We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful refuge”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was a refreshing surprise. We had been hopping from town to town in Switzerland and had been staying in hotels with more of a historical feel, which is usually my preference. The Hermitage is a modern hotel with large rooms and a clean, crisp style of decorating. The simple lines with white color scheme is up to date on all the modern technologies. The rooms have stunning views of lake lucern and mystical mount Pilatas across the lake. There are clean, private beach areas to lay out and enjoy the beauty. The only thing that I may have preferred it is not in the main tourist area, but there is a bus that drops you there. The large rooms, professional staff and overall quality of this hotel make up for any inconvenience with having to take the bus 3-4 minutes down the road. There is also the boat (dock directly in front of the hotel) that can drop you anywhere around the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbyray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear guest

Wow, thank you very much for this great feedback and the fantastic rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to welcome you again soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    245
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
204
413
35
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay at the Seehotel was fantastic. Our room was large, had a lake view, clean and very modern and funky. Same goes for the bathroom. I loved the room.

The breakfast was also quite good, but very expensive (as is everything in Switzerland). If I stayed here again (which I would love to do!) I probably wouldn't get the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear guest

How nice to hear that you loved your stay at the Hermitage!

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We would be very pleased to welcome you again soon!

Best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel was so beautiful!! The view of the lake is breathtaking, it's just romantic. Our room was beautiful, very large and clean, it had a really nice balcony overlooking the lake. We even enjoyed a nice bath as we enjoyed the lake view... Super romantic! It IS an expensive hotel, so we didn't have dinner there we went into town instead-Luzern is a VERY expensive city. Beautiful design and a bus stop conveniently located close by. Staff was super nice, pleasant and helpful. Great choice! We stayed here for two nights and booked through booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besitos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for this great feedback and your super recommendation.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were a little hesitant about booking this hotel based on some online reviews we read before our trip. Any concerns went out the window when we walked into the lobby. It was a beautiful autumn day and the windows in the lobby/bar were open to the lake.

Our room was located in the new building and a bit confusing to get to it (walk through the lobby and bar and down a hallway to elevators). It was amazing- the wall facing the lake was made of glass and had sliding doors one can open to the lake and Mount Pilatus. The view is magnificent. The bathroom/tub/shower are set up in a studio style format, almost within the bedroom. Needless to say, we booked an extra night immediately.

We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was superb but a bit pricey. Still, it was more convenient than taking the bus back to Luzern, which is about a 20 minute walk and a 10 minute bus ride.

Excellent hotel, well worth the price and distance from city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your good feedback and the recommendation.

We are very lucky to hear that you were happy while staying with us!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Pro:
Beautiful setting on the shore of Lake Luzern
Lake Luzern direct access for swimming, sun bathing, boat marina.
Water front restaurants, excellent food.
All rooms are waterfront with beuatiful views of the lake and the mountains.
Nicely decorated, good size, newly refurbished rooms.
Provide free mountain bike rentals.
Nice spa area.
Good Service

Cons:
No airconditioning, at times can get hot in the afternoon in the summer months
Expensive like the rest of Switzerland
Charge you for car parking although in the suburbs
3 miles from downtown Luzern.. a little too far for walking

Room Tip: Buy the 2 day package with dinner, the deal is unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavSatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your good rating.

It would be a pleasure for us to have you among our guest again in the future.

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lake side.

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked a two night package on the hotel website. It included a deluxe room for 2 nights, a four course 'wine and dine' dinner on the arrival day, free entry to Grand Casino Luzern with 20 Swiss franc chips, a free drink coupon per person at the bar and the Luzern Visitor Card. The Meal was one of the most memorable meals we have had till date. The rooms are contemporary, well designed and spacious and the have one of the most amazing views of Lake Luzern. Most of the hotel staff was warm and very helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute bus/taxi ride from most attractions and the City center, but makes up for it with a beautiful property with breathtaking views of the Lake. Its the place to be for a nice, relaxing break!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajivk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for this very positive feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us that much and hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked our package with myswitzerland.com. It was for two nights with breakfast, one four course dinner with good wines with each course, and a 2 hour cruise on a partyboat. The bus 24 stops right outside the hotel but takes 10-15 minutes to come and also about that time to reach Lucern central train station. The walk from Meggen Zentrum train station is not advisable unless it is good weather and you are planning a leisurely 45-min walk around the lake (Wanderweg) to the hotel. Taxis are expensive. The highlight of the trip was the 2 hour boat trip, where you man your own small boat (weather permitting since it is a light boat). The staff thoughtfully prepare some salmon/prawn cocktails, sundried tomatoes and ham appetizers with champagne, water, ice and clean towels. This is fun for special occasions such as for us on our honeymoon. The boat is simple to man (it goes forwards and backwards) there are no sails... Service is good, rooms are big, views from the restaurant at breakfast and dinner always relaxing, and birds fly in and out if you leave breadcrumbs. Idyllic setting and 4 star, there is no pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We are very happy that you could relax when staying with us and that you enjoyed the party boat trip, the dinner and the room.

Looking forward to welcoming you again we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
931 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing