest Renaissances all over the world and we have 86 rooms on 6 floors. The hotel is very well located in the middle of the city. The famous Kappell bridge and the main station are in 5 minutes walking distance. I apologize for noise and the unsatisfactory night you had experienced. The setup of the air condition for the entire building is calibrated on a specific temperature level. In the room itself our guest are able to put the temperature 3 degrees up or down.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Lucerne to convince you about our high standard.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We found everything we wanted in this hotel! The room size was adequate and there was a great bed and shower! While the property is not right on the lake, it is just a few minutes walk to anything you want to see in Lucerne. If we come back, I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed here in July 2014 on our very first trip to Switzerland. The hotel is located at Lucerne, very close to the Lucerne main train station and walking distance from old town Lucerne.

At first, we were concerned though because the we were placed on an upgraded room, but it is directly above the adjacent restaurant. The hotel occupies part of the block and there is an adjacent restaurant at the ground floor that shares the space but not the management. The concern was that the thumping music from the restaurant can be felt in our room. We heard the thumping sound which is not very conducive for sleeping.

After calling the front desk, one of the front desk staff worked out a solution by placing us on an even bigger room but facing the interior corridor. She also apologized profusely for the situation. Throughout the whole process, she handled our complaints with grace and calmly offer the solution. In short, she really jumped some hoops for us which we really appreciate.

Throughout the whole stay, we encountered other staff that are just as polite, and as professional as our first front desk staff. Marriott should have the staff of this property be the model of other Renaissance. One particular call out, we have a concierge, I believe his name is Yanick, which is super helpful. He pointed out to us where all the attractions are, what to visit, what things to avoid, where to go, the walking routes, where the local groceries are etc. Kudos to Yanick!

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The fact that we got upgraded to a bigger room - in fact I think that is their biggest room - made the stay even better. We are looking forward to coming back to Switzerland, and we would make Renaissance Lucerne our first choice if we were to come back to Lucerne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard, or at least not directly above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0m8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for 2 nights.It was a wonderful stay in a very conveniently walkable distance from central hub near train station, ferry port, shopping areas and old Lucerne parts etc.. Yet peaceful and quiet location. Rooms were spacious, very clean, modern amenities equipped. The staff was very helpful providing us with all help and information related to trips, maps, weather, surroundings etc. They actually helped us to fetch our bagpacks from lucerne train station right upto our hotel rooms, which we sent earlier via Swiss railways fast baggage portereige system from our previous destination. In-rooms Meals were perfect. We just relaxed and had good night sleep after our day trips to PILATUS and TITLIS and were recharged and ready the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £133 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing