We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we didnt like the fact that the air conditioner wasnt working. according to the hotel, taking in outside air and maintaining 22 degrees celsius is called air conditioner.. also if we tried to open the window it only opened 4 inches coz they had locked it, the staff wasnt friendly and co-operative. we were booked for 5 nights but checked out the next morning. the top of the hotel had a night club due to which we didnt get good sleep as the music was on till around 3am

Room Tip: dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank doggydogg_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear doggydogg_01,

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne feedback. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay.

Your feedback will help us to improve and question our services constantly. So we thank you for your valuable feedback. Unfortunately the given structure of the building currently does not allow an immediate change of the windows and the air conditioner. However, we have noted your useful advice for the future.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    198
    116
    40
    13
See reviews for
78
182
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Allschwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What could be a great hotel, is ruined by the nightclub next door (I mean right next door) until 5am. If only I had gone on friday it closes at 4am. Unfortuantely this all meant no sleep between the thumping dance music and the obligatory crowd in the street, who presumably have hearing problems, which may explain why they were so loud. The hotel omit this fact from anywhere I could see before booking. I paid extra for the experience of the designer rooms, what a waste of money. A photo of the club, next door to hotel attached as confirmation.

Room Tip: get one at the back of the hotel, but who knows what's lurking there, or better still go elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Steve J,

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.
Our first concern is the satisfaction of our guests and we spare no effort to improve and optimize our service constantly. Therefore, we take your valuable feedback very seriously.
It is a big challenge for us to balance the needs of our lodging guests with the requests of our restaurant and bar customers. Unfortunately, the given structure of the building currently does not allow an immediate change. Whenever possible, we consider this fact when allocating the rooms. However, these points are noted for future rebuild projects. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and apologize once more. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance to welcome you in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I didn't know whether to give this hotel an 'Average' or 'Very Good' and here is why. The location was GREAT! However, they did not have the A/C running in the hotel yet. They told us to just open our window but there was a bar across the street from our room and we didn't want them looking in on us at night. I would have given it an 'Excellent' if they had just had some air conditioning. The staff was very nice and the roof top bar had great views!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmiamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear travelmiamor,

We thank you for your stay at the Hotel Astoria and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the view from our roof top bar and our central location, even more we regret that the room temperature has not permitted you. Please allow us to express our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had 2 nights here as part of our Trafalgar tour and I must admit that I was a little concerned with all the reviews that I was reading beforehand. There was indeed a bar/club of sorts on the top floor. Surprisingly, the noise wasn't much of an issue (we were 2 floors down) and we persornally enjoyed our stay.

The hotel and its staff had a very professional look and gave that vibe throughout our stay. From the waiters and waitresses to the housekeeping staff, everyone was just so warm and friendly. To top it off, the hotel was only a few minutes away from the lake/city centre where one can continue to remain awed by the magnificent mountain ranges. When we were there, the Alps were still covered in snow and it was such a sight to behold.

The hotel itself also boasted several diiferent restaurants underneath it, one of which we enjoyed a pleasant and enjoyable 3 course meal. Would not mind coming back here when we next visit once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jacky T,

We would like to thank you for your stay at the hotel Astoria and for your great feedback. We are happy that we could convince you with our quality and service. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Astoria Luzern.

Kind regards,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Best time to visit Lucerne? Xmas time especially once snowed! This was a last minute booking, and they found a stunning modern room for us with the view of the Hotel entrance on the high-street, the external walls are glass made, with long transparent curtains coming down from the ceiling, very glamorous! We had some refreshment from the mini-bar and then a beautiful sleep. The bathroom with walking shower was modern and stylish. The Hotel location is amazing, just 5 minutes away from the beautiful Xmas market near to the river. The surrounding is absolutely incredible! Underground car parking is a bonus! We have been lucky to find a room in this superb city centre located hotel, but of course very pricy! We would definitely recommend it for a short break to a young couples or anyone wants to be right on the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the high-street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEGGYCOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lafite2012,

We thank you for your praise in your feedback on tripadvisor and your stay at the hotel Astoria. We are happy that we could convince you with our location and comfortable rooms. Once again we thank you for your wonderful feedback and hope to welcome you soon back at the hotel Astoria.

Yours sincerely
Martin Brügger
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Pilatusstrasse 29, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria offers everything expected of a modern conferencing hotel. Featuring light, bright and tastefully designed rooms, this architectural masterpiece in the heart of Lucerne is one of Switzerland’s most attractive urban hotels.RestaurantsWe own the most exciting restaurants in Lucerne. Thai, Italian or Asian Food at a superbly high standard as acknowledged by the Gault Millau restaurant guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing