We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel De la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De la Paix
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean. The service is ok at the reception, but the staff at the restaurant during breakfast were really nice.

Only negative: would've liked locks on the bathrooms doors

Nothing special, but good for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberJalan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Grüezi

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear the good comments about the cleanliness in the room. But we are delighted to hear about our team in the Hotel and especially the restaurant. In constant training we working on improvement.

We hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zender and the Hotel De la Paix and Restauran Lapin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    148
    79
    11
    3
See reviews for
109
101
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of the hotel was good but the rooms could have been better cleaned. Breakfast spread was very ordinary. Bus connectivity to the train station from the hotel was very good. On the whole our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AnoopAbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Grüezi
thank your for your review. We are happy that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into the housekeeping and would be very happy to welcome you on another occasion.
With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good 3 star hotel, we did not need Air conditioner, but keep in mind that there is no Air conditioner there. Restaurant for breakfast was good at Hotel Ambassador (there is two option for restaurant, one there and one at Hotel Ambassador that works until 10:30 and has good Coffee machine) and not so good there. Once we came 7 minutes before close and we had a small fight with waiter to have breakfast. otherwise everything was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SlavaV100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your Review and comments. I am sorry you had a confusion with the breakfast Timings. We started this season for the breakfast in the De la Paix till 09:30 but from 09:00 till 11:00 am in the Ambassador in order to give as much as possible time for Long sleepers.
We hope to be able to welcome you on another Occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After pleasant stay in a nice hotel at Interlaken we were jolted to see such hotel exists in Switzerland. We were given the top most floor which was nothing but an attic and didn't have much ventilation. A table fan was provided which was not sufficient for 2 beds. After much cajoling at the reception with not so helpful receptionist (one particular lady) another table fan was despatched. The location was superb and so was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't take the top most rooms which are nothing but attics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Grüezi
thank you for your review. We are constantly looking for improvement. We are sorry for no air condition. Since our Hotel is over 100 Years of age the built in of a AC would very compilcated and difficult to go though the historic commity. We are glad you have enjoyed our location and your stay in Central Switzerland. Hopefully you can make it back and we shall provide you with additional Fans for your convenience.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The location was perfect and good value for your money since Switzerland is so expensive. The hotel is older so no air-conditioning which in warmer months could cause problem. We could open the window at night and we had a smaller room at the back of the hotel so not on the main street so it was quieter. The included breakfast at the hotel Lapin was very nice and we liked the fact that you could get a later breakfast at the attached hotel the Ambassador until 11am. Staff was very helpful and friendly.We were able to walk to the room with our luggage from the train station and the hotel is perfectly located to the lake, old town, lion monument and lots of good restaurants in area. we had dinner in the restaurant Lapin one night and it was excellent and it was great to be able to charge to room and save the cash.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are at back but that is the quieter area. They asked us before assigning room and said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarsh3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your review. We are glad you had enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the lack of Air Condition. However in our over 100 Year old Building it is quiet difficult to change infrastructure and considering the environement we have decided not for Air Condition. Usually it is the few summer hot weeks but the rest of the year we can manage well without. We hope to welcome you on another occasion in our lovely city of Lucerne.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder
And the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights from 5th May - 8th May. We had 2 rooms (although the room numbers i can't remember).

The staff were VERY friendly and helpful. The rooms were well sized and we had a lovely view down to the Lake from our Balcony. My parents overlooked the building next door which was being renovated.The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Lake, Lion Monument, Train station and all main sights.

The breakfast had lots of choices (cold and hot) and was one of the better ones we came across during our 5 weeks of travels.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this beautiful part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your wonderful review. What shall we say? Thank you for staying with us. It has been a pleasure and hopefully we may accommodate you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder
and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good location Just few minutes away from Lake Lucern and the famous swiss watch galleries.
Great service! We are warmly welcomed by the staff on a cold night.They gave us unique Swiss souvenir as we checked out too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenesisLeonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Grüezi
Thank you for your nice and lovely review about our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had experienced the winter season in Lucerne. Hopefully you can make it back sometime.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Paix

Property: Hotel De la Paix
Address: Museggstrasse 2, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re certain you’ll feel at home at the Hotel De La Paix. Our room are in a quiet location and comfortably furnished. They all have a bath or shower and WC, direct dial telephone, TV and radio. And our staff will ensure a friendly and warm-hearted atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing