We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking view of Mt. Pilatus yet near city center!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Mt. Pilatus yet near city center!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you wish to have some peace and quiet, with a great view of Mt. Pilatus and yet still strategically located close to city center, Seehotel Hermitage is a very good choice. Most if not all rooms are facing lakeside view. Staying at the main building has the balcony advantage. Rooms are spacious,beds are comfy, amenities top-notch. To top it off, they also offer a generous breakfast and a delightful dinner at their highly-rated restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose main building if you want to get balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickAdvisor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest

Wow, thank you so much for this great feedback and the super rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us and would be pleased to welcome you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    235
    46
    19
    8
See reviews for
191
395
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Family of 4 (2 Adults + 2 Kids), we stayed here for 3 nights. Loved the view from our room of the lake and the Alps.There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which is well served and connects you quickly to other places in Lucerne (train station 10 mts, transport museum 5 mts). Sofa bed for kids was slightly small for two kids, bathrooms had no conditioner and was not available on request, room has a table fan only but no air conditioning.
Staff was excellent both in terms of attitude and speed of service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surpriseanddelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your good rating and the kind feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us and also thank you for your inputs which we will certainly discuss within the team.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again with us. In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We just completed a 3 night stay at this great hotel. A nice room in the older, original building. The hotel is located a short way out of town but the bus every 15 minutes makes it easy to get into the city and back.
The only criticism I have is the incredibly slow service at the restaurant on the night we had dinner there. Two hours to order, and receive our set menu dinner. We went into town for our next two dinners!
The staff are efficient, and I would certainly be happy to stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and the good rating!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and regret the experience you have made at our restaurant which is certainly not our standard.

We would be pleased to have you again among our guests soon and send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This wasn't our first choice, but in Lucerne during some event meant a lot of hotels were fully booked. We're glad we ended up here.

The Hermitage is a little out of town, but that brings some advantages: it is quiet, parking was easy and not expensive, and the hotel is right on a beautiful stretch of the lake. The bus stop is at the door, and it is a ten minute or so ride into town. The staff sell you tickets and are very helpful.

The decor is minimalist - our preference. It is very modern and smoke-free. Windows slide right open for fabulous lake views. Rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. The apples in bowls in the halls are a nice touch, and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guests

Wow, what a great feedback and fantastiv rating! Thank you so much!

It is really nice to hear that you had such a good time with us and we would be happy to welcome you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are checking out tomorrow after a 3 night stay at the hotel. If you are traveling with kids and plan to spend quite a bit of time in the hotel, I am not sure if I would recommend booking here. If you are a business traveler or a couple, this hotel is may be a good fit. The lake views from the hotel are great. It is a typical big hotel, where one shouldn't expect warm and friendly reception, or personal attention by someone. What makes it worse is that we were coming from Murren, where our hosts at Hotel Alpenblick just spoiled us. Compared to that, this experience was twice as expensive and not quite worth.

The rooms have no AC, so if you are visiting in summer like us, be prepared. The room service for some reason keeps the room door open after cleaning, which makes the room extremely hot. The hotel did provide another table fan to cool things off.

At the end, when settling the bill, which was more than CHF 1300, I noticed an incorrect charge of CHF 6. the lady seemed hesitant in taking that off and asked me to ask my kids if they drank soda from mini bar. Just ridiculous for hotel to think I will cheat for CHF 6 on such a large bill.

Overall, I'd suggest this hotel for a romantic getaway for a couple - great location and very modern look. However for families, I'd stay away. The family room is just a large room - this was unlike every other place we have stayed (5 hotels so far on our 3 week trip), which provided a separate room or at least a partition. Additionally, there is nothing for the smaller kids at the hotel.

Room Tip: No A/C. Lake views a great, but the rooms are sorta west facing so can get very hot in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulsavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Family

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback about your stay with us.

We regret to hear that you where not quite satisfied as a family with our facilities and have noted your inputs how to improve our services. Certainly we will discuss this within our team.

But we are also happy to hear that you nevertheless had a good stay with us and could enjoy the view which is really amazing.

Kind regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked a room for a weekend directly on the hotel website. I searched a room for 4 adults getting as a result the offer for a 4 adults Family room. Generally hotel ask for the age of the children. Not the Seehotel Hermitage.....
When you deal with a 4 start superior hotel you trust it.....then you are in Switzerland, not in a country like Italy where you double check the information......

Surprise!!! the 4 adults room has a description that I didn't notice: " These rooms are twin or king size bedded and offer high-speed internet access, wifi, desk, a cosy sitting corner (the couch can be used as an extra bed for Maximum two kids up to 12 years".

When I entered the room I noticed a small bed where only an 8 years old kid would sleep.
I went to the reception desk to ask if they had given me the right room and a diligent receptionist tried to teach me to read the information on the website instead of solving the problem. Only after I began to get mad she came out with the solution of an extra bed at no cost.

After dinner (not at the hotel because I was not in the right mood) I found out that the extra bed was a small bed for a 6 years old kid. I wondered "Swiss Gnomes have stayed in this hotel?"

Result: one of the kid slept with us!!!

What you see from the window is magic....but that's not because of the hotel manager....that's mother nature.

The hotel is "Icy",,,,not a piece of forniture to warm up the ambience.....no air conditioning during the day....only a lousy fan.....obviously when you are disappointed you criticize everything....so I do stop it now.

Luzern is a wonderful town.....it deserves services at the level of its reputation.....which is not the case for my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much that you have taken your time for giving us a feedback about your stay with us, because the inputs of our guests are extremely important for us to improve our services.

We really regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the services and facilities we provide for families with children. Concerning the description of the Family room we are pleased to inform you that in the meantime we have changed it so this misunderstanding should not happen again.

Nevertheless we are happy to hear that you could at least enjoy the magic at our hotel and that you liked the city Lucerne!

Kind regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel had fantastic room which had the best toiletries and the coffee and tea. The service was excellent and the view from the hotel rooms is breathtaking. The breakfast was very satisfying with a great variety of choices.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest

Wow, what a great feedback and super rating! Thank you very much!

We are so happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay with us totally and really hope to welcome you back soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from sunny Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Property: Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing