We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were initially hesitant because of the dark lobby when we arrived at night, but became comfortable at The Hotel, a renovated/repurposed building - very sleek and modern. We had a large room with a loft bathroom. Interesting design elements. While not right in the middle of the touristy sites of the lake/river, it is a short walk and adjacent to a relaxing park. The staff were all friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    76
    18
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
202
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Beautiful hotel and staff. Situated right on the lake and an easy stroll into the city,as well as being near to the tourist attractions. Breakfast buffet is wonderful and you are not rushed by the staff. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views are wonderful..we were lucky and were upgraded to the best suite in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeneneThurecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Was in luzerne for 2 nights wish we had booked for longer but next time I know where I am going back..
The hotels location was absolutely fantastic it was 2 blocks walking from the main train station which we used alot ..especially to go mount titlus ..and the boat right across from the train station which we used to go to mount pilatus. .All max a 5-10 min walk ..
The hotel was fantastic ..accommodated me and my kids perfectly. The staff was so helpful in every way possible ..special thanks to the staff. .food was amazing we had ordered our breakfast in our room and one last night we ordered dinner the sushi was to die for...delicious..
Thank u for making our stay so pleasurable we look forward to coming back u set our standards so high that our other hotel in Zurich seemed pretty sad...
I highly recommend this hotel and the corner Junior suite..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sobia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruetten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Close to the city centre it's the perfect hotel to stay in Lucerne. nice design, modern interior and very clean bathroom! It's maybe not the typical business hotel but I definitely would stay there again. It's also the perfect place to stay if you're in town for sightseeing, clubbing, concerts, restaurants ect. It's not a family hotel I would stay as the rooms are quite dark and they have a few sharp edges in it. also no carpet on the floor but I'm sure you could bring your kids if you like to.
Friendly staff at the reception, I didn't have dinner so I don't know about the restaurant team.

Room Tip: Each room's ceiling artwork corresponds to a movie who is in that specific room as a DVD. So che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Do yourselves a favour, don't bother coming near this hotel. The reception is the only organised place in this hotel. Breakfast service takes 25 mins before waitress drops by, no buffet system you have to wait for service. Only 2 ladies when there are more than 15 tables to serve, they are trying...no bread as thy have not made any... It's in oven at 9.30 am... Eat breakfast here if you have 2 hrs to spare and you are not hungry or diabetic,,,
Rooms are modern in design with a bare minimalistic design...
My travel agent said must stay as touted as one of the top new hotels. Hmmm new yes, top no...
Research before you stay here as 2 tables walked out as we waited for our breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTHEHOTEL, General Manager at The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Chytra

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I wish you had a better experience at THE HOTEL while your stay and we apologize that we could not meet your and our expectations.
There is nothing more important to us as to satisfy the desire of our guests and this is very conspicuous on the most of our guest responses. I don`t say we never do mistaks and i`m aware that things can go wrong. Specially during high saison. It`s possible there are waiting times at breakfast which we serve a la carte and not at a buffet but every guest inside clock works different. This system has proven itself and our guests relish it very much. That someone leaves the place without being served, that absolutely nerver happend and never will. To minimize mistaks, is our every day duty. We do our work with passion, pleasure, energy and heart. As we can not turn back the time, we take your comment as motivation to continue to satisfy our guest and one time hopefully you give us a other chance to prove so.

Best regards

Primo Delea & The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I love a good boutique hotel when it's done right...unfortunately this one isn't it. The rooms are themed by movies and the one we stayed in was a Junior Suite and had a murial of one of the love scenes on the ceiling, the whole room was painted black, kind of depressing after I while.I felt like I was in some Black Velvet scene and Dennis Hopper was going to come out with the creepy mask on. I was happy to get out of the dark hole and walk around in day light, it felt like a prison break.
I'm sure that this type of hotel would appeal to some, some people like that kind of "den of sin" kind of feel...me, meh...not so much.
And a note on the staff: I only saw a few people the entire time we were there and thought that at any minute the A team would be walking in to perk the place up but no...it felt like they were the college kids working on their summer break for extra cash and not very enthused about the job.
I don't see myself returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Coming from a hiking tour, we were still in our sports dress, when asking for a room at the reception. The receptionist was extremely friendly and very professional. She gave us a very good rate and a free up grade, as the hotel was not full. The Hotel is few minutes away from the Central station, the lake and the old city, which is very convenient when visiting this beautiful city. The rooms are spacious with painted ceilings, ours was showing Casanova, filmed by Frederico Fellini. The bedding was very comfortable, nice crisp linnen, spacious bathroom with double sink. We did not like to take the shower in the bathtub, having to hold the shower in our hands, as it could not be properly fixed on the wall, whilst water was on. The litte glass partition was not wide enough, too much water on the floor after. A nice big rain shower would have been much better than this bath/shower combination. Surely a good place to stay if you do not like standard Hotels and you enjoy design.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly The Hotel Luzern, Autograph Collection)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing