We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food if a bit noisy.”
Review of Hotel De la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De la Paix
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food if a bit noisy.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for a week. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel immaculately clean. Unfortunately our first floor bedroom was noisy, overlooking a busy main road, but this did not spoil our holiday. Breakfast was goodish and dinner, we stayed half-board, first-rate - high quality ingredients in each of the four courses.
The location is excellent - 100 meters from the lake - and the bedroom was simply furntished but adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Alpenstrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandsuebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Grüezi
thank you for your Review and thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the Food in our Restaurant Lapin. Sorry about the noise also due to the world Football Champion-Ship. Beeing in the heart of Lucerne it is sometimes difficult for the noise. Maybe next time we try to allocate you a room to the back of the Hotel which is a Little smaller but more quiet. Anyway we hope to be able to welcome you on another Occasion and wish you a good summer.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix and Lapin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    144
    79
    11
    3
See reviews for
105
99
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Returned from my 10th annual visit to the de la Paix, where little changes. The quality and attention of the staff remain first class, despite some new faces. For a three star hotel the value is extraordinary. It is family run, providing a wonderful personal service, there is always an excellent choice of food even on a half-board basis and it is so convenient for all transport. Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy main road which can be noisy at times, so ask for an internal room if you thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissfan131146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Grüezi
thank you for your stay and thank you for your lovely Review. We are working constantly on our product and Service Quality. Even with many new staff we manage to have the Spirit De la Paix Lapin alive. We hope to be able to welcoming you again with us and send you our best Regards

Ferdinand and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean. The service is ok at the reception, but the staff at the restaurant during breakfast were really nice.

Only negative: would've liked locks on the bathrooms doors

Nothing special, but good for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberJalan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Grüezi

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear the good comments about the cleanliness in the room. But we are delighted to hear about our team in the Hotel and especially the restaurant. In constant training we working on improvement.

We hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zender and the Hotel De la Paix and Restauran Lapin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location of the hotel was good but the rooms could have been better cleaned. Breakfast spread was very ordinary. Bus connectivity to the train station from the hotel was very good. On the whole our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AnoopAbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Grüezi
thank your for your review. We are happy that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into the housekeeping and would be very happy to welcome you on another occasion.
With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good 3 star hotel, we did not need Air conditioner, but keep in mind that there is no Air conditioner there. Restaurant for breakfast was good at Hotel Ambassador (there is two option for restaurant, one there and one at Hotel Ambassador that works until 10:30 and has good Coffee machine) and not so good there. Once we came 7 minutes before close and we had a small fight with waiter to have breakfast. otherwise everything was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SlavaV100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your Review and comments. I am sorry you had a confusion with the breakfast Timings. We started this season for the breakfast in the De la Paix till 09:30 but from 09:00 till 11:00 am in the Ambassador in order to give as much as possible time for Long sleepers.
We hope to be able to welcome you on another Occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After pleasant stay in a nice hotel at Interlaken we were jolted to see such hotel exists in Switzerland. We were given the top most floor which was nothing but an attic and didn't have much ventilation. A table fan was provided which was not sufficient for 2 beds. After much cajoling at the reception with not so helpful receptionist (one particular lady) another table fan was despatched. The location was superb and so was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't take the top most rooms which are nothing but attics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Grüezi
thank you for your review. We are constantly looking for improvement. We are sorry for no air condition. Since our Hotel is over 100 Years of age the built in of a AC would very compilcated and difficult to go though the historic commity. We are glad you have enjoyed our location and your stay in Central Switzerland. Hopefully you can make it back and we shall provide you with additional Fans for your convenience.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The location was perfect and good value for your money since Switzerland is so expensive. The hotel is older so no air-conditioning which in warmer months could cause problem. We could open the window at night and we had a smaller room at the back of the hotel so not on the main street so it was quieter. The included breakfast at the hotel Lapin was very nice and we liked the fact that you could get a later breakfast at the attached hotel the Ambassador until 11am. Staff was very helpful and friendly.We were able to walk to the room with our luggage from the train station and the hotel is perfectly located to the lake, old town, lion monument and lots of good restaurants in area. we had dinner in the restaurant Lapin one night and it was excellent and it was great to be able to charge to room and save the cash.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are at back but that is the quieter area. They asked us before assigning room and said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarsh3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your review. We are glad you had enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the lack of Air Condition. However in our over 100 Year old Building it is quiet difficult to change infrastructure and considering the environement we have decided not for Air Condition. Usually it is the few summer hot weeks but the rest of the year we can manage well without. We hope to welcome you on another occasion in our lovely city of Lucerne.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder
And the De la Paix Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#26 of 68 in Lucerne
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Paix

Property: Hotel De la Paix
Address: Museggstrasse 2, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re certain you’ll feel at home at the Hotel De La Paix. Our room are in a quiet location and comfortably furnished. They all have a bath or shower and WC, direct dial telephone, TV and radio. And our staff will ensure a friendly and warm-hearted atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing