We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Styles Luzern City
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here with family in June for 4 nights.

Location:- Hotel is very well located and is one-two bus stop away from main station. there 3-4 different buses you can take to the nearest stop which is hardly 50 mtrs away. Best is if you have swiss pass then its all covered

Cleanliness : Hotel is clean and as per ibis standards

Staff: Staff are very courteous and helpful

Facilities: As what you expect from ibis. They keep things to as per what is required and basic. No room service. No boiler in the room . No iron press available. Need to go to upper floor to get your shirt ironed

Wifi:- wifi connection was fine but the password lasts for 2 days then you need to get another one from them

Issues we faced here was very uncommon though. Hotel air conditioning was out during our whole stay and we didn't see there was any effort going on to correct it. We were provided with table fans which were so noisy making it difficult to sleep. they didn't even provide extension cord and the fan would be with wire going in the middle of your room . making it very dangerous to trip

Ideally any good chain hotel should compensate customer for such major failure in service. But nevertheless Ibis didn't bother to do so.

Might avoid it next time because of this

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripurari_Prasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis Styles, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel ibis Styles luceren City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    336
    202
    61
    39
See reviews for
276
262
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel, is location,location, location...........An all you can eat breakfast with a fabulous coffee machine in the reception area obviously you can make tea as well. Which is nice when you come in from a long day sightseeing. The restaurant was cheap for Switzerland not fancy food, but pizza, pasta, burger etc. Everything was perfectly clean, and all the staff were extremely helpful. You can walk from the station with your luggage in 10 minutes, or a number 1 bus from the station drops you right across the road. I notice other people say the air conditioning was not working. We did not try as the air is so beautiful we opened the windows full. As it is away from the main road and was not noisy we slept really well. If you are on a budget then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Underwhelmed46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel ibis Styles.
P.Tanner GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 3rd to 5th June 2014 . The hotel is a pleasant 10-12 minutes walk from the main station ,though one can also take the bus service adjoining station .the location is slightly tricky and you have to be careful not to miss the signages .our check in was fast and the rooms were surprisingly larger than the normal ibis hotels.even the bathroom was spacious by ibis standards . However if you go for an extra bed,as we did,movement inside the room is a struggle .placement of larger suitcases is also a challenge . The breakfast was decent though not many options and the hotel offers free tea and coffee in the reception lounge from morning till late night .there is a small mall just 2 minutes walk from the hotel which has a hyper market and some good shops .the main shopping street is also just 10-15 minutes walk as is the lake side .there is a bus stop next to the hotel for easy connectivity to various parts of the town .staff was ok though not very helpful considering family needs .overall ,a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Choose a family room which can easily accommodate 4 beds and still leaves plenty of space to keep lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Client

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At our hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel ibis Styles Luzern City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had booked 8 rooms for 2 nights at the Hotel and today being the first night. The hotel is terrible and provides no services. The Air Conditioning is not functional for the past one month as per the front office staff and the hotel has not bothered to inform their booking partners about the same. The hotel doesnt even provide basic necessities such as Dental kits in room and have instead installed a vending machine for the same from where you can purchase the same.

I would request that all hotel search engines should remove the hotel from there websites and shall not list it ever as it also causes disrepute to them for not informingbthe customers about the condition of the hotel and then being cheated upon

A omplete no for the hotel. Not expected this from an Accor property.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

These words are really hard. Allow me to say, that we do not cheat anyone. I also can inform you that our partners are satisfied with us and would not remove us from any website.

Kind regards

Ibis Styles Luzern City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

avikedem
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I like the Ibis hotels for many years. It is a great hotel for specific trips and I can tell that I already stayed in over 20 different Ibis hotels in Europe.
I planned to stay 4 days at Ibis Lucern in Mid June 2014. Arrived to the hotel. Enjoyed their parking and the pleasant reception. Very fast entered my renovated room and found that there was no AC in the room. The temperature in Luzern was 35C. In the room it reached 40C. The time was 19:00H. I immediately called another good hotel and booked the rest three days. I had to sleep at night with open door to corridor and early in the morning I cancelled my booking for the rest three days with full cooperation and understanding of the staff.
Ibis hotel Luzern is well located in the city center. Breakfast is good. very helpfull staff but never come in Summer.

Room Tip: Never come in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avikedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Client

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Luzern. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In this Hotel , we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Once again we apologize. Unfortunatly the construction of the air Conditioning had a delay of some weeks.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Hotel ibis Styles luzern City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was our first time to choose ibis hotel. We stayed in this hotel in January, and find it is better than I expected, with warn, clean and spacious room for three of us. The breakfast is standard buffet style and enough for our need, as everything in Swiss is quite expensive, I think this hotel is just suitable for our need. (Tips: there is another ibis hotel in Lucern, we went to the wrong hotel first and then take the tram to find this hotel)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gao1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at ibis Styles Luzern City, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the ibis Styles Luzern.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel ibis Styles Luzern City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.9 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#37 of 68 in Lucerne
1,553 reviews
2.4 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Luzern City

Property: ibis Styles Luzern City
Address: Friedenstrasse 8 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Luzern City 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly designed, non‐smoking hotel is located in the historic center of Lucerne, just a stone's throwfrom the old town and its charming boutiques and cafés. The Culture and Congress Center (KKL), the trainstation and the lake that plays host to the Chapel Bridge are all just a short walk from the hotel. The Rigi,Pilatus and Titlis mountains are perfect for day trips and can be reached easily by boat or train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Lucerne
Nh Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing