We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but not a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel National for 6 nights in July 2011. This was part of a nine-week European trip where we stayed at 12 hotels (primarily 5 star). We almost always stay at Four Seasons Hotels when available and our review should be seen in this light. Sadly, the Grand Hotel National does not come close to the quality and service levels provided by FSH, yet their prices are not much less.

There is lots to like about this hotel, which I will get to in a moment. Sadly, there are a couple of key negatives. The first is that the walls are PAPER THIN and you can hear everything in the rooms beside and above you. We unfortunately had neighbours who did not appreciate this and had the pleasure of hearing their TVs and conversations well past mid-night on 4 of 6 nights. If this sort of thing bothers you, then definitely stay elsewhere. Another negative (though this is more minor) is that the hotel is very impersonal. Much of the hotel is being converted into residences so there is a disjointed feel about the place and very few staff around. The only people you see are the front desk staff who, while very young, were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Other negatives: no concierge services, no exercise room (you have to pay 25 euros to use a nearby facility) and very late housekeeping (we came back at 4 pm on two days to find that our room had not yet been cleaned).

So what's there to like about the Grand Hotel National? We had a lake view room on the third floor. The room was large, bright and had fabulous views of the lake. We also had a very nice balcony. The furniture was nice and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was not large but comfortable. The shower and bathtub were a single unit. The location is great and is an easy walk from the main train station and old town. As mentioned, the front desk staff are friendly and helpful.

Some tips:
1. It is an easy walk from the train station to the hotel. The walkway is wide and smooth.
2. Breakfast is 35 euros per person. It is very good and included eggs. Our 12 year old daughter ate for free so it was good value. There are also lots of places near the hotel for breakfast.
3. Free wifi, although concavity was spotty. When it was fully functional, the download speeds were excellent.
4. There are four restaurants in the hotel, each run independently. We had two dinners and a lunch at Padrino, and all three were excellent. During busy periods, you will need reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BASLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear BASLJM

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your opinion.

We appreciate your valuable comments and will do our best to improve our services in the mentioned departments.

Dear BASLJM we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel National Lucerne again.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a family vacation in July 2011. All of the staff were friendly and cooperative. The large double lakeview room was beautiful and spacious with a great view of the lake. Five star service, however, is more than the hotel provides. Upon arrival they offered a glass of orange juice or champagne upon check in. I tried the orange juice, but it had the distinct taste of canned juice. At least in the US, five star hotels only have freshly squeezed juice on their premises. Other details in service were similarly lacking. At checkout, there was no taxi immediately available so we had to wait about five minutes. I would say that this was a great four star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petruzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relations at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Mr. Petruzzi

We would like to say thank you for considering our hotel and for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Unfortunately our Welcome drink did not match your expectations. We appreciate your comments as honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and control a high standard and great hospitality.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again back to the Grand Hotel National Luzern.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Spectacular hotel, amazing staff and stunning view from the balcony.... what more can you ask for lol. I felt like I was in my own movie during my stay here. I can't wait to go back, oh make sure you go for dinner at the Montana restaurant and seat outside.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Yiliam

thank you very much for taking the time to send us your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel National Lucerne in the near future.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our stay at the Grand Hotel National was a brief overnight stop on a drive over to Italy from the UK. This just wasn't enough to take full advantage of the facilities, although we did enjoy a fabulous dinner in one of the restaurants (Trianon).
All staff were very friendly and charming - special thanks and mention to George (reception) and Cristina & Vanessa (Trianon Restaurant).
The quality of the dining in this restaurant was of a very high standard. There are other (I believe independent) restaurants which are handily positioned with the hotel building but we didn't have to opportunity to sample these.
The accommodation itself is very nice indeed and the view over the lake makes the whole experience feel special.
We had a similar stop-over a year ago in Zurich but in future we will choose Lucerne and the Grand Hotel National as it's a much prettier location in our opinion. Next time though, I'd hope to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear MikeHibb666

We hopeyou had a comfortable journey to italy, after you leaved the Grand Hotel National Lucerne.

It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you in our hotel and it is very gratifying to get such a positive feedback from our guests. A very big thank you from everybody, you have mentioned above as such kind reviews are the best incentives for us to give our best every day.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel National and make your stay special again.

Best regards from Lucerne

Georg Strangalies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

It was for our 25th wedding anniversary, and this lovely hotel upgraded our room to a large corner lake view room with 4 windows! Red rose petals were in a heart shape on our bed and fresh fruit in our room!!! We knew it was over our budget when we booked it, but when you're treated this well, it's worth the splurge, Christoph remembered our names every time we returned, helped us with information that made our stay very special! He spoke perfect English too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Bonnie33423

Thank you for your stay at the Grand Hotel National Lucerne and your kind review.
It was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel for your 25th wedding anniversary.

The wellbeing of our guests is the number one priority in each of our daily processes. Therefore we greatly appreciate to hear that you had such a good time with us.

Thank you once again very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you to the Grand Hotel National again.

Best regards

Christoph Stattaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and payed for a Lake View double room.
We were so disappointed that the room did not have a balcony. I asked for another double room with balcony, and he told me "it was sold out" - well, we PAYED for the lake view, but couldn't exactly see the lake unless you were sticking your head out the window. Given that we had paid additional $, you can imagine we were upset.

We stayed in 5 different hotels in different cities across Switzerland - this was the MOST expensive hotel, AND didn't include continental breakfast in the morning. The decor was not my taste - but everything about the room/hotel was sufficient. I guess my experience of the hotel was tained by the lack of balcony, which we had at all other hotels, and being told by the reception that they could grant another room for additional 200CHF.

We experienced great food, amazing balcony with views, and very comfortable stay at other hotels for much less price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darwin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear darwin11

First of all, we would like to say thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

We will apologize our mistakes. We are sorry, that you were disapointed with your room. We can assure you that we will correct them with the team.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel National Luzern again.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My daughter and I spent three nights at the GHN while we were touring Swiss universities for her.From the moment we arrived,tired from an overnight flight,the staff were amazing.The front desk staff ensured our rooms were ready early and we were stunned by the beauty of the two lake front suites we had.It was a step back in time when hotels had space and classical styling yet the GHN incorporated all the modern conveniences as well.Beautiful baths and beds with incredible linens The view of the lake and mountains was breathtaking from the floor to ceiling windows and we could not wait to explore the city.The walk to the Old Town was short and the front desk steered us to a great local restaurant that was overlooking the bridge.The real test came however when we were two hours into a train journey to Lausanne when we realized that in the haste of our early morning departure(after a great breakfast) we had left our passports safely tucked in our room safe.The front desk staff retrieved them,called us back within five minutes and then had them couriered to our next hotel and they were waiting for us there when we checked in later that night!! We were so grateful that we changed our plans and spent our last night at the GHN just so we could say thank you in person.It was a short but sad walk to the train station in the morning but we will not forget the wonderful stay(s) we had at this hotel.We will be back.

Room Tip: Request a Lakeview suite,worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHN1870, Guest Relation at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Frenchie96

thank you very much for your time to leave such lovely comments here on tripadvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us at the Grand Hotel National.
Our team is very motivated by your words and it goes without saying that we are very proud
about all of them.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel National Luzern again.

Best regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £206 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing