We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at the Terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Terrace”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is not really about the hotel but the outdoor restaurant called the Terrace at the National Hotel. It was the best meal we had in Lucerne. A nice salad, a bowl of vegetable soup and a wienerschnitzel topped off with an apple strudel. It was amazing. The wait staff was friendly and overlooked our lack of German. It is set on the banks of the lake with beautiful trees and a nice wide sidewalk, which great for people watching while we ate. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Ronal B

Thank you for your taking the time you write a review on Tripadvisor about your experience on our Lakeside Terrace.

The National Terrace Team as well as our kitchen crew were more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL one time in the future.

Kind regards

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    80
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
81
197
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Coming from busy Paris with a 6 hour jet lag, one would want to catch up on rest and relaxation. This hotel was perfect for that! Getting to the hotel is as easy as can be. Once you walk out of the train station, you head over the bridge and the hotel is a short walk to your right. It's a five minute walk with luggage. When we first arrived, we were greeted by a friendly concierge who checked us in. We originally booked a city view but when we got there, it was clear that the view of Mt Pilatus couldn't be missed from our bed, so the concierge upgraded us to a mountain/lake view. Not even 5 minutes after we settled in, a very nice housekeeper knocked at the door to deliver fresh fruit and make our room set for night service. The room was incredibly clean- something I look for when traveling. The room itself was gorgeous, with a chandelier and detailed monogrammed woodwork on the furniture. It also came with a pair of binoculars, robes, and slippers; A perfect combination for sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine. The pillows are all goose down I believe and the assortment of bathroom products (Morgan Brown) won me over! I'm in the process of ordering the body wash that was scented gingerlily! :)

That night, we ate at the National hotel restaurant, located straight across from the elevators. It believe that because we were there on the first tuesday of their season, that it wasn't as crowded as it should have been. The food was spectacular and the service was impeccable. We ordered some drinks : Makers Mark (standard) on the rocks and a Black Rosemary (Prosecco, rosemary, & blueberries.) The presentation was wonderful. The chef sent out two amuse bouche which was some sort of pasta dish that was incredible. I can't even tell you what kind of pasta it was, something sort of like couscous. Regardless, amazing. For our appetizers, we had homemade tagliolini, with cherry tomatoes, basil and mozzarella di bufala. To die for! Because my boyfriend is 6'5" and can eat alot, we ordered the Chateaubriand served in 2 courses:
1st course was with béarnaise, potatoes with thyme with fresh vegetables. 2nd course
was with red wine sauce, celery puree, broccoli and fried egg. We also ordered the lamb chops which were the best I've ever had! We live in the heart of New York city's best food and it's tough to impress us! They did a great job at the National with doing so! The Chef, Adrian Bührer came out to say hello and to thank us for dining at his restaurant. There is nothing better in a dining experience than a chef taking the time to come to your table to see how everything went. Overall, this place was 5 star in our book!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms overlooking the lake and mountains- TOTALLY worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Kimberly p

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel here on Tripadvisor.

It is always our great pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. The location of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL is just perfect to enjoy your time in Lucerne. It is close to the train station and located directly at the Lake of Lucerne.

Our Restaurant National was opened on the beginning of April 2014 after a refurnishing and we are therefore more than happy to receive such a great feedback by you.

We forwarded your compliments to our team and will always do our best to give every single guest a five star experience at our hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back to Lucerne in the near future we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINDSOR,UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in the beautiful Lucerne.

Could not fault this wonderful hotel. The staff were both attentive and very friendly. The interior design is quite exceptional and the splendour of this beautiful property has been very expertly preserved by its owners which is to be commended.

The hotel's location alongside the lake offers perfect convenience for all the local sights and spectacular views of the snow capped mountains, the historic buildings and the lake from your room.

Can not recommend this hotel and the team highly enough - thank you for a wonderful and truly memorable visit to your beautiful gem of a hotel and lovely city

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CBB99

We thank you very much for your fantastic feedback about your stay at our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to hear, that you had a wonderful time at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL. We are very happy that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel alongside the lake and liked the interior design of the hotel rooms as well as the service from our staff.

Wishing you nice spring days we hope to welcome you back again soon to Lucerne.

King regards

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

While traveling around Europe dropped into Lucerne without a reservation. It was a short 5 minute walk from the train station. I was so nicely greeted at the front desk with a warm welcome and offer of a welcome drink. The desk assistant escorted me directly to my room, and explained the exquisite history of the hotel. They surprised me with a complimentary upgrade to a lake view room with a balcony. Even in February, I found myself enjoying the balcony and view!
Shortly after settling in, an attendant knocked on the door with fresh fruit, cookies, and turned down my bed. Five star service! The bathroom is completley updated, and the wifi was fast and reliable.

I had dinner in the cozy hotel bar, and then slept beautifully in the comfortable bed! There is a lovely inddor pool and spa (well heated in the winter so you don't even mind getting out of the water), and even an art "museum" on my floor with antique carousel horses. Highly recommend this hotel! Not only is the facility beautiful, but the staff topped off the entire experience with their exceptional service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Lake View Balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floridafunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Floridasunfun

With great pleasure we read your positiv feedback and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences here on Tripadvisor.

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, first opened in 1870, is the oldest Grand Hotel in Lucerne and we still do our best not just to meet but to exceed our guests expectations. The old charme as well as the modern amenities such as Nespresso coffee machine and free WIFI in all our rooms are just some of the things which guarantees every guest a comfortable stay. The view from our lakeview rooms and from the pool balcony is stunning and invites you to enjoy the great panorama.

Last but not least we especially liked the great comments about our staff as this is our most important benefit. We will forward your nice comments to all employees as there is no better motivation at all.

Wishing you a great time we are more than happy to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I just spent a weekend at this hotel. I booked it as a surprise to my boyfriend. Despite booking a city-view room, we were pleasantly informed on site that we got a free upgrade to a lake-front junior suite. The room was astonishing: classy, elegant, spacious, with a huge bathroom featuring both a shower and a bath, a big balcony with breath-taking view over the lake, the mountains and the city. I asked for a bottle of prosecco with a personalised card for my boyfriend to be prepared by our arrival and everything was arranged flawlessly, he was simply blown away about everything. All parts of the hotel are beautiful and luxurious but never tacky or snob.
The location is just perfect, 10min walk from the train station, directly on the lake, very central.
The staff at the reception was superb, the lady we did the check-in with was extremely nice and professional, she welcomed us and walked us to our room. We literally felt like royalties at the Grand Hotel National.
We also had dinner at the Thai Lotus restaurant, part of the hotel building. Extremely nice service, we got the best table of the restaurant, next to the window, with a wonderful view on Luzern lights on the lake. Good food, a bit pricey but we expected it in a 5-stars hotel.
I want to thank the hotel for making this an unforgettable week-end in all respects.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Federica_C_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear FedeC83

With great pleasure we read your comment regarding your recent stay with us and are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Lucerne.

It is always fantastic to get such a great feedback especially when we can not only meet but exceed your expectations. Your nice comments regarding our staff at the front desk have been forwarded already as they are the best motivation for all of us.

We hope to welcome you back to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL in the near future and wish you all the best for the year 2014.

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had booked a room for one night at the Grand and as it was winter, I decided not to splurge on the lakefront room as I figured we wouldn't spend time on the balcony anyways. When we pulled up, I was a little disappointed to see the back of the property covered in scaffolding but we were both pleasantly surprised to see that we had been upgraded to a lakefront room.

The room was really spacious and the bathroom was fantastic with a large bathtub. The balcony was a really great addition and despite it being chilly, we did enjoy a coffee outside and loved the ability to people watch from above. I imagine this to be excellent in the summer. We loved having the binoculars on hand to admire the area and the handwritten note was a really nice touch.

The staff were really welcoming and friendly. It was cheaper to use the valet service than it was to self park in the same lot so we took advantage of it. The morning we were checking out, the valet already had pulled the car around and had it ready to go for us without even having to ask.

All in all, this was a really great place to stay in Lucerne and we'd definitely consider staying here again should we return.

One tiny note: we would have liked to have tea in the room along with the Nespresso machine. My husband doesn't drink coffee so there was really nothing for him.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a lake front room with a balcony, especially in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear JJReid1030

First of all we thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor.

It is always our pleasure to see that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that espacially the little things are go down well such as the binoculars in all our Lake view rooms as well as the personal letter by our General Manager.

We already forwarded your compliments to our staff and also will discuss your suggestion regarding the tea in the rooms in addition to the coffee mashine.

Wishing you a great start into the new year we are looking forward to welcome you back to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL in the near future.

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a fabulous time here - Lucerne is beautiful and the lake views from the hotel room are outstanding. The hotel has old world charm, the room was beautiful and spacious, with all of the ammenities I would want. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: lake room with a terrace is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Simenora

We highly appreciate your comment on Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay wit us and were happy with the size of the room as well as the stunning view over the Lake of Lucerne and the mountains.

Wishing you a great winter time and a fantastic festive season we will be more than happy to welcome you back to Lucerne soon.

Warm regards

Your Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Property: Grand Hotel National
Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing