We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel let down by no air conditioning in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down by no air conditioning in room”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Spent two nights on the 5th floor in the new wing. Firstly, the rooms are excellent, spacious, comfortable, modern and the view over the lake is sublime. The big let down is no air conditioning in the rooms, they get very hot during the day and when raining, if the doors are open the room gets wet. At night if you have the doors open insects come in, in our case serious infestation around lights, when we asked reception for some spray they offered us a fly swatter ! we had to use wet towels to remove the bugs. Fly screens, spray or air conditioning would have alleviated this. All very surprising for a near new hotel extension.
The hotel is a distance from town, however the food at the hotel is excellent and worth a try.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on third floor in new wing near lift (it is the main lift used to access all other floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliotcaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your rating and constructive feedback!

We have forwarded your inputs to the responsible departments and will for sure discuss the matters.

It is also nice to hear to you also enjoyed your stay with us and we would be pleased to welcome you again.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    237
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
195
399
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
306 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

we slept only one night in this hotel. Our stay was very enjoyable. The room was big and well furnished. The view was fantastic. the hotel has a private sunbathing lawn and direct access to the lake. We liked the place so much that we decided not to go to visit the city centre but spend the afternoon at the hotel.
The restaurant was good but not at the same level as the rest. The food was good but not great and it was quite expensive, considering what we ate. However, restaurants are generally expensive in Luzern so probably it was "fairly" priced.
I would defintively go back to this hotel and I do not return to the same place very often!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viridiana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your great rating and your feedback!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Two things stand out about this hotel, its location right by the lake with a breathless view, and the friendliness of its staff. What we did not like about the hotel was the following:

1- No AC in the rooms, which can be a problem in the summer as the rooms are facing afternoon sun for long hours and as a result they get hot at night. You can open the windows for sure, but then you are inviting in all sorts of flying insects.

2- There is no gym! There is a very tiny room with a bench and one machine I believe. Nothing that you can call gym.

3- The restaurants at the hotel seem to cater more to non-guests than the guests. You need to reserve tables in advance for the ones with the better views. You cannot pick your table really.

Everything else was good about the hotel and overall we actually enjoyed our stay. We particularly liked the fact that they have bikes on offer for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback!

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have forwarded your inputs to the responsible departments!

We would be pleased to welcome you again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This hotel was a refreshing surprise. We had been hopping from town to town in Switzerland and had been staying in hotels with more of a historical feel, which is usually my preference. The Hermitage is a modern hotel with large rooms and a clean, crisp style of decorating. The simple lines with white color scheme is up to date on all the modern technologies. The rooms have stunning views of lake lucern and mystical mount Pilatas across the lake. There are clean, private beach areas to lay out and enjoy the beauty. The only thing that I may have preferred it is not in the main tourist area, but there is a bus that drops you there. The large rooms, professional staff and overall quality of this hotel make up for any inconvenience with having to take the bus 3-4 minutes down the road. There is also the boat (dock directly in front of the hotel) that can drop you anywhere around the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbyray6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear guest

Wow, thank you very much for this great feedback and the fantastic rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to welcome you again soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay at the Seehotel was fantastic. Our room was large, had a lake view, clean and very modern and funky. Same goes for the bathroom. I loved the room.

The breakfast was also quite good, but very expensive (as is everything in Switzerland). If I stayed here again (which I would love to do!) I probably wouldn't get the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear guest

How nice to hear that you loved your stay at the Hermitage!

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We would be very pleased to welcome you again soon!

Best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel was so beautiful!! The view of the lake is breathtaking, it's just romantic. Our room was beautiful, very large and clean, it had a really nice balcony overlooking the lake. We even enjoyed a nice bath as we enjoyed the lake view... Super romantic! It IS an expensive hotel, so we didn't have dinner there we went into town instead-Luzern is a VERY expensive city. Beautiful design and a bus stop conveniently located close by. Staff was super nice, pleasant and helpful. Great choice! We stayed here for two nights and booked through booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besitos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for this great feedback and your super recommendation.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were a little hesitant about booking this hotel based on some online reviews we read before our trip. Any concerns went out the window when we walked into the lobby. It was a beautiful autumn day and the windows in the lobby/bar were open to the lake.

Our room was located in the new building and a bit confusing to get to it (walk through the lobby and bar and down a hallway to elevators). It was amazing- the wall facing the lake was made of glass and had sliding doors one can open to the lake and Mount Pilatus. The view is magnificent. The bathroom/tub/shower are set up in a studio style format, almost within the bedroom. Needless to say, we booked an extra night immediately.

We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was superb but a bit pricey. Still, it was more convenient than taking the bus back to Luzern, which is about a 20 minute walk and a 10 minute bus ride.

Excellent hotel, well worth the price and distance from city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your good feedback and the recommendation.

We are very lucky to hear that you were happy while staying with us!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Lucerne

Your Hermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
854 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing