We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. no A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Styles Luzern City
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at his hotel a number of times over the past few years going back to when it was the NH hotel.

Usually my stay has been in November so I hadn't noticed the lack of air conditioning but unfortunately on this stay I really did. The first night was uncomfortably hot even after the hotel had provided a desk fan. I had a room overlooking the courtyard which i think also restricts airflow into the room.

What puzzled me more was what looked like an air conditioning control on the wall. Admittedly no where on expedia or the accor website does it say that this hotel has air conditioning.

I had a good size room, 511, but my colleague had a slightly smaller room where the double bed is pushed up against the wall. My room was also next to the lifts but I didn't hear any noise from it.

I often have a bugbear about hotel showers and the lack of a thermostatic mixer......for some reason in this hotel I found the lack of this a real problem. The shower would go from cold to scaldingly hot in a matter of seconds. I would be very wary about letting a young child shower by themselves for fear of getting burnt.

I am not a lover of net curtains but feel that the rooms looking over the courtyard could benefit from these just to give some privacy without having to keep the blackout curtains shut to stop people from the properties across the way looking in.

Location wise the hotel is very central.

I have come away from this visit feeling probably more disappointed than normal as i had previously had good stays here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.Our air conditioning in the rooms are unfortunatly still under construction and will most probably be working beginning of July. We had a bit of delay due to some technical problems.You are right, we will only comunicate that we have a air con when it is working. Untill than we provide Fans on request.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel ibis Styles luzern City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for ibis Styles Luzern City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We normally never book hotels without going through Trip Advisor reviews...this is one of the rare ones we booked trusting on the Ibis brand name.

We just checked in an hour back... can you imagine.....this is a NON AC hotel? If you feel hot, they give you fans !!!

Really really disappointed. There are good features too in this hotel... no doubt...but at this moment, staying in a non AC room and having to use table fans is definitely the highlight.

Good - there are tea/coffee facilities at the reception.

Good - location.

Good - very clean.

Good - fast wifi

Bad - room is somehow very bland..with white walls and one painted side...not a single painting.... a room without a character, I would say.

Breakfast - will update tomorromw after we have it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LalitaLahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel ibis Styles lucerne city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice mid size hotel. Good location. Near to lake, market, main road etc. When I requested for a bigger room, they immediately agreed. Free wi-fi. Well maintained rooms. Would recommend for a stay.

Room Tip: May not offer a good view from any room (I guess) as it is situated inside a inner road and there ar...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel ibis Styles lucerne city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The most hurting thing when you enter the hotel room is its size.

The amenities are good but the size of the room is a major disappointment.

The location is decent as major markets and lake Lucerne are in close proximity.

It is a little far from the railway station but the bus stop is near to the hotel.

Breakfast is good.

Very decent property if you are running on tight budgets and room size does not matter to you.

Cooperative staff and good wifi facilities.

Room Tip: You don't choose this property for the view of the room. All rooms are the same and small in siz...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shashanktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
hotel ibis styles lucerne city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was very nice, excellent location, clean, and fairly friendly. Within walking distance of most of the downtown. The rooms were small as most European hotels are. Would stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhinkley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel ibis Styles lucerne city.

Peter Tanner GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stay there whenever I visit for business purposes. Very plain hotel with funky purple or fluorescent green tiny rooms. You get a clean room, wifi and basic breakfast. Ok for short stays. Hotel is in a quiet area close to old town. Nothing special but clean and if free price is right, go for it

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bosfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel ibis Styles lucerne city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nothing wrong with the hotel. It's in a small street, which is relatively quiet. Reasonably sized room correctly furnished and typical for Ibis hotels very functional. Good sized bathroom, with a real window.
Breakfast buffet was fairly copious.
Location is good, everything within walking distance, about 10 minutes to main-line station and lake boats.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel ibis Styles lucerne city.

Peter Tanner GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.4 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#37 of 67 in Lucerne
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#22 of 67 in Lucerne
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Luzern City

Address: Friedenstrasse 8 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £97 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Luzern City 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly designed, non‐smoking hotel is located in the historic center of Lucerne, just a stone's throwfrom the old town and its charming boutiques and cafés. The Culture and Congress Center (KKL), the trainstation and the lake that plays host to the Chapel Bridge are all just a short walk from the hotel. The Rigi,Pilatus and Titlis mountains are perfect for day trips and can be reached easily by boat or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Lucerne
Nh Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing