We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views and Amazing Service”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views and Amazing Service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was the final night of a four week tour all over Europe. We stayed one night and it was the prefect end to an amazing vacation. We booked thru Amex Fine Hotels and were upgraded to an amazing recently renovated deluxe junior suite with a spectacular view of the Lake. The weather was a bit drippy....not raining, but a light mist and low clouds that gave the scenery an almost surreal look. Of course, it would have been nicer to have had a sunny day with unobstructed views, but the views we did have were still spectacular. Service at the front desk upon check-in and later with some arrangements with the concierge were impeccable. Immediately upon our arrival we were greeted by very friendly and efficient gentlemen who took care of our bags and parked our car.....parking is free. The room as I stated had an amazing view and great balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large, yet cozy in its décor. TONS of closet space which would definitely be useful for a longer stay. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. We had a lovely walk into the old part of Luzern and enjoyed a fabulous afternoon just strolling and sampling delicious coffee overlooking the bridge. For dinner we ate in the hotel with a $100 credit at Jaspers. The service was outstanding and we had an excellent meal with a table at the window looking out on to the beautiful landscape. Before dinner we enjoyed cocktails in the bar and the gentleman bartender could not have been more friendly and accommodating, not to mention his mixology talents. We were VERY happy with our stay here and would definitely stay here again, but next time it will be for much longer. Thanks you to all the staff for offering such helpful and genuinely friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrybeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear hrybeyr

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that our team members provided you with a great service throughout your stay with us at the PALACE LUZERN. "Pure joy of life" is our philosophy and we life this motto every single day in every department, it is a pleasure to work with so many talented people here at this beautiful hotel, which has a history of more than 108 years.

Our location directly on the shores of Lake Lucerne is unique and even though the weather at the moment is really bad, there are spectacular weather formations you can observe.

We are looking forward to your next stay, to provide you again a home far away from home!

Best regards from the whole team of the PALACE LUZERN
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    155
    57
    14
    18
See reviews for
206
502
30
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in July at the end of a three week European trip. We booked through Amex Platnum and received an upgrade to a huge room with a lake view and small balcony. The room and bath were not the new and modern ones on the website, but were very large and functional. This was the only hotel of our trip that charged (43 ch, I think) for our son.
It rained during the time we were there and perhaps that is why everything smelled like lake...not fresh lovely summer days by the lake, but wet stale urine sort of smelling lake...the smell was present all through the hotel and in our room. Maybe it was just the weather, but it was a turnoff for me.
The staff was lovely and helpful. I have no complaints. Room service was accurate and very good...I had delicious Swiss char which the refer to simply as char in Switzerland. The palace exterior was truly stunning. Location was good, but no better or worse than the surrounding choices...just no wow factor for me and therefore we would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shaumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear shaumie

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at the PALACE LUZERN and to provide an upgrade for your family.

Our location directly at the shores of Lake Lucerne is spectacular, as you are close to the city centre, but you do not have the busy streets between the hotel and the lake.

We are very sorry for that smell that you have experienced during the rain. At the moment it gets very humid all over Switzerland due to the high amount of rain in this period of the year, which is very unusual for us. The fragrances we use in the whole hotel may not have been strong enough for such humid temperatures.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a lovely summer day, when you can smell the lovely colourful flowers in our lobby and sip a coffee while enjoying the view of the blue lake in front of you.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We held a private event at the hotel, and also stayed for 1 night in the junior corner suite. The best thing about this hotel, no doubt, is the view: from our room, we got a wonderful, unblocked view of Mount Pilatus with Lake Lucerne right in front. The hotel is also just minutes walk from the city centre, train station, the Museum of Transportation, and the park. The food is also pretty good (we had breakfast, apero and dinner there). So what's not-so-good about the hotel? Some of the rooms (like the one we were in) look in need of a refurbishment. But the thing that we felt could be improved the most was the service, which was slow at times and not really what you would expect from a 5-star hotel, and also some of the service staff look like they need some training. While we love the view from the hotel, we do think the hotel rate is a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, F&B Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kim A

We thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. We are keen to learn from the feedback from our guests and we take it very seriously and try to improve what we receive as a feedback.

We apologize for the service, which you described slow and with a lack of training. We are getting close to high season and we do have a lot of new team members, and therefore we do our best to train them every day that we can maintain our high standard of service. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but I can assure you, that I will take care of it myself.

We do hope that you will be our guests again to convince you of our high sevice level.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN
Christina Bruhin
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblehead, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel and location. We stopped overnight during a month long driving tour. The hotel opened for business in 1903. and except for temporary closures during World War I and II - the hotel has been a beacon in the town of Lucerne. the staff was great - when we drove up the doorman jose was out front on the spot. silva handled our reception - professional, courteous and very welcoming. she even walked us to our suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the lake. we had dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed it very much. the bar was excellent. this is a wonderful elegant hotel. i just wish the hotel enforced a dress code. we are sitting in the bar having a drink and people are walking in flip flops and t shirts which shocked me. i guess enforcing a dress code is tough in 2014. having said all this - if you want a traditional and elegant "grand lady" hotel. the palace is the place. JMGAIA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Leiter Front Office at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear JMGAIA

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at the PALACE LUZERN during your month long driving trip.

Did you know that our hotel was built on oak poles, because the shores of Lake Lucerne used to be swamp land? This is one of the interesting facts we do have due to the history of our house.

We do have the philosophy "pure joy of life" in our house and one part of it is the dresscode. For us it is the most important, that our guests feel comfortable, and therefore we do allow them to walk around in shorts. Our doors are open to everyone, as we belong to Lucerne and are one of the landmarks of Central Switzerland.

We hope to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN and sending you the best wishes.

Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I experienced a perfect moment looking at the lake from the bar while waiting for a bite to eat. Inner peace and relaxation.

The staff took great care of both myself and my wife including remembering small details about our breakfast etc.

I was unsure how relaxing the massage was until I fell out of the bed in my room.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.





Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RogerBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Housekeeping Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear RogerBucks

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed a perfect moment at our PALACE LUZERN. Experiencing a relaxing stay is one of the goals that we strive to provide for our guests.

We do hope that you have many more magic moments at the PALACE LUZERN very soon.

Best regards
Beatrice Hunkeler
Housekeeping Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Junior Suite was huge, and ultra luxurious.
Staff was Suisse, thus perfect, and attention to detail (swimming kit with towels and slippers, e.g.) was, well, Suisse. As an American, one thinks, why doesn't everyone do it like this?
Fresh fruit in room.
When I called for ice, it was delivered in 2 minutes.
Breakfast is fabulous. Huge spread, all fresh and delicious. So elegant.
Perfect location on Lake Lucerne which, by the way, is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Wonderful views.
Maybe our best hotel experience ever. Can't wait to return.
Stay HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, General Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Michael D

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to feel that you have entirely enjoyed your stay here at the PALACE LUZERN, that is what I and my team strive for every day with our philosophy "pure joy of life".

Our guests appreciate the free use of the public lake lido right in front of our beautiful hotel and we love to surprise our guests with the bag with slippers, a towel, a comb as well as a refreshing water.

We do hope to welcome you back soon to the PALACE LUZERN and we are sending you our best greetings from Switzerland.

Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent three days at Palace Luzern prior to our Rhine River Cruise starting in Basel. It was a great start to our vacation. The property, staff, dinning areas and amenities were all excellent. It's location is very convenient for walking into the Old City. My complements to the Management and Staff.

Room Tip: I recommend a Lake Lucerne view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjv001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear gjv001

Thank you very much for your compliments. It is a pleasure for us to read your comment and we are glad that you enjoyed the start of your trip before your Rhine river cruise here at the PALACE LUZERN. This afternoon we enjoy the first rays of sunshine after a long rain period - how lovely Lucerne looks!

We do hope to welcome you back again to the PALACE LUZERN one day and we do hope that you have enjoyed your cruise!

Best regards
Silva Kellermann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing