We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location Fabulous Service”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed at Palace Luzern on my family vacation. The location of the hotel is just super and the view from the room is unbelievable. You can see the lake, the snow covered peaks from your room and it is an amazingly refreshing feeling when you get up in the morning and are greeted by the serene view. On the other end of the view you can see the man made attractions of lucerne including the famous bridge. The junior suite we stayed in was somewhat expensive but the room was very spacious and worth the price. The breakfast was good quality but somewhat limited for choice for a Palace restaurant. The breakfast also is too repetitive. For someone staying for more than 2 days, one starts getting bored to eat same things again and again (This is a problem with many hotels which are otherwise very good). The hotel should seriously consider providing more variety and variation in hot buffet. My other suggestion is that the hotel should provide tea/ coffee machine or kettle in the room. It is a significant lacunae for such a pricey room. The staff was extremely friendly, accomodative and provided great suggestions and I would give seven stars to the staff for their great service.

Room Tip: No alternative to lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_atul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Dr_atul

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad, that you loved your Junior Suite with the spectacular view over Lake Lucerne and the snow peaks of the alpine panorama. We do hear a lot of stories from our guests, what they see from their rooms and what happenings they observe on the lake.

We are glad for your input about our breakfast buffet and will discuss it in our team, what we could change to offer our guests more variety of a hot buffet.

With your comment regarding the coffee machine in the room: we are currently working on a possibility for that, starting in July to provide our guests an even more exclusive service.

We would be honored to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and the experience was great. I traveled with my significant other's family so we had one standard room and one suite. The suite was spacious with a small living area (couch, chairs, coffee table). There was also a nice lake view balcony to sit out on. The standard room had a double bed which was actually made of two twin beds. This is fine for one person but might be uncomfortable for a couple. It had two balconies both city view but no chairs. There was overall more space and amenities in the suite (appetizers and wine waiting) but the bathroom was actually significantly smaller than the standard room.

One thing we all loved was the fresh fruit placed in the room everyday along with a turnover treat. We never made it to the spa but one person in our group was able to easily book a massage. We had breakfast in room one morning and the buffet another day. It was good but not as good as the breakfast buffet at Lausanne Palace and Spa. Overall I'd say while this hotel is great I slightly prefer Lausanne Palace over this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Elizabeth C

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked the turn down amenities such as small chocolates or Swiss sweets as well as the fresh fruit every day. The view from our balconies facing the lake is spectacular, especially on a clear summer day, when you feel that you can see "forever".

We do have "love bridges" for our twin beds, a thin layer that we lay on top of the mattresses. So when couples are traveling they do not feel the twin bed.

On our breakfast buffet we have a lot of specialties from the region, as well as a chocolate corner for our young guests. Our goal is to show you our local products that you can find out, how Central Switzerland tastes like.

We do hope to welcome you and your "other's family" back to the PALACE LUZERN one day.

Best regards and thank you
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Expected more from decor of lobby and corridors for one of best hotels in lucerne. Rooms large but no air con in lobby and Internet does not work in outside seating areas . No sun loungers either which would have been nice . Air con in rooms works well and balcony view to die for but rather small . Service excellent though and brought fruit more than once. Water on bedside table every night would have been better

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Jane J

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you rate our service to be excellent. We are sorry, that our lobby is not air conditioned and we understand, that on some days in summer it gets warm. But we do our best to create some ventilation throughout the day. The public lake lido, where you have free access to as our guest, they do provide sun loungers. Unfortunately we do not have enough space for them on our terrace, where the WIFI only works in certain areas.

We do hope to welcome you back one day. Thank you for being our guest.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in suite no 435 facing the lake.The hotel has maintained the heritage characteristics. The fabulous locationi is just a 10 min walk away from the center and offers spectacular views from the balcony of the suite of Lake Lucerne, boats, town and mountains.The breakfast buffet was excellent in terms of freshness and variety.The staff was very courteous. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Nitika S

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. From the balconies of our rooms you have a spectacular view of the clear blue lake, the mountains in the back still with a little snow and of everything that is going on on Lake Lucerne. Yesterday evening there was a storm coming from the East, and you could see the clouds coming and going - there is just so much to look at from your balconies.

We would be glad to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Old but classy. Think Waldorf-Astoria in NY. Beautiful setting by the lake. Convenient walk to downtown. Amazing view. Nice restaurant. Large rooms, particularly by European standards. Very good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Carlos P

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to read it. With "pure joy of life", our slogan at the PALACE LUZERN, we do our best to provide our guests a home far away from home.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very classy grand hotel right on the lake in Lucerne. Amazing lake views if your room faces that way. Excellent service. My room was under the roof, but very large and facing the river. Bathroom design a bit dated, but all functioning with Swiss perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Malte S

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. From our rooms you can observe what is going on on Lake Lucerne, you can watch the steam boats landing or you can just admire the alpine panorama with our spectacular house mountain, Mount Pilatus.

We do hope to welcome you back again to our "Grand Dame", it would be a pleasure for us!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. The room was huge, not only by European standards, but by any standard. Huge, modern bathroom as well. We had a beautiful view of the lake and the Alps from our balcony. The service was impeccable, with many nice touches related to our anniversary. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Lake view is a must-have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ml1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ml1031

What an honour for us to read your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you loved your room with the spectacular view of Lake Lucerne and the alpine panorama. With small things we do like to surprize our guests, especially when you celebrate your 30th anniversary at the PALACE LUZERN.

We do hope to welcome you back one day and send you sunny greetings from the PALACE

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 67 in Lucerne
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £234 - £786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing