We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucerne Delight”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lucerne Delight”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I spent 10 nights at the Palace Hotel in Lucerne, so I believe I can really review this fine place.
It is located right on Lake Lucerne about a 15 minute walk from the train station. My room was spacious and comfortable. Large bed, couch, sitting chair and table and TV. I had an unobstructed view of the lake. Very large bathroom with two big sinks and a large tub and separate shower and private toilet. The room had plenty of closets and a safe to store my valuables. Full central air conditioning for comfort. The room was quiet. A full buffet breakfast was available that came with the price of the room. At first I thought I was in Las Vegas when I saw the fabulous buffet. Service was great. I had no idea what sites I wanted to see and so I depended upon the staff at the Concierge Desk. They were incredible and gave me great places to visit and even what food to ask for when I got to the top of the mountain. They supplied me with individual train schedules and suggested appropriate times to make the fast train which translated into an unforgettable vacation.
Check in and check out was very efficient. This is clearly a 5 star hotel. The hotel has a nice lounge and bar area if you want to meet friends at the end of the day. They also have a full spa and fitness area. Not cheap. But nothing is inexpensive in Lucerne. I felt that I got value for my money.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. This is not a charming or quaint hotel. It is a luxurious Palace-right next door to the Casino if you decide to try your luck. It is right on the lake and a short walk to the famous bridge and shopping area. But what was really great was the fact that I used Lucerne as my base and because I had a Swiss Rail Pass I went everywhere. A great vacation where I didn't go from hotel to hotel-packing and unpacking.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and get a room that overlooks Lake Lucerne. You will not regret your dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Geschäftsführer at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Ronald S

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to have you as our guest here at the PALACE LUZERN. It is our goal to provide you a home far away from home and for us it is the best compliment, when we feel that you have felt at home here in our beautiful grand hotel direclty at the shore of Lake Lucerne.

On our breakfast buffet we offer a range of local products, for us it is important to support our local producers as well as local farmers. Like that, our guests have the opportunity to try out new things they have never tasted before.

Switzerland has so many things to offer and with the Swiss Rail Pass you have the best opportunity to get from one place to the other. We do hope that you still were lucky with the weather, as summer is not showing its real face this year - unfortunately.

It would be a pleasure for us Ronald S, to welcome you again to the PALACE LUZERN.

Best regards from the whole team
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    169
    61
    15
    18
See reviews for
228
533
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed three nights during the Lucerne Music Festival. If you book well ahead the concierge can organize tickets for the concerts. Already the boat trip cross the lake to the Concert Hall KKL - before and after the concert - is just unforgettable. One evening we had dinner after the concert at the JASPER Restaurant: not cheap but worth every penny. The Mango Ravioli followed by a Trio of Veal was outstanding in any respect. The service very efficient and friendly.
The Hotel is one of this grand old Ladies of Swiss Hotels with splendid rooms (with all gadges of 2014), a beautiful lobby area, an old fashioned bar and a fantastic al fresco seating literally on the lake. One of those Grand Old Hotels with the 'No Problem' attitude, (although with a serious price tag…)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear gary w

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are glad, that you had a great stay here with us. The Lucerne Festival is a very important event here in Lucerne and we are glad, to be the partner hotel of this world renowned festival. For us the festival time is very special, as we are adapting us to the schedule of the concerts.

We are happy that you have loved the food at our restaurant Jasper. Our Chef Armin Egli has worked many years abroad, and his creations sometimes have just a touch of oriental influence.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from the team of the PALACE LUZERN
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 3 days at Palace in August 2014. The hotel is right on the shore of Lake Luzern and a reasonable walk from the train station and town center. We had a very nice room on the 3rd floor on the side of the hotel overlooking Lake Luzern and Mt. Pilatus. Absolutely spectacular views. Hotel staff, particularly concierge, Patricia, was very nice. Our room was spacious and our beautifully renovated bath was very nice with both walk-in shower and tub. Our room was reasonably priced for what we got.

Room Tip: Suggest 3rd floor lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhopki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear jdhopki

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the PALACE LUZERN.

The view from our rooms is spectacular, you can observe the steam boats on the clear blue Lake with the panorama of the Swiss alps in the background, with its majestic peaks. Our house mountain, Pilatus, is an indicator for the weather. If there is like a hat of clouds around the peak, we say that the weather is going to be nice.

We do hope to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel in the heart of Switzerland.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Well, great location nearby the Central Station, lovely greetings by staffs, friendly gestures during breakfast, fast and prompt services, smiling concierge staffs, huge rooms facing the calm Lake Luzerne, .....all this made our stay at this majestic Palace Luzerne fantastic and pleasant indeed.

On our arrival, we were greeted well and attended promptly. We were tired and the understanding staffs were fast in getting us to our rooms and chatting away with great smiles. All 3 rooms was spacious with difference in arrangement and the bathrooms were big with bath robes for all.

The breakfast was variety and fresh. Same breakfast everyday but we were ok with the spread. It was short walk to the cruise, museum transport. The location along the lake was great as we enjoyed our daily walk to places of interest along this beautiful lake.

Dinner setting in front of their lovely garden was amazing.

This hotel has the inner beauty and it was carried very well by its staffs. A truly Palace stay with great service and elegance setting.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LOGESHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear LOGESHAN

Thank you very much for your great feedback on the site of TripAdvisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked the "inner beauty" of our Grand Hotel, which was built in 1906.

Did you know that the upper two floors of the hotel used to be rooms for the staff? Due to security reasons, all guests requested the lowest floors for their overnight in the mid of the 20th century, and the team members were privileged to have the magnificent view from the floors 5 & 6 over Lake Lucerne.

This is only one of the anecdotes of the PALACE LUZERN, and there are many more that we like to share with you.

We do hope to spoil you again here in our beautiful hotel and we are sending you the best greetings from Central Switzerland.

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was the final night of a four week tour all over Europe. We stayed one night and it was the prefect end to an amazing vacation. We booked thru Amex Fine Hotels and were upgraded to an amazing recently renovated deluxe junior suite with a spectacular view of the Lake. The weather was a bit drippy....not raining, but a light mist and low clouds that gave the scenery an almost surreal look. Of course, it would have been nicer to have had a sunny day with unobstructed views, but the views we did have were still spectacular. Service at the front desk upon check-in and later with some arrangements with the concierge were impeccable. Immediately upon our arrival we were greeted by very friendly and efficient gentlemen who took care of our bags and parked our car.....parking is free. The room as I stated had an amazing view and great balcony. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large, yet cozy in its décor. TONS of closet space which would definitely be useful for a longer stay. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi. We had a lovely walk into the old part of Luzern and enjoyed a fabulous afternoon just strolling and sampling delicious coffee overlooking the bridge. For dinner we ate in the hotel with a $100 credit at Jaspers. The service was outstanding and we had an excellent meal with a table at the window looking out on to the beautiful landscape. Before dinner we enjoyed cocktails in the bar and the gentleman bartender could not have been more friendly and accommodating, not to mention his mixology talents. We were VERY happy with our stay here and would definitely stay here again, but next time it will be for much longer. Thanks you to all the staff for offering such helpful and genuinely friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrybeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear hrybeyr

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that our team members provided you with a great service throughout your stay with us at the PALACE LUZERN. "Pure joy of life" is our philosophy and we life this motto every single day in every department, it is a pleasure to work with so many talented people here at this beautiful hotel, which has a history of more than 108 years.

Our location directly on the shores of Lake Lucerne is unique and even though the weather at the moment is really bad, there are spectacular weather formations you can observe.

We are looking forward to your next stay, to provide you again a home far away from home!

Best regards from the whole team of the PALACE LUZERN
Raymond Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in July at the end of a three week European trip. We booked through Amex Platnum and received an upgrade to a huge room with a lake view and small balcony. The room and bath were not the new and modern ones on the website, but were very large and functional. This was the only hotel of our trip that charged (43 ch, I think) for our son.
It rained during the time we were there and perhaps that is why everything smelled like lake...not fresh lovely summer days by the lake, but wet stale urine sort of smelling lake...the smell was present all through the hotel and in our room. Maybe it was just the weather, but it was a turnoff for me.
The staff was lovely and helpful. I have no complaints. Room service was accurate and very good...I had delicious Swiss char which the refer to simply as char in Switzerland. The palace exterior was truly stunning. Location was good, but no better or worse than the surrounding choices...just no wow factor for me and therefore we would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shaumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear shaumie

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at the PALACE LUZERN and to provide an upgrade for your family.

Our location directly at the shores of Lake Lucerne is spectacular, as you are close to the city centre, but you do not have the busy streets between the hotel and the lake.

We are very sorry for that smell that you have experienced during the rain. At the moment it gets very humid all over Switzerland due to the high amount of rain in this period of the year, which is very unusual for us. The fragrances we use in the whole hotel may not have been strong enough for such humid temperatures.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a lovely summer day, when you can smell the lovely colourful flowers in our lobby and sip a coffee while enjoying the view of the blue lake in front of you.

Best regards
Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We held a private event at the hotel, and also stayed for 1 night in the junior corner suite. The best thing about this hotel, no doubt, is the view: from our room, we got a wonderful, unblocked view of Mount Pilatus with Lake Lucerne right in front. The hotel is also just minutes walk from the city centre, train station, the Museum of Transportation, and the park. The food is also pretty good (we had breakfast, apero and dinner there). So what's not-so-good about the hotel? Some of the rooms (like the one we were in) look in need of a refurbishment. But the thing that we felt could be improved the most was the service, which was slow at times and not really what you would expect from a 5-star hotel, and also some of the service staff look like they need some training. While we love the view from the hotel, we do think the hotel rate is a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelLuzern, F&B Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kim A

We thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. We are keen to learn from the feedback from our guests and we take it very seriously and try to improve what we receive as a feedback.

We apologize for the service, which you described slow and with a lack of training. We are getting close to high season and we do have a lot of new team members, and therefore we do our best to train them every day that we can maintain our high standard of service. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but I can assure you, that I will take care of it myself.

We do hope that you will be our guests again to convince you of our high sevice level.

Best regards from the PALACE LUZERN
Christina Bruhin
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing