We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Price/Performance Hoteo in Luzern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel in good condition in both, the older and new hotel wings. Spaceous and comfortable rooms. All rooms with sea view. Quiet and bus station in front of the hotel. Bus takes you in 5 minutes to the downtown. Rich breakfast and nice Restaurant.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view on the lake of Lucern..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkundert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the good rating and the kind feedback!

We are really pleased to hear that you had a nice time staying with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in Lucerne for 4 days and stayed at the Hermitage (family of 4, two young kids). This was one of the few hotels where a suite was available so we didn't have to book two separate rooms (most hotels here allow only 3 people per room, so we would have had to book two rooms in most places - doesn't make sense with small children).

We got a large room in their new building looking out to the lake. The room had sliding doors with a iron railing in front. When the doors were open, we were directly on the outside, no need for a balcony! What a phenomenal view from the room!! Small lawn in front of our room, then the lake, and then Pilatus right in front, with another mountain range (not sure of the name) on the left. The main Lucerne downtown was on the right - we got breathtaking sunset pictures from this part of town right from our room! We really wanted to swim in the lake, but the water temperature was just a bit on the cold side.

Location - doesn't get any better!! Absolutely stunning views and slightly removed from the crowded part of Lucerne. Hotels in downtown had way too much traffic (yep, even in this small town, traffic was pretty crazy around downtown). I guess that was because of all the tourist buses stopping by on their way back from Pilatus or maybe Interlaken. Anyway, this hotel was quiet, removed from the hubbub, yet conveniently accessible by car and bus. Quick 10-minute bus ride to the main town. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel.

Rooms - Clean and spacious compared to most rooms around Europe. Our room had a king sized bed and a pullout sofa bed. Minibar, phone, spacious bathrooms, good amenities, no complaints. Power adapters were made available at our request - no charge. Free Wi-Fi. Only two issues: 1) They don't have irons, and don't even make them available. They ask that you use their cleaning service, CHF 7 for a pair of pants. Would have liked to see an iron and an ironing board in the room. 2) No air conditioning. The made fans available to us when we asked, and those were sufficient. But one day it was close to 90-degrees, and air conditioning would have been welcome. I wonder what they do for heating in the winter, but I'm sure they have it figured out. You might want to inquire in advance if you visit in the winter. Temperatures during our stay were 75-85 during the day, and around 55-60 at night. Humidity was low, so the high temps didn't feel as bad as they do in the tri-state area.

Hotel staff - very friendly and helpful in advising us of the best options to see the town and its neighboring attractions.

Fitness center - clearly this is not used at all! One lousy non-functioning treadmill along with an elliptical and a stationary bike. Basic stuff, but it was fine. Lucerne is just too pretty to be running indoors! If you're a runner, run outside from the hotel to downtown Lucerne by the lake. Early morning run at 6am with the rising sun and a light breeze - heavenly!

Restaurant - Decent buffet breakfast spread. We had breakfast here daily and dinner on one night. Food was decent, nothing great but not disappointing either. Food overall seemed expensive in Switzerland compared to the US. The restaurant does have a great seating arrangement towards the side of the lake. That alone makes it worthwhile eating here.

Parking - I think we paid around CHF 10 per day, not bad at all. The hotel has 3 different parking lots, we always found parking in the lost right by the hotel.

Bottom line - we loved the hotel because of its location and quality/size of the rooms. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Lucerne in the future.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for the lake view rooms in their new building, preferably on a higher floor! We were on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovetheOrient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

We are very delighted to receive your honest words as well as your good inputs.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Your Hermitage-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The family stayed here and it was very enjoyable. Restaurant, great food only takes a bit longer to serve your food but it is worthed. The rooms over looking the lake are memorable with a balcony to watch the sunset and beautiful quite lake. The walk to the town, 30 minutes, ans is downhill and very nice. The bus stops right in front of the hotel and it is a ten minutes ride. There is a grand casino on the way for those who want to spend some time playing card games (i.e. Texas Holdem). We went up a huge mountain call Pilatus and the view breath taking. You will not regret it. It was a 1 hour taxi to Zurich and 4 hours train to Paris.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Wow, what a great rating! Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to welcome you among our guest soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside!

Your Hermitage-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was easy to find and perfectly located on the lakeside with wonderful views across the water to the mountains. Parking was adjacent to the hotel entrance and the reception staff were very friendly and helpfull.
We were upgraded to a junior suite which was large and spacious with a huge double bed, large sliding doors leading onto a wide balcony overlooking the lake. The bathroom had his and hers wash basins, separate loo, large bath and shower. we also had a mini bar, coffee and tea making and a wide screen TV. The food was very good served by friendly staff. The breakfast was an extra 25sf each but good value overall. we used the local bus to take us into Lucerne and back again.. tickets organised by reception.

Room Tip: get upgraded to a junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to welcome you among our guest soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Lucerne and stayed at the Seehotel Hermitage for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was great, we had the most amazing view of Mt Pilatus and lake Lucerne from our room.
The no.24 bus came every 10mins during day time, so getting around was certainly not a problem! Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room itself was spotless and had everything we needed! Buffet breakfast was included every morning which was nice and the complimentary wine and dine menu was fantastic.

We very much enjoyed our stay, big thank you to the entire team who made our time in Lucerne so perfect. Money well spent!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tselam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guuest

Wow, what a great rating! Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and an unforgetable honeymoon at our hotel. We would be very delighted to welcome you among our guest soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside!

Your Hermitage-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Beuatiful position handy to town (by short, regular bus ride).

Walk along the Wanderweg to the nearby Schloss.

View was so good and environment so peaceful I spent the first day just sitting on the verandah looking across the lake to the magnificent mountains -a great location for contemplation!

Staff were excellent. Faultless. The other guests were a little corporate, but who cares? I wasn't there to socialise - Luzern itself can offer interaction if that is what you are after. I will go there again - that is a promise to myself.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest

Wow, what a great rating! Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to welcome you among our guest soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Hermitage with our 2 children. The staff are very friendly, kind and helpful. We appreciated the attention to little extras - such as fresh apples available freely in bowls around the hotel, the welcome drink, the provision of a town plan etc...

We had a fantastic 'wine and dine' meal in the restaurant - superb food, perfectly cooked and exquisitely presented accompanied by delicious well selected wines. The breakfasts were also splendid and very much appreciated by our children! especially the pancakes and fresh fruit!

The location of the hotel is great as you have access to the lake and superb views and yet you are only a 10 minute bus ride into Luzern - the bus stop is right outside the hotel - on the opposite side of the road to go into town.

We had a splendid view of Mt Pilatus and the lake from the modern building which is well designed with very comfortable beds. If your children are tall/big the pull out sofa is really only big enough for 1 child. We missed having a balcony to sit out on - available in the older building only - although the large French windows do open fully.

All in all - tons of things to do and a marvellous place to relax with great service and surroundings. We hope to return. Thank you to all at the Hermitage!

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view and are beautifully clean with good beds. If you want a balcony - ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your fantastic Feedback and your great rating!

We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and hope to welcome you among our guest soon again!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,144 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £125 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing