We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£139
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£111
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Scandilove
Netherlands
180125
OK and practical
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Dec 2012
This hotel has a good location near the Lion Monument and close to the long pedestrian street. Service is very friendly and there is a good restaurant on the premises. These are the plus sides. On the minus side; there is no parking so you need to go to a parking garage where CHF 25 is charged for an overnight stay. The rooms are very stark and bare and noisy. Besides two small nightstand lights, there's only a boring ceiling lamp giving the room no atmosphere at all. It makes for a practical room but not a place where you want to spend any waking hours. The bathroom had no ventilation and no drain. However a warning sign in the shower tells you that you will be charged if you wet the wooden floor of the room. This I found quite ridiculous. Finally, breakfast is ok but there is no hot food and the overall price of the hotel (like everything in Lucerne) is quite high. If I were to stay in Lucerne again I would probably try a different hotel.
Date of stay: December 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£177
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £180
  • Hotels.com
    £180
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£295
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
0.3 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£480
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £459
  • ZenHotels.com
    £380
  • Hotels.com
    £470
0.1 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£169
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £169
  • Agoda.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £168
0.4 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £151
  • travelup.com
    £132
  • Hotels.com
    £151
0.4 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£243
  • Hotels.com
    £268
  • Expedia.com
    £268
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ibis Styles
£117
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £194
  • Expedia.com
    £209
0.4 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £181
  • Agoda.com
    £161
  • Hotels.com
    £181
0.5 miles from Hotel De la Paix
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lucerne
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
157
272
106
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
157
272
106
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lapin great location old town no air conditioning nice balcony chapel bridge large room comfortable stay decent size an easy walk switzerland lion station cheese balconies meats chf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Highly recommend this establishment! Our party of 4 were treated like Kings/Queens which is highly unusual for the Swiss. Lots of personality, above and beyond customer service and we were more than satisfied with our overall experience.

The Wild Game on the restaurant menu wasn't something we would normally order for fear that food would taste games, but it was not and quite lovely and delicious. Excellent food and great wine list, service beyond compare!

Thank you for your kind hospitality. We will be back.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SutterSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Grüezi
thank you for your nice and fantastic review. The Kings and Queens from San Diego are always welcome in our Hotel. We try to welcome everybody like King and Queen. Concerning the game Season - it soon the time again. We will start in mid September with our very tasty Menüs.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Hotel De la Paix located at the Loewen Centre is a great alternative to some of the other hotels. Rooms while small and simple, offer enough comfort. Location is great and major tourist attractions are within walking distance. Staff seemed friendly and easily conversed in English. Price seemed right and the continental breakfast was great.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SwissGuy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We are so lucky with our friendly staff. We will pass on the comments to our team and hope you can make it again to Lucerne.

With best Regards from Lucerne
Ferdinand Zehnder and the de la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is the first hotel we stayed after we arrived in Switzerland. We checked in pretty earlier than the check in time. After a long travel time from Thailand. The receptionist let us check in right away, i was so happy since my young kids and us were so tired and needed some sleep. The hotel room was small for 5 of us but it was enough room. We did not care anyway, we fell sleep right away, the bed was so comfy. The location of the hotel is great right where the shopping area is. The room was clean and the breakfast was basic but plenty. I love Lucerne town and would love to go back one day.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your nice review and sorry for my delayed answer. We are pleased you liked your stay with us. The comments will be passed on to our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you on maybe another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand & the De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had a very nice 2 night stay in this hotel, easily the pick of the 14 hotels we stayed in during our travels around Europe and they were all supposed to be 3 star.... The bathrooms are modern, we were welcomed with a free drink from the bar and the town is very close by. A 5 min walk from the train station across the bridge, don't be fooled in to taking a taxi, Lucerne is expensive enough without spending extra.. Speaking of expensive the only thing not getting this hotel a 5 was the Resturant prices, great food but $180 franks for a basic 3 course of meat and potatoes is a bit rich.. Bit hey this is Lucerne..

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Hello Darryn
thank you for your comments about our Hotel and Restaurant. We like your way how you described your visit in our lovely city of Lucerne. The meal even in comparison with other destination maybe more costfull but we can assure you with all of our team members that we make a very good quality of food. And if you have the chance, try our selection of wines on the larege wine list thee is always a kind of wine you will like.

Well, hopefully we can spoil you on another visit in our lovely city.

Best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The rooms are quite small for a 3*. They have one long corridor of balcony which is partitioned by grill. They could adorn it with flowers/pots like the other building in Lucern.
Staff is not very cooperative with respect to tourist information. I think they should be since Lucern is a tourist place.
I am not sure about other rooms, but the WIFI in my room was terrible. Probably it was a corner room and hence the WIFI was bad.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayadevpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review and sorry for my delayed answer. We are taking note of your comments and will follow upon our staff training. Concerning the wifi in the meantime we had installed a new free Wifi system which is pretty good and if clients login to the right accesspoints it is also in reasonnable speed. We will be happy to welcome you on the next occasion here in Lucerne.

With best Regards

Ferdinand & De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews