We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful view from a big room.”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Room was clean with a great view of the lake. The hotel was built in 1906 so the rooms are large and roomy with a separate sitting area. The bathroom is large with two sinks and a separate bathtub and shower. The offer a lot of closet space. If you are on the lake side of the hotel you have a fantastic view of the lake. If you like to walk, the location of the hotel is good and provides easy access to most areas of interest. The hotel also offers maps defining three walking/jogging paths around or near the lake. The free breakfast provides a good variety of offerings, but the scrambled eggs seems to always be undercooked. The staff are friendly and helpful. I liked the fresh fruit provided in the room each day. Had 3 apples one day and nectarines the next.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aikininja916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, F&B Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear aikininja916

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. Your comment honors us and we are very happy, that you have enjoyed your stay here at the PALACE LUZERN.

We take the saying "an apple a day, keeps the doctor away" very seriously and provide fresh fruit to our guests. This small snack is healthy and gives you energy in between the meals.

Please accept our apologies that your scrambled egg was undercooked. I will pass that feedback on to our breakfast cooks in order to make sure that the eggs will be cooked perfectly in the future, thank you very much for your input.

Best regards
Christina Bruhin
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

A grand old hotel in Luzern with a combination of old and new. We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite which was a corner room with a view of the lake and downtown Luzern. The view was magnificent. Loved the amount of closet space. All was as it should be in a 5 star hotel from the front desk, to the concierge to the food. Actually received a refund from a taxi company after we complained to the concierge about being over charged. It is not in the center of town, but the walk to town is 10 minutes top along the lake and a lovely promenade. I asked for some bread to feed to the ducks and swans and was given a bag of old rolls tied with a ribbon. Delightful. Saw several other hotels in Luzern, with equal prices, liked this one the best, especially for the roominess we had. Be aware that there are meetings and such in this hotel and the main sitting room is sometimes taken for these events, but it did not really affect us at all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank eve1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear eve1950

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad, that you have enjoyed your stay at the PALACE LUZERN. Our location directly on the shores of Lake Lucerne is spectacular, especially on a clear day, when you can see the whole panorama view of the Swiss Alps.

Our slogan is pure joy of life, and that is also what we want to pass on to our guests. We are very happy, that you could feel that and that we lived up to your expectations - that's what every team member of the PALACE LUZERN strives to.

We do hope to welcome you back to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel after our Viking River cruise. The location is perfect, beautiful lobby and outside seating but the rooms left a lot to be desired. After talking to other people who were on the cruise, I considered myself to be fortunate for having the room that we had. Others complained about half hanging chandeliers, peeling wall paper, very small with little space to walk around the bed. Since we all spent the same amount of money I would have thought we would all have the same type of rooms. The hair dryer was from l970. Breakfasts were very good. There was no turn-down service which we were told would happen. For a five star hotel it was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irmadelbagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Director of Sales at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear irmadelbagno

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We appreciate it very much we do take it very serious because our guests are the ones who experience our house and can tell us the best, how their stay was.

It is always difficult for us to allocate rooms to group travelers, as your operator has an allotment of two different categories. Unfortunately it is a fact, that not every group traveler gets the same room as other couples traveling with the same group. We do apologize for this.

Our maintaining standards are very high and we do our best, to keep everything in order, which is not always easy in a beautiful hotel built in 1906.

We do hope that you have enjoyed your time here with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this 1906 hotel after our Viking River cruise. We stayed in room 134 and it had a terrace with 2 lounge chairs. We had a beautiful view of the lake and Mt. Pilatus. The room was beautiful with high ceilings and old fashioned charm, but a very modern bathroom with heated floors and separate bathtub and shower.
The breakfast buffet was included in our stay. A variety of hot & cold breakfast foods, cheeses, fruits and beverages. All very nicely presented and tasty.
Comfortable bed with down comforter and down pillows.
All in all a great hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Fabulous hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.....beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel11931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, General Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear luvtotravel11931

Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure for us to have you here at the PALACE LUZERN and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. The heated floor in the bathroom is much appreciated by our guests and the rooms facing the lake do have a spectacular view.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to the PALACE LUZERN one day!

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying here after we were unable to stay at Hotel Pilatus, due to the cable car not running, and we are so glad we got to! It is such a gorgeous hotel! Our room was so spacious with a beautiful big bathroom with a large spa and the view... I could stare at it forever! It was snowing while we were there so the large balcony we had wasn't made much use of, but we loved looking out the double doors to the lake and mountains. Perfect setting! We walked to most places which was convenient and the staff were very friendly, would definitely recommend staying here if you like a bit of old world glamour!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JodieRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear JodieRochelle

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have stayed with us. The view from our rooms is spectacular, you can see the clear blue lake as well as the alpine panorama with the snow capped peaks in the background. You can observe the steam boats landing and departing, as well as the people strolling along the lake on a beautiful day.

We do hope that you still think about the PALACE LUZERN and we would be more than happy to welcome you again to our house with grand hotel glamour.

Best regards from sunny Switzerland
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This really is a very nice hotel, great location, wonderful view of the lake, very spacious and well equipped. But for the five-star, I would not expect such things as a shower door that is narrower than its opening and lets water flow out and make the whole floor completely wet (had to use two towels to wipe it dry). It was also irritating that one could not enjoy the lake view sitting on the balcony because there was constant smell of food coming from the restaurant's barbecue downstairs. Otherwise very pleasurable!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, F&B Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear DDandC

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the PALACE LUZERN.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy sitting on your balcony, as a smell of food was constantly rising from our barbecue we have outdoor on Sundays. The wind is coming from the lake, that is why it may take the smell up the front of the hotel. I will check if we find another spot for our barbecue, so that our guests can enjoy their balconies to the fullest.

We would love to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Christina Bruhin
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived at Palace after BA lost 50,000 bags in London...two of which were ours. Was greeted by front desk staff with exceptional understanding and service..first class. We felt like we were back at George V in Paris or Villa de Este in Como....plus the room is stunning....modern, great view, 5-5tar! GM Hunziker has exceeded our high expectations.. Already talking about returning...next time with luggage :). MP

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, General Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear mike p

We thank you very much for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you here at our beautiful hotel. I can only exceed your expectations with the help of every member of our dedicated team at the PALACE LUZERN, and I am proud of all of them. I would be glad to have you here again - next time with your luggage, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Best regards
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 67 in Lucerne
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £253 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing