We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and spacious designer rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Coming from a hiking tour, we were still in our sports dress, when asking for a room at the reception. The receptionist was extremely friendly and very professional. She gave us a very good rate and a free up grade, as the hotel was not full. The Hotel is few minutes away from the Central station, the lake and the old city, which is very convenient when visiting this beautiful city. The rooms are spacious with painted ceilings, ours was showing Casanova, filmed by Frederico Fellini. The bedding was very comfortable, nice crisp linnen, spacious bathroom with double sink. We did not like to take the shower in the bathtub, having to hold the shower in our hands, as it could not be properly fixed on the wall, whilst water was on. The litte glass partition was not wide enough, too much water on the floor after. A nice big rain shower would have been much better than this bath/shower combination. Surely a good place to stay if you do not like standard Hotels and you enjoy design.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a great little hotel find.

First and foremost, for those of you coming by train, this hotel is only three blocks from the hotel so it is a quick walk to the hotel!

Once you get to the hotel, you will be impressed. The lobby and restaurants are very nice!

The rooms themselves are very nice. They are themed after movies, which wasn't a big selling point to us. That being said, the rooms were very well setup and had everything you could want. In fact, despite being right near a clock tower that rings every hour you can not hear them due to the quality of the soundproofing!

The cleaning and turn-down service are also great. In fact, I had even left some dirty clothes on the floor when I came home for a quick change. Upon returning later on, I found all my dirty clothes in a laundry bag.

Great hotel and service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffsumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHEHOTEL, General Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015
Google Translation

Guten Tag Jeffsumm

Herzlichen Dank für Ihr tolles Feedback auf Tripadvisor. Es freut uns sehr, dass Ihnen der Aufentahlt bei uns gefallen hat. Wir würden uns sehr freune Sie auch in Zukunft wieder mal in Luzern begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen bis dahin alles Gute.

Freundliche Grüsse

P. Delea & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice, small, cool centrally located boutique hotel. The design of each room is individual and unusual. Good amenities. Easy to reach old town, the famous bridge and Rosengaren Sammlung. Only bad thing is that it is quite costly given that breakfast is not included.

Room Tip: Did not have pool or fitnessstudio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paffen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am really surprised to read so many good reviews of this place.
Perhaps I am the only one that paid a lot of money to stay here?

The place is fine..but it is not 5 star, and it is not worth the money they ask for.

The hotel boasts of being modern, but the furniture just looks cheap - and all the walls are all black. The black walls can get a bit depressing - there is not enough natural light to balance it out. The rooms seems to miss a certain aesthetic detail or purposeful design. They lack the interior nuances to make this a five star boutique hotel. The halls to the rooms are not inspiring either. Grey walls that are chipping and a black concrete floor. Very institutional.

The staff is nice and try really hard, but they seem understaffed. There were times when no one was manning the front desk because the one staff member was upstairs with another guest showing them the room. Not really a big deal, but for an expensive five star - it is a little disappointing.

I think if you can get this place for around 250USD do it..but right now they are charging 360 and up which is way, way, way, too pricey.

This hotel is basically a funky four star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallowmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHEHOTEL, General Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mallowmars

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell on your and our quality demanding. It is definitely not our standard that there is no one at the front desk and we make sure that this won`t happen anymore.
We are very gratful that we mostly get nice and satisfied comments but we of course accept that our design not complies with your taste. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Primo Delea&THE HOTEL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We transferred to this hotel after finding out that the one we had booked had no a/c. It was fabulous. Luxurious bedding. A huge soaking tub that was needed after long days of touring. Staff was perfect and very helpful. Couldn't have asked for more in this last accommodation after 2 weeks of touring. May be a little pricey but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: When you go to Lucerne be sure to ask if they have a/c. We did not know that was necessary because b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 957pat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. We had booked the Pent House Deluxe Junior Suit. The staff at the front desk was very helpful & courteous. The room was amazing, very well designed, had a huge terrace and a small kitchen net. The Chapel bridge was merely 5-7 min walk. Centrally located, merely a few min walk from the river side restaurants and pubs. Excellent breakfast and the Fusion cuisine restaurant at the hotel. A must stay whenever planning a trip to Lucern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sachdeva2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent two nights there and we really enjoy it. I travelled with my wife and son (2 years old) and we felt like home. All the staff was very kind with him and that made us feel good.
The rooms are very confortable.
I would really recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Rivers_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly The Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £143 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing