We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay casually at the Palace and be treated like Royalty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay casually at the Palace and be treated like Royalty”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had 2 of the most excellent nights at the Palace Hotel Luzern, Switzerland. I have stay some time ago at the famous Baur Au Lac in Zurich and that was extremely nice. The Palace in Luzern was just as nice without the pretentiousness of the B A L. A super location on the Lake and close walking distance to the old town and many stores. The service from arrival through reception, in the restaurants and at checkout all get A1+ rating from us. Needless to say, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake view room for more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Stephen S

Thank you very much for your excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your 2 nights with us at the PALACE LUZERN. Our team members are all dedicated hosts and we do our best to make you feel at home, even though you are fare away from your own home.

We do hope to welcome you back one day at the most beautiful hotel in Lucerne!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    154
    56
    12
    18
See reviews for
199
489
30
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is situated on one of the most amazing pieces of real estate in the world. The view from the lake side rooms is absolutely stunning and worth every penny of the exorbitant fee charged to stay here. The service is very good, and the amenities are good, but missing some of the standard 'luxe' features of other 5 stars ( like no turn down service). Some people don't get the great water view rooms and they give lesser reviews, so if you're going to spend CHF 350, pay 600 and get the exquisite view and nice size room. It's worth it.
The hotel restaurants are very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view, if you can't get that you may as we'll stay at a cheaper place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear AgP23

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you loved our location directly on the shores of Lake Lucerne and that you have liked your overall experience here at our beautiful hotel.

We are sorry that you didnt have the chance to experience our turn down service, of course we do provide a turn down service at the PALACE LUZERN, which is a standard of our house. Exept there is the red sign at the door, we prepare your room for the night.

We do hope to welcome you back again at the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards from the whole team
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, good bar but the room 650 is not worthy of a hotel like this one.
I payed quite a lot (around CHF 350.-) even if it was by an internet last minute broker...for a such awful place. The room is small, the bathroom is green and old fashion and the reception is even worst. in the 70's the hotel were more modern...
icing on the cake parking costing 35 -. daily

Room Tip: Never go to the room 650....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gabriel T

We thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are very sorry that you did not like your room at all. We are aware of the fact, that the room is not very big, and that is why it is categorised as a standard room.

Our hotel was built in 1906 and our reception area with the original marble floor is in this specific grand hotel style, we are sorry that you were not convinced about our charming interior. Thank you for the positive feedback about our bar and our location.

We thank you for your honest feedback, it is very important for us that we receive the impressions of our guests, in order to find out where we can improve. We do hope that we may welcome you again, maybe next time in a double room with lake view, so that you get another impression of our beautiful hotel.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay this past weekend at the Palace Hotel.
Everyone we came in contact with was very outgoing, helpful, knowledgeable about the Hotel and the various areas in town etc.
No matter what time we arrived at the hotel everyone was always helpful and very courteous.
A very clean, well run establishment. All the amenities are first class. The Breakfast is great (wonderful selections).
We highly recommend this great hotel because of the management and staff and for its great location.
Great value for your $$$$$

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Lake of Lucerne. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wicky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear wicky2014

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your past weekend with us at the PALACE LUZERN and we do hope, that we can welcome you again soon to our beautiful hotel.

We also thank you for the great feedback about our devoted team members, that you would recommend our hotel because of our management and the staff - this is the biggest compliment you can give us. We do have a great hotel, but it wouldn't be the same without our team-members.

Best regards from Switzerland and thank you for being our guests!
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I took my wife here for a trip for our wedding anniversary, and both of us could not have been happier with the experience.

At check-in, we were told we were a little too early, but immediately had our suitcases taken, and were escorted for a complimentary coffee in the lounge area of the hotel, surrounded by a live pianist and a beautiful view of the lake.

Once checked-in, we were taken to our room, which was absolutely fantastic, with a view of the lake, an incredible bathroom, complimentary chocolates, and every single amenity one could hope for. Molton Brown soaps and shampoos and creams, an individual shower room, jacuzzi bathtub, beautiful fittings and furnishings, made for a great experience.

The bed was very comfortable, wifi was provided throughout, and every possible need was catered for. The spa was small but tastefully done, and since it was freezing and we decided not to brave the cold and head to town for dinner, the room service we ordered was sublime.

The breakfast buffet was out of this world, with every pastry imaginable available, along with freshly cut ham, various cereals, delicious coffee, juices, home-made bircher müsli, etc., all there for your enjoyment. Friendly and courteous staff are permanently available to tend to your special wishes and requirements, always with a smile on their face and seemingly happy to help.

It would be a pleasure to stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone, particularly those seeking a weekend getaway in the beautiful city of Luzern, at a timeless, classic, and absolutely pampering hotel. Awarding five stars does not do it justice!

Room Tip: Lakeview room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagisterDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear MagisterDom

We thank you so much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is an honour for me and my team to read such words from you and we are very happy that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary to the fullest at the PALACE LUZERN.

On our breakfast buffet we do have a lot of local specialities for you to try out. From our breakfast room you do have a lovely view on the lake and the alpine panorama and you can see the sunrise as well as our house mountain, the Pilatus.

Our devoted team members are doing their best every day to read your wishes from the eyes, as we say it here in Switzerland. Our slogan is "pure joy of life" and above the entrance for the staff there are the following words written: "The best employees of the world enter and leave through this door every day". This is absolutely true.

Our location directly on the lake is spectacular, even if you would like to dine in your room you do not have to do without a beautiful view.

Dear MagisterDom, we would be glad to pamper you again at the PALACE LUZERN!

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The classic hotel architecture in a tremendous lakeside location speaks for itself. What we weren't expecting is how friendly, personable, and attentive the staff was - really a small hotel feel in a grand and elegant hotel building. Wonderful spa (sauna, steam room), piano bar. We spent an hour each morning just sipping coffee gazing out on the lake and Mt Pilatus from our wonderful balcony.

Room Tip: Lakeview balconies are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattleafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear seattleafar

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your coffee on your balcony every morning, watching what is going on on the lake and on the promenade. The athmosphere is sometimes spectacular, and you cannot get enough of looking at the beautiful landscape. We also thank you for your positive comment about our dedicated staff - which with pleasure I will pass on.

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My wife and i are planning a trip to Luzern and it was recommended to stay at Palance Luzern. Since it is my 60th birthday and also around our anniversary I ask for help in planning a special event. The GM and his staff responded immediately and gave us perfect recommendations. If this is an indication of the service we will receive....then a 5-star rating will not be high enough. First impressions mean a great deal in our travel.---Mike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear mike p

We thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated our help and me as well as our dedicated team members are looking forward to welcoming you for your private Birthday and anniversary celebration at the PALACE LUZERN.

Sunny regards from Lucerne
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing