We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible room service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Hi we stayed at this hotel couple of days back for 3 nights !! The hotel in itself is very nice,comfortable and at a very prominent location in the city of lucerne. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful but the only negative about the hotel is that their room service is horrible.
We got some food packed from outside and asked them to heat it and it was more than an hour they didn't get our food back and then I kept calling the room service but they didn't bother to answer the phone and finally I had to go down at the restraunt and ask about our food..after spending nearly 2000$ fr 3 nights least we could expect wr clean rooms..bt unfortunately the housekeeping services were so average tht an average 2 star hotel Wud hv been better. N to top it all the staff used to open d door of our room as n wen they felt like..so much so tht one morning we woke up n saw tht our room door had been left open..
Being a 5 star hotel they just have 2 or 3 options in 24 hours menu lol and I'm sure they must be having a problem to serve that as well . My lil daughter wanted to have an ice cream and they refused at 11 pm and they call them selves a 5 star property !! Hv visited Switzerland couple of times but have never seen such a bad service
For 2000 dollars for 3 nights in india or any other part of world , the hotels will make u feel like a king and i think this hotel Should learn from Indian hospitality and then only should rate them 5 star property and they are part of so called world 500 hotels..they don't even replace water for the day ie heights
My only advice is please be more service friendly !! Next time in Lucerne me very sure not gonna stay wid them

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Rishi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. Rishi K.,

First of all we want to thank you for your feedback and your comments to your recent stay. It is important to us in order to continuesley improve our services.

We regret that the services provided did not met your expectations during your recent stay. Our room service is more than happy to serve you quickly the menus from our Room Service Card but needs more time to prepare the dishes you brought with you.

Regarding the housekeeping service we always take care to clean the rooms during hours you are not in the room and you also have the possibility to use the Do not disturb or Make up my room doorhangers provided at the room door.

We regret that your expectations were not met and we would appreciate to welcome you and your family back in Lucerne for another occasion.

With kind regards

Front Office
Grand Hotel National

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location right on Lake Lucerne and only a fifteen minutes walk along a tree covered walk way to the main train station and a five minute walk to Old Town with all it’s restaurants, old buildings, narrow streets and covered bridges. Service and facilities were excellent but that is what one expects from a five star Swiss hotel. Room was large with high ceilings and appointed with beautiful matching furniture. Make sure to reserve a room with a lake view and balcony which has a small table and two chairs which is ideal for an espresso from the in room espresso coffee maker or a refreshment from the mini bar as you watch all the activities on the lake. We had a very enjoyable visit and would stay there again with the exception of not having a strong internet signal in our room. There was a strong signal in the lobby that I had to use. If you are visiting Luzern and are looking for five star accommodations the Grand National is certainly worth considering.

Room Tip: Fourth floor with lake view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear George B

First of all thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay at our Grand Hotel National.

We are glad to read that we were able to meet your expectations in regard to our facilities and services and that you are considering revisiting our hotel for your next stay in Lucerne.

Please accept our apologies for the weak internet signal. Usually our Internet is working properly; nevertheless we will inform our IT department about this issue to make sure that everything is in perfect condition for the future.

We are looking forward welcoming you back for your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stopped in Lucerne and choose this hotel through AEV due to its prime lake front location. Rooms were very nice, only issue was due to age the air conditioning didn't cool the rooms very well. Terrific lake front with long shaded sidewalk and wonderful cafes. Close to the old town center with great restaurants and shops. Lucerne is extremely expensive as is most of Switzerland we have found. The only spot we found great deals was at the top of the Eiger Mountain at the Top Of Europe where prices on watches etc were actually reasonable and much less than in the cities.
Service at hotel was wonderful and the staff is great. The only other disappointment was the weak breakfast offering which was included in our room price by AMEX. We had much better selection etc in Zurich. Probably would opt to stay at a nearby hotel next time perhaps the Schweizerhof down the street.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bucketlistm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Bucketlis

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel National. Every feedback is important to us as it helps us to reach our highest aim which is to fulfill all our guest's expectations.

Please let us ensure you that we always take all the effort to continuously keep the hotel and room facilities up to date which is why we are wondering that your Air Condition didn't work properly. If we would have known before we would have had the possibility to check on that.

We forwarded your valuable comment about the breakfast selection to our executive chef to take it into consideration for any future changes.

We appreciate your positive comment about our staff a lot and already forwarded it to all out team members as this is the best motivation for all of us to keep up with the good serivce and hospitality.

We would be very happy to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to Lucerne.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here last week with my two teenagers, ages 12 and 14. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the hotel went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing. The room; impeccably maintained. The staff; knowledgable and friendly. The views, spectacular and the location is beyond your wildest dreams.
The restaurants are REALLY expensive, and the bar service wasn't as good as you would expect. Especially paying 16Euros for a white russian!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!
If you are looking for the best vacation of your life, stay at the Grand National Hotel.
You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Michela M

Thank you very much for your warm words and your wonderful review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We already forwarded your great comments to all our staff members as it is the best motivation for all of us to always keep up with the good service.

Furthermore we appreciate your feedback regarding our Bar Service because it helps us to continuously discuss and improve our skills to ensure that your future stays will be as memorable as possible.

We would be happy to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although the lobby is not very exciting, the warm and welcoming greeting that you receive upon arrival make up for it. We splurged and reserved an empire junior suite and it was worth every penny. Stunning views, balcony overlooking the lake, gorgeously appointed, huge room with a walk in closet! Also a separate toilet room from the large bathroom.

The staff was very professional and just really nice about everything. The hotel bar is even better than the photos and the bartenders are gregarious and warm but very professional. This is one of our favorite hotel bars anywhere. They also offer a nice menu in the bar. Unfortunately, the wether was not quite nice enough to enjoy the outdoor terrace but it is beautiful.

The restaurants at the hotel are all among the best restaurants in Lucerne. Our particular favorite was 1871.

The location of the hotel is perfect...less than 5 minutes to old town along the scenic promenade.

Room Tip: Spring for an empire junior suite (we are never lucky enough to be upgraded complimentarily) it trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Patolsen2

Thank you very much for your great review about our hotel.

We appreciate your lauding words about our staff a lot as it is the biggest motivation we can get to continuously keep up and improve our hospitality and service skills.

Although the Restaurant 1871 does not belong to the hotel we are more than happy about your comment and will gladly forward it to their management.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel National in the future and will do our best to organize better weather then.

Best regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a large room facing the lake with a balcony and breathtaking view of Pilatus and other mountains across the lake. Immense marble bathroom with separate tub and shower - all thoroughly modern. Staff was friendly and tried their best to be helpful, but there is no concierge and the young ladies at reception lack experience. Several restaurants in hotel - none were busy. Food was just OK. Outdoor dining on quai is romantic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dallasdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear dallasdr

First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. Every feedback is very important to us as it helps us to continuously improve our service. Therefore we appreciate your critical comment about our reception staff and the food, even though it would be helpful if you could let us know a few more details.

Please feel free to contact us anytime directly. We are looking forward welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel in one of their better suites. The room was without doubt special. A small balcony overlooked the lake, the room was large with a very comfy bed and a nice coffee machine. The bathroom was huge with a separate WC and great shower, large bath and double sinks. The service was impeccable and the room was pretty much faultless. Just be prepared to spend a fortune both in the hotel and Lucerne generally. We bought 2 shots of rum with a coke to share.....25 franks! Breakfast is £35 franks. A day to park the car 35 franks. I could carry on.
So, I would recommend this lovely price but only if you go ready to spend a great deal. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Naomi08

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your kind words and comment about our rooms and service a lot and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Kind regards
Grand Hotel National

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £189 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing