We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, left some disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stopped in Lucerne and choose this hotel through AEV due to its prime lake front location. Rooms were very nice, only issue was due to age the air conditioning didn't cool the rooms very well. Terrific lake front with long shaded sidewalk and wonderful cafes. Close to the old town center with great restaurants and shops. Lucerne is extremely expensive as is most of Switzerland we have found. The only spot we found great deals was at the top of the Eiger Mountain at the Top Of Europe where prices on watches etc were actually reasonable and much less than in the cities.
Service at hotel was wonderful and the staff is great. The only other disappointment was the weak breakfast offering which was included in our room price by AMEX. We had much better selection etc in Zurich. Probably would opt to stay at a nearby hotel next time perhaps the Schweizerhof down the street.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank BucketlistM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Bucketlis

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel National. Every feedback is important to us as it helps us to reach our highest aim which is to fulfill all our guest's expectations.

Please let us ensure you that we always take all the effort to continuously keep the hotel and room facilities up to date which is why we are wondering that your Air Condition didn't work properly. If we would have known before we would have had the possibility to check on that.

We forwarded your valuable comment about the breakfast selection to our executive chef to take it into consideration for any future changes.

We appreciate your positive comment about our staff a lot and already forwarded it to all out team members as this is the best motivation for all of us to keep up with the good serivce and hospitality.

We would be very happy to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here last week with my two teenagers, ages 12 and 14. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the hotel went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing. The room; impeccably maintained. The staff; knowledgable and friendly. The views, spectacular and the location is beyond your wildest dreams.
The restaurants are REALLY expensive, and the bar service wasn't as good as you would expect. Especially paying 16Euros for a white russian!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!
If you are looking for the best vacation of your life, stay at the Grand National Hotel.
You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Michela M

Thank you very much for your warm words and your wonderful review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We already forwarded your great comments to all our staff members as it is the best motivation for all of us to always keep up with the good service.

Furthermore we appreciate your feedback regarding our Bar Service because it helps us to continuously discuss and improve our skills to ensure that your future stays will be as memorable as possible.

We would be happy to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although the lobby is not very exciting, the warm and welcoming greeting that you receive upon arrival make up for it. We splurged and reserved an empire junior suite and it was worth every penny. Stunning views, balcony overlooking the lake, gorgeously appointed, huge room with a walk in closet! Also a separate toilet room from the large bathroom.

The staff was very professional and just really nice about everything. The hotel bar is even better than the photos and the bartenders are gregarious and warm but very professional. This is one of our favorite hotel bars anywhere. They also offer a nice menu in the bar. Unfortunately, the wether was not quite nice enough to enjoy the outdoor terrace but it is beautiful.

The restaurants at the hotel are all among the best restaurants in Lucerne. Our particular favorite was 1871.

The location of the hotel is perfect...less than 5 minutes to old town along the scenic promenade.

Room Tip: Spring for an empire junior suite (we are never lucky enough to be upgraded complimentarily) it trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Patolsen2

Thank you very much for your great review about our hotel.

We appreciate your lauding words about our staff a lot as it is the biggest motivation we can get to continuously keep up and improve our hospitality and service skills.

Although the Restaurant 1871 does not belong to the hotel we are more than happy about your comment and will gladly forward it to their management.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel National in the future and will do our best to organize better weather then.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a large room facing the lake with a balcony and breathtaking view of Pilatus and other mountains across the lake. Immense marble bathroom with separate tub and shower - all thoroughly modern. Staff was friendly and tried their best to be helpful, but there is no concierge and the young ladies at reception lack experience. Several restaurants in hotel - none were busy. Food was just OK. Outdoor dining on quai is romantic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dallasdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear dallasdr

First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. Every feedback is very important to us as it helps us to continuously improve our service. Therefore we appreciate your critical comment about our reception staff and the food, even though it would be helpful if you could let us know a few more details.

Please feel free to contact us anytime directly. We are looking forward welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel in one of their better suites. The room was without doubt special. A small balcony overlooked the lake, the room was large with a very comfy bed and a nice coffee machine. The bathroom was huge with a separate WC and great shower, large bath and double sinks. The service was impeccable and the room was pretty much faultless. Just be prepared to spend a fortune both in the hotel and Lucerne generally. We bought 2 shots of rum with a coke to share.....25 franks! Breakfast is £35 franks. A day to park the car 35 franks. I could carry on.
So, I would recommend this lovely price but only if you go ready to spend a great deal. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Naomi08

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind words and comment about our rooms and service a lot and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Kind regards
Grand Hotel National

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is not really about the hotel but the outdoor restaurant called the Terrace at the National Hotel. It was the best meal we had in Lucerne. A nice salad, a bowl of vegetable soup and a wienerschnitzel topped off with an apple strudel. It was amazing. The wait staff was friendly and overlooked our lack of German. It is set on the banks of the lake with beautiful trees and a nice wide sidewalk, which great for people watching while we ate. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Ronal B

Thank you for your taking the time you write a review on Tripadvisor about your experience on our Lakeside Terrace.

The National Terrace Team as well as our kitchen crew were more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL one time in the future.

Kind regards

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Coming from busy Paris with a 6 hour jet lag, one would want to catch up on rest and relaxation. This hotel was perfect for that! Getting to the hotel is as easy as can be. Once you walk out of the train station, you head over the bridge and the hotel is a short walk to your right. It's a five minute walk with luggage. When we first arrived, we were greeted by a friendly concierge who checked us in. We originally booked a city view but when we got there, it was clear that the view of Mt Pilatus couldn't be missed from our bed, so the concierge upgraded us to a mountain/lake view. Not even 5 minutes after we settled in, a very nice housekeeper knocked at the door to deliver fresh fruit and make our room set for night service. The room was incredibly clean- something I look for when traveling. The room itself was gorgeous, with a chandelier and detailed monogrammed woodwork on the furniture. It also came with a pair of binoculars, robes, and slippers; A perfect combination for sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine. The pillows are all goose down I believe and the assortment of bathroom products (Morgan Brown) won me over! I'm in the process of ordering the body wash that was scented gingerlily! :)

That night, we ate at the National hotel restaurant, located straight across from the elevators. It believe that because we were there on the first tuesday of their season, that it wasn't as crowded as it should have been. The food was spectacular and the service was impeccable. We ordered some drinks : Makers Mark (standard) on the rocks and a Black Rosemary (Prosecco, rosemary, & blueberries.) The presentation was wonderful. The chef sent out two amuse bouche which was some sort of pasta dish that was incredible. I can't even tell you what kind of pasta it was, something sort of like couscous. Regardless, amazing. For our appetizers, we had homemade tagliolini, with cherry tomatoes, basil and mozzarella di bufala. To die for! Because my boyfriend is 6'5" and can eat alot, we ordered the Chateaubriand served in 2 courses:
1st course was with béarnaise, potatoes with thyme with fresh vegetables. 2nd course
was with red wine sauce, celery puree, broccoli and fried egg. We also ordered the lamb chops which were the best I've ever had! We live in the heart of New York city's best food and it's tough to impress us! They did a great job at the National with doing so! The Chef, Adrian Bührer came out to say hello and to thank us for dining at his restaurant. There is nothing better in a dining experience than a chef taking the time to come to your table to see how everything went. Overall, this place was 5 star in our book!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms overlooking the lake and mountains- TOTALLY worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph S, Sales Executive at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Kimberly p

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel here on Tripadvisor.

It is always our great pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. The location of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL is just perfect to enjoy your time in Lucerne. It is close to the train station and located directly at the Lake of Lucerne.

Our Restaurant National was opened on the beginning of April 2014 after a refurnishing and we are therefore more than happy to receive such a great feedback by you.

We forwarded your compliments to our team and will always do our best to give every single guest a five star experience at our hotel.

Hoping to welcome you back to Lucerne in the near future we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £206 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing