We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service in a Four Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five Star Service in a Four Star Hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

When in Switzerland the Monopol Lucerne is my home away from home. Perfect location, friendly staff and a great value. On my last visit Apr 4-9, 2014 they went the extra mile. I dropped off a piece of luggage one week prior to arrival. When I checked in they informed me that the luggage was already in my room . All I can say : professional, efficient and always with a friendly smile ... perfect !

Room Tip: Lowers floors have newly renovate bathrooms. Top floors have a better view. If you want it real quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    271
    101
    33
    35
See reviews for
137
278
98
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Esposende, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel Monopol Lucern has the best location in town, next to central station and right in the center of beautiful Lucern. It is a friendly hotel a with a good breakfast. We had 2 rooms with conecting doors which was great! We will go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fernanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is just beside the main train station, the pier, and bus stops, so it's very convenient to move around! The room is also very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even go to lengths of checking whether a tourist site is open, and recommends to ensure we stay warm in the cold weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is just beside the main train station, and the pier, and so it's very convenient to move around! The room is also very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even go to lengths of checking whether a tourist site is open, and recommends to ensure we stay warm in the cold weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

An hotel close the station was essential as I was arriving in an unknown city late on Sunday night.

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, the fact that there is a small sofa and the cleanliness of the hotel. The decorations might be slightly old fashioned but everything is in very good condition.

Excellent comfortable beds and in the morning a view of the lake down the street.

My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit hot and I needed to keep the window open all night - however the traffic noise has not disturbed me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

i recently stayed at Hotel Monopol, Luzern. Hotel is 100 years old & is very well maintained.
there was some confusion on my booking --as intially booked 2 single rooms & later wanted one triple room as some one dropped out of trip. This was sorted by staff in a minute for no extra charge. Must say its very well located, bang opposite to Lucerne main railway station & you cant miss it.. if you are on holiday in swiss make lucerne your base & go for Monopol.
breakfast is average & can be improved. rooms are good & spacious with wifi facility. check out was as simple & fast as check in. THANKS !

Room Tip: Take a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireeshkhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was okay, staffs was very kind greeted us with a warm good morning. The hotel floors feels cheap, creaking sound when we walk along. Triple sharing bed makes the room small. There was also a bathtub. Pillows was too soft for comfort.

My hotel room was facing the train station building. There was a day when there was 2 strong spotlights above the train station directly beaming the lights into our hotel room, making it difficult to get into sleep. There was shades blinds to cover the lights but it managed to reduce the brightness for about only 40%.

Overall it was a good 2 days stay on 13 and 14 Feb 2014. Near museum and a short walk away is the chapel bridge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ErY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol Luzern

Property: Hotel Monopol Luzern
Address: Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#10 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CORDIAL WELCOME to the Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne, directly at the railway station and the KKL Culture and Convention Centre, in the middle of the center, by the lake and the world famous Chapel Bridge, the tourist sites and in the old town. 73 Greatness rooms with bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, telephone, minibar, safe, Sat-TV and radio. Enjoy the gastronomic experience pure in and around the Hotel MONOPOL. On the top of the hotel, there is the elegant lounge bar SUITE, with most beautiful panorama of the whole city Lucerne. It offers you a view of the lake, the mountains Pilatus, Rigi and Titlis. The special architecturally fascinating Hotel **** MONOPOL is the most historic fascinating hotel from the city. The baroque facade with rococo elements, stocked with the Savonniere stone in 1899 and the columns, the capitals of glided iron, the balcony railing and the beautiful copper dome, give to the hotel a inestimable majestic splendour and looks like a Parisian or Viennese palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monopol Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Swiss q Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing