We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 3 days at this marvellous hotel! It's so relaxing directly on the lakeshore. You can swim in clean Vierwaldstätter-Lake and you have innumerable facilities right on the beach (sauna, gym ect. and clean towels as much as you think you need). The quality and the presentation of the food is stunning; the rooms are spacious and fascinating with all kept in white.
You feel spoiled and happy with the generosity and hospitality you experience.
When you are a fan of hiking, you find pleasant and challenging tours without driving much. If you want to go sightseeing and shop then a public bus stops in front of the hotel and brings you within 1/4 of an hour to the city centre of quaint Lucerne. Therefore, our advise is Go and enjoy what is offered to you.

Room Tip: all rooms are overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear guest

Wow, thank you so much for this very good feedback and the fantastic rating!

We are really pleased to hear that you had such a great time staying with us and would be happy to welcome you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The first impression of the hotel was positive, but no air conditioning in a new and pricey hotel surprised me and made for an uncomfortable night. The design was beautiful, but not handy. The sliding bathroom door was so crooked we couldn't open it once it was closed so we had to leave it open. We opted for the very expensive but beautiful dinner buffet on the lake, although when it started to rain, we were cut short of the grill part of the mail, but after a cold up of coffee we received of course the full bill.
The lake however is beautiful, and quite accessible from the hotel. Beds were good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof4BatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest

We thank that you have taken your time to give us a feedback for your stay with us, because the inputs of our guests are very important to us.

We regret to hear that not everything met your expectations and will discuss your Situation within our team to improve our services. Nevertheless we are happy that you also could enjoy your stay and would be pleased to welcome you again.

In the meantime we send you our best regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you wish to have some peace and quiet, with a great view of Mt. Pilatus and yet still strategically located close to city center, Seehotel Hermitage is a very good choice. Most if not all rooms are facing lakeside view. Staying at the main building has the balcony advantage. Rooms are spacious,beds are comfy, amenities top-notch. To top it off, they also offer a generous breakfast and a delightful dinner at their highly-rated restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose main building if you want to get balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChickAdvisor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest

Wow, thank you so much for this great feedback and the super rating!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice time with us and would be pleased to welcome you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Family of 4 (2 Adults + 2 Kids), we stayed here for 3 nights. Loved the view from our room of the lake and the Alps.There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which is well served and connects you quickly to other places in Lucerne (train station 10 mts, transport museum 5 mts). Sofa bed for kids was slightly small for two kids, bathrooms had no conditioner and was not available on request, room has a table fan only but no air conditioning.
Staff was excellent both in terms of attitude and speed of service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Surpriseanddelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guests

Thank you very much for your good rating and the kind feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us and also thank you for your inputs which we will certainly discuss within the team.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again with us. In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just completed a 3 night stay at this great hotel. A nice room in the older, original building. The hotel is located a short way out of town but the bus every 15 minutes makes it easy to get into the city and back.
The only criticism I have is the incredibly slow service at the restaurant on the night we had dinner there. Two hours to order, and receive our set menu dinner. We went into town for our next two dinners!
The staff are efficient, and I would certainly be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank MikeT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and the good rating!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and regret the experience you have made at our restaurant which is certainly not our standard.

We would be pleased to have you again among our guests soon and send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This wasn't our first choice, but in Lucerne during some event meant a lot of hotels were fully booked. We're glad we ended up here.

The Hermitage is a little out of town, but that brings some advantages: it is quiet, parking was easy and not expensive, and the hotel is right on a beautiful stretch of the lake. The bus stop is at the door, and it is a ten minute or so ride into town. The staff sell you tickets and are very helpful.

The decor is minimalist - our preference. It is very modern and smoke-free. Windows slide right open for fabulous lake views. Rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. The apples in bowls in the halls are a nice touch, and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guests

Wow, what a great feedback and fantastiv rating! Thank you so much!

It is really nice to hear that you had such a good time with us and we would be happy to welcome you again hopefully soon!

In the meantime we send you our best regards from Lucerne!

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are checking out tomorrow after a 3 night stay at the hotel. If you are traveling with kids and plan to spend quite a bit of time in the hotel, I am not sure if I would recommend booking here. If you are a business traveler or a couple, this hotel is may be a good fit. The lake views from the hotel are great. It is a typical big hotel, where one shouldn't expect warm and friendly reception, or personal attention by someone. What makes it worse is that we were coming from Murren, where our hosts at Hotel Alpenblick just spoiled us. Compared to that, this experience was twice as expensive and not quite worth.

The rooms have no AC, so if you are visiting in summer like us, be prepared. The room service for some reason keeps the room door open after cleaning, which makes the room extremely hot. The hotel did provide another table fan to cool things off.

At the end, when settling the bill, which was more than CHF 1300, I noticed an incorrect charge of CHF 6. the lady seemed hesitant in taking that off and asked me to ask my kids if they drank soda from mini bar. Just ridiculous for hotel to think I will cheat for CHF 6 on such a large bill.

Overall, I'd suggest this hotel for a romantic getaway for a couple - great location and very modern look. However for families, I'd stay away. The family room is just a large room - this was unlike every other place we have stayed (5 hotels so far on our 3 week trip), which provided a separate room or at least a partition. Additionally, there is nothing for the smaller kids at the hotel.

Room Tip: No A/C. Lake views a great, but the rooms are sorta west facing so can get very hot in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rahulsavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja P, Guest Relations Manager at Seehotel Hermitage Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Family

Thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback about your stay with us.

We regret to hear that you where not quite satisfied as a family with our facilities and have noted your inputs how to improve our services. Certainly we will discuss this within our team.

But we are also happy to hear that you nevertheless had a good stay with us and could enjoy the view which is really amazing.

Kind regards from the lakeside

Your Hermitage team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
947 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,012 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Hermitage Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Hermitage Luzern

Address: Seeburgstrasse 72, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £122 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seehotel Hermitage Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seehotel Hermitage Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing