We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Songran April 2014 trip to Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a Triple Room for 3 adults from the 11-13 TH of April and must admit that the room and the location of the hotel is unbeatable in Luzern. The lobby staff were very helpful in every aspect and the proximity to every landmark in Luzern was a big plus, especially if one is travelling with luggage. The breakfast was not so great as expected and read about, but the overall benefit outweighed all other aspects. A must stay.

Room Tip: We booked a triple bedroom overllooking the main road so not sure about the normal double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonSachathep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

As we travelled in Switzerland by train this was a perfect location directly across the road from the station and in the heart of Luzern within easy walking distance to everything.

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff who provided us with a power adapter as Switzerland has a slightly different plug to the rest of Europe so the average EU adapter does not work.

The room was huge and the views were excellent. Although the hotel is located on a very busy intersection the new double glazed windows kept out most of the noise. The hotel lobby is taken over by a Starbucks lounge and a McDonalds so you won't go hungry but try the other restaurants in town (although they are very expensive). The breakfast was great with a good variety of hot and cold foods.

The pictures on this hotel page show the size of the rooms and the hotel well so I won't add any more but would definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers going to Luzern by train. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid any of the street noise. Also I do not believe there is any parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We came two families to the hotel for 2 nights. We traveled through whole Switzerland during two weeks vacation, worst hotel we were at by all means. We came with 2 cars and a lot of baggage. The hotel has no access road for cars. We had to park the cars far away and walked to the hotel in order to check in. Our rooms were prepaid and we asked the reception for solution to get our stuff to the hotel. The lady at the reception guided us to park the cars in front of the back entry for few minutes and then move the cars. Nobody came to help us with our bags, even when we asked for it. As guided, we parked our cars and took the bags to our rooms, when we came back to move the cars after 8 minutes, each car had a fine of 150 franks for parking in a restricted place. The hotel management completely made us feel that it is our fault that we did not leave someone to guard the cars, eventhough we werent told to. The manager was really rude and rolled her eyes at me while i was talking to her. I cant believe that its a 4 star hotel they really dont deserve even two. The furnitures are over 20 years old and the floor cranks wherever you step on it. No air conditioning in the rooms and instead of reception there is a Starbucks branch in the entrance. It's worth to mention that we travel a lot and we never encountered such a bad service and ignorance with any hotel. They get 5 star at poorness.

Stayed: April 2014
7  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear David S,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.

Behind our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne is possible to park your car for just take out the luggages. We would call our porter to help you with your bags but you told us; “it is not necessary”. Our reception staff sold two parking tickets for the white line parking places and told you that you have to move your car immediately because the police in Lucerne is very strict. You have “absolutely prohibited” parked over 30 minutes on the yellow cross marks. Despite our colleague has mentioned that it is forbidden. We are very sorry for that but we are not the police.

Our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne is a nice 4**** hotel in the middle of the centre Lucerne, directly next to the train station Lucerne, the famous Chapel Bridge and the shopping areas. The unique, charming, historic 4-star Hotel is the architecturally most fascinating Hotel in Lucerne. The baroque façade with rococo elements, stocked with the Savonnière stone in 1899 and the columns, the capitals of glided iron, the balcony railing and the beautiful copper dome, give to the hotel a inestimable majestic splendour and looks like a Parisian or Viennese palace.
We have on the ground floor Starbucks branch, but many international guests are very happy and enjoyed and few clients don’t like it. We have as well a lot of bars, on the rooftop of the Hotel MONOPOL is the elegant lounge bar SUITE, with the most beautiful 360 degree panorama view around of the whole city of Lucerne, the lake, the mountains Pilatus, Rigi and Titlis.

Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel MONOPOL Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warmest regards
Ursula Schelbert
Deputy Manager
Dipl. Hôtelière-Restauratrice HF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was the best hotel you can ask for. Great location... bang opposite to lucern station. Warm welcome by wonderful staff... we liked everything about this hotel... location, staff, breakfast, lake view. Mc donalds, new york food and Starbucks are in the ground floor itself. Chapel Bridge is 200m away and lion monument is around 800m. I would highly recommend this hotel to all. They made special arrangements on my wife's birthday which was amazing. Thank you monopol for making our stay wonderful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roamer_3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

When in Switzerland the Monopol Lucerne is my home away from home. Perfect location, friendly staff and a great value. On my last visit Apr 4-9, 2014 they went the extra mile. I dropped off a piece of luggage one week prior to arrival. When I checked in they informed me that the luggage was already in my room . All I can say : professional, efficient and always with a friendly smile ... perfect !

Room Tip: Lowers floors have newly renovate bathrooms. Top floors have a better view. If you want it real quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hotel Monopol Lucern has the best location in town, next to central station and right in the center of beautiful Lucern. It is a friendly hotel a with a good breakfast. We had 2 rooms with conecting doors which was great! We will go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fernanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is just beside the main train station, the pier, and bus stops, so it's very convenient to move around! The room is also very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even go to lengths of checking whether a tourist site is open, and recommends to ensure we stay warm in the cold weather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#12 of 66 in Lucerne
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 66 in Lucerne
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol Luzern

Address: Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £101 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CORDIAL WELCOME to the Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne, directly at the railway station and the KKL Culture and Convention Centre, in the middle of the center, by the lake and the world famous Chapel Bridge, the tourist sites and in the old town. 73 Greatness rooms with bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, telephone, minibar, safe, Sat-TV and radio. Enjoy the gastronomic experience pure in and around the Hotel MONOPOL. On the top of the hotel, there is the elegant lounge bar SUITE, with most beautiful panorama of the whole city Lucerne. It offers you a view of the lake, the mountains Pilatus, Rigi and Titlis. The special architecturally fascinating Hotel **** MONOPOL is the most historic fascinating hotel from the city. The baroque facade with rococo elements, stocked with the Savonniere stone in 1899 and the columns, the capitals of glided iron, the balcony railing and the beautiful copper dome, give to the hotel a inestimable majestic splendour and looks like a Parisian or Viennese palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monopol Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Swiss q Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing