We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
729
300
67
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
300
67
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing minute bus ride lake lucerne nice view of the lake main building rooms are spacious transport museum excellent hotel town centre no air conditioning mini bar train station heritage mountains balcony switzerland chf
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are checking out tomorrow after a 3 night stay at the hotel. If you are traveling with kids and plan to spend quite a bit of time in the hotel, I am not sure if I would recommend booking here. If you are a business traveler or a couple, this hotel is may be a good fit. The lake views from the hotel are great. It is a typical big hotel, where one shouldn't expect warm and friendly reception, or personal attention by someone. What makes it worse is that we were coming from Murren, where our hosts at Hotel Alpenblick just spoiled us. Compared to that, this experience was twice as expensive and not quite worth.

The rooms have no AC, so if you are visiting in summer like us, be prepared. The room service for some reason keeps the room door open after cleaning, which makes the room extremely hot. The hotel did provide another table fan to cool things off.

At the end, when settling the bill, which was more than CHF 1300, I noticed an incorrect charge of CHF 6. the lady seemed hesitant in taking that off and asked me to ask my kids if they drank soda from mini bar. Just ridiculous for hotel to think I will cheat for CHF 6 on such a large bill.

Overall, I'd suggest this hotel for a romantic getaway for a couple - great location and very modern look. However for families, I'd stay away. The family room is just a large room - this was unlike every other place we have stayed (5 hotels so far on our 3 week trip), which provided a separate room or at least a partition. Additionally, there is nothing for the smaller kids at the hotel.

Room tip: No A/C. Lake views a great, but the rooms are sorta west facing so can get very hot in the afternoons in summer.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rahulsavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Family

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback about your stay with us.

We regret to hear that you where not quite satisfied as a family with our facilities and have noted your inputs how to improve our services. Certainly we will discuss this within our team.

But we are also happy to hear that you nevertheless had a good stay with us and could enjoy the view which is really amazing.

Kind regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked a room for a weekend directly on the hotel website. I searched a room for 4 adults getting as a result the offer for a 4 adults Family room. Generally hotel ask for the age of the children. Not the Seehotel Hermitage.....
When you deal with a 4 start superior hotel you trust it.....then you are in Switzerland, not in a country like Italy where you double check the information......

Surprise!!! the 4 adults room has a description that I didn't notice: " These rooms are twin or king size bedded and offer high-speed internet access, wifi, desk, a cosy sitting corner (the couch can be used as an extra bed for Maximum two kids up to 12 years".

When I entered the room I noticed a small bed where only an 8 years old kid would sleep.
I went to the reception desk to ask if they had given me the right room and a diligent receptionist tried to teach me to read the information on the website instead of solving the problem. Only after I began to get mad she came out with the solution of an extra bed at no cost.

After dinner (not at the hotel because I was not in the right mood) I found out that the extra bed was a small bed for a 6 years old kid. I wondered "Swiss Gnomes have stayed in this hotel?"

Result: one of the kid slept with us!!!

What you see from the window is magic....but that's not because of the hotel manager....that's mother nature.

The hotel is "Icy",,,,not a piece of forniture to warm up the ambience.....no air conditioning during the day....only a lousy fan.....obviously when you are disappointed you criticize everything....so I do stop it now.

Luzern is a wonderful town.....it deserves services at the level of its reputation.....which is not the case for my experience.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanieleP478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much that you have taken your time for giving us a feedback about your stay with us, because the inputs of our guests are extremely important for us to improve our services.

We really regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the services and facilities we provide for families with children. Concerning the description of the Family room we are pleased to inform you that in the meantime we have changed it so this misunderstanding should not happen again.

Nevertheless we are happy to hear that you could at least enjoy the magic at our hotel and that you liked the city Lucerne!

Kind regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel had fantastic room which had the best toiletries and the coffee and tea. The service was excellent and the view from the hotel rooms is breathtaking. The breakfast was very satisfying with a great variety of choices.

Room tip: The top floor rooms had a great view.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guest

Wow, what a great feedback and super rating! Thank you very much!

We are so happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us totally and really hope to welcome you back soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from sunny Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel in good condition in both, the older and new hotel wings. Spaceous and comfortable rooms. All rooms with sea view. Quiet and bus station in front of the hotel. Bus takes you in 5 minutes to the downtown. Rich breakfast and nice Restaurant.

Room tip: higher floors have better view on the lake of Lucern..
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkundert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the good rating and the kind feedback!

We are really pleased to hear that you had a nice time staying with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in Lucerne for 4 days and stayed at the Hermitage (family of 4, two young kids). This was one of the few hotels where a suite was available so we didn't have to book two separate rooms (most hotels here allow only 3 people per room, so we would have had to book two rooms in most places - doesn't make sense with small children).

We got a large room in their new building looking out to the lake. The room had sliding doors with a iron railing in front. When the doors were open, we were directly on the outside, no need for a balcony! What a phenomenal view from the room!! Small lawn in front of our room, then the lake, and then Pilatus right in front, with another mountain range (not sure of the name) on the left. The main Lucerne downtown was on the right - we got breathtaking sunset pictures from this part of town right from our room! We really wanted to swim in the lake, but the water temperature was just a bit on the cold side.

Location - doesn't get any better!! Absolutely stunning views and slightly removed from the crowded part of Lucerne. Hotels in downtown had way too much traffic (yep, even in this small town, traffic was pretty crazy around downtown). I guess that was because of all the tourist buses stopping by on their way back from Pilatus or maybe Interlaken. Anyway, this hotel was quiet, removed from the hubbub, yet conveniently accessible by car and bus. Quick 10-minute bus ride to the main town. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel.

Rooms - Clean and spacious compared to most rooms around Europe. Our room had a king sized bed and a pullout sofa bed. Minibar, phone, spacious bathrooms, good amenities, no complaints. Power adapters were made available at our request - no charge. Free Wi-Fi. Only two issues: 1) They don't have irons, and don't even make them available. They ask that you use their cleaning service, CHF 7 for a pair of pants. Would have liked to see an iron and an ironing board in the room. 2) No air conditioning. The made fans available to us when we asked, and those were sufficient. But one day it was close to 90-degrees, and air conditioning would have been welcome. I wonder what they do for heating in the winter, but I'm sure they have it figured out. You might want to inquire in advance if you visit in the winter. Temperatures during our stay were 75-85 during the day, and around 55-60 at night. Humidity was low, so the high temps didn't feel as bad as they do in the tri-state area.

Hotel staff - very friendly and helpful in advising us of the best options to see the town and its neighboring attractions.

Fitness center - clearly this is not used at all! One lousy non-functioning treadmill along with an elliptical and a stationary bike. Basic stuff, but it was fine. Lucerne is just too pretty to be running indoors! If you're a runner, run outside from the hotel to downtown Lucerne by the lake. Early morning run at 6am with the rising sun and a light breeze - heavenly!

Restaurant - Decent buffet breakfast spread. We had breakfast here daily and dinner on one night. Food was decent, nothing great but not disappointing either. Food overall seemed expensive in Switzerland compared to the US. The restaurant does have a great seating arrangement towards the side of the lake. That alone makes it worthwhile eating here.

Parking - I think we paid around CHF 10 per day, not bad at all. The hotel has 3 different parking lots, we always found parking in the lost right by the hotel.

Bottom line - we loved the hotel because of its location and quality/size of the rooms. We would definitely stay here again if we were to visit Lucerne in the future.

Room tip: 1. Ask for the lake view rooms in their new building, preferably on a higher floor! We were on the second floor, but floors 3-5 would be much better. 2. When checking out, they ask if you want to be charged in CHF or USD. ALWAYS choose CHF. This is no fault of the hotel's. The exchange rate their bank charges is at least 10% higher, if not more, compared to what your credit card company will charge. This is true not just for the hotel, but for all places you use your credit card here - always say you want to pay in CHF.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freeXspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Front Office Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

We are very delighted to receive your honest words as well as your good inputs.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Your Hermitage-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews