We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel but small rooms”
Review of Baslertor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baslertor Hotel
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed there for two nights in a family room. It is a small budget hotel but value for money. Located near Lucerne main station, Chapel Bridge and Water Tower are closeby. It is recommende dfor those who are out on excursion through out the day and just want to sleep in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pradeep-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Baslertor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

Distinct air of condescendence by desk clerk,. Hotel was ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

All this little hotel needs is some fresh paint and a little love. The rooms are small, the furniture needs updating and our room faced onto a noisy street. Ask for a back room in the summer. The hotel itself has a small, unheated pool. It also has a little bar which is well kept and quiet but it is a 'smoking' bar and the smoke from this bar is felt throughout the hotel. Breakfast costs an extra $20- to an already pricey room. I felt that it should be included with the price of the room. There is a working computer in a business room off the bar. The room staff were very good and the front desk also friendly and helpful. The location is good, close to the river and walking distance to the city center. Still keeping its old world charm but giving it a face lift would benefit this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

This place was quite nice- a lot less expensive than the hotel we stayed at the previous night- but was very nice. Large, spacious rooms. Location of the hotel was close to the water and main shopping area, and not a long walk from the train station. Receptionist was very nice and welcoming. Very tiny elevator- so if you have a lot of luggage you might have to do this in shifts! But overall- a nice experience- nice bakeries along the same street and many outdoor/sports stores in the area as well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCanuckTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Terrible hotel: the room was very dirty... Spiders nests and windows were covered with birds' feces

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The hotel is in a good location but the staff is not keeping up with basic maintenance and cleaning.
Poor maintenance examples: large spider webs and spiders over the front door; mold in the shower. Additionally, I developed a cough (from the mold) that I noticed the next morning that went away after being out in the fresh air for about 30 minutes. I'm not that picky about hotels but mold in the shower is a dis-qualifier for me - thankful that we only had 1 night here.
And my single room was VERY small - smaller than the smallest room I have stayed in New York city. The hotel had some nice features - a good pool and terrace area; bar/restaurant. But the price of 123 CHF wasn't way overpriced for what I got.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPisReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the sister hotel across the street. from Hotel Baseletor. It is called Hotel Pension Roesli. The two are co-owned and share the same reception desk. The first negative incident occurred when a male clerk accused me of having 3 people in the room instead of 2. He also made sarcastic comments concerning the number of internet hours we were using. The third incident happened when I was checking out. He charged us for breakfasts that we didn't eat. Then, he overcharged me for our rooms. When I questioned him, he acted as if I had insulted him. I had to take my laptop to the front desk and show him the email confirmation so that he would correct the charges. The last straw was when he cursed me in German because I left my key in the room.

The room was clean and the people who came to clean up and bring fresh towels were very pleasant. The location is good. It is close to the train station. Most other places of interest are close by. It is also a safe location.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeLover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucerne
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#59 of 67 in Lucerne
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Surselva
Hotel Surselva
#1 of 2 in Obersaxen
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 67 in Lucerne
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baslertor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baslertor Hotel

Address: Pfistergasse 17, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £176 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baslertor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baslertor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baslertor Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing