We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Ambassador!!!”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have just returned from another mini break to the Ambassador Hotel in Lucerne!Since my last visit the owner Mr Ferdinand Zhender has refurbished many rooms,mine included!He has introduced a large plasma Samsum television with loads of channels.New furniture throughout ,with new bedroom furniture.New mattress and duva.The whole feel is very bright and comforting and gave me a lovely sleep at night!New mini -bar ,etc etc!My meals in the Lapin Restaurant,attached to the Hotel were nothing short of fabulous!! I will hasten to return in the New Year!1

Room Tip: Try room 504 !!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Grüezi
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are so glad you had enjoyed your stay again in our hotel Ambassdor. Indeed the new rooms have a very good feed-back from our clients. It seems the new matress are so comfortable that some of our clients nearly miss the breakfast which ends at 11 am... We hope you will have a good festive season and will be able to welcome you again in 2014.
Warmes Regards from Lucerne
Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is located 2 bus stops away from the main station or say about 5-10 mins walk. The view from the hotel is not great as it is surrounded by buildings. If you looking out for a good view I would suggest a hotel near the lucerne lake. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was great. Rooms are fairly big with all modern amenities like Refrigerator, TV and heater. Overall a good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush_Deora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Grüezi
thank you for your Review. We will pass on the comments to our staff. Hopefully you can make it again to Lucerne and our Hotel.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After staying in a pit hotel in paris, I wasn't expecting great from my travel agent. The hotel was fantastic. Check in was smooth.The room was big and tidy. wifi is good. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful in giving the directions to the local attractions. Its just a 10 minute walk from the train station. We took a taxi from the station and it costed 15 euro for a 5 minute ride. For people travelling with more luggage there is a bus station at the exit of the train station. Travelling by bus is very easy to this hotel as the bus stop exactly at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_8198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Grüezi
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make our clients happy and it looks we had surprised you during your stay. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder & Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Excellent location for a stay in lovely Luzern, but would be pretty much at the bottom of places I have stayed. No air con. Just a tiny fan. The bed was pretty comfortable. Had a problem on our last night when a fuse or something blew and we had no power. The staff didn't seem to concerned. Had to shower in the dark the next morning. Breakfast not very good. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbit8025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Good day from Lucerne

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry about the fuse. The Fuse did went off due to some electical guest device plugged in next to the bath room. Sorry fo the time it took. The Tecnician came only on the next morning to fixit. We are also sorry there is no air condition in our hotel rooms, neverless in all of the rooms is a fan to provide at least some help.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our City and Hotel to convince you of a better service. With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights .. the rooms r very small , not very clean.. No A/c in the rooms The location is good .. easy walking distance to the lake , shops , lion monument . Staff was ok..
The breakfast was not good... very limited choices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruchika24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Grüezi
thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had expected AC. We do not have Air Condition in our Hotel Rooms. Is a matter of a few weeks during the summer, otherwise the european weather is doing fine in Switzerland. Please let us know what missed on the breakfast buffet. We serve the swiss breakfast. Anyway we hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion in Lucerne. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and Ambassador Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great location downtown near to all the sights of Lucerne. Simple, decent rooms. No air conditioning but windows that open fully. Very friendly staff (I engaged one woman on with the evening staff exclusively). Parking is not included but they can validate your ticket for the local municipal lot that makes it slightly cheaper per day. Parking lot is very close. Caters primarily to foreign travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newthink4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Owner at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Grüezi
thank you very much for comment and good review. We do apologize for not having air condition. We provide fans for every room to make it during the hottest weeks in the year more comfortable. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff - we do have some pearls working in the hotel (everybody trying hard to give the best Service).

Anyway we hope to be able to welcoming you on another occasion and wish you a nice summer.

with best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Ambassador for a weekend. The location is quite central: very close to dying lion monument.

We quite liked the service: the reception staff was very polite & helpful. I.e. they quickly arranged a private parking place for our bikes.

The room itself ( we chosen "garden view" - the court view, as we though it would be quieter than the street view) was ok, though there is no garden in the court, but instead the inner terrace at the floor level, so girls might not like it:) . The room has a basic set of amenities, and the bed was very soft and nice:) The bathroom is fine too.

My only complaint is lack of air conditioning: it was quite hot outside, and even with window opened we could not get much of fresh air. I guess, in more cold weather this won't be a problem

Room Tip: For a quieter room chose "garden room"
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Owner at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Grüezi
thank you very much for comment and nice review. I am sorry, we do not have air condition in our hotel; during your stay it was unusual hot - normally a case of 3-5 weeks in the year. I understand after a long bike ride you like to have a cool room. We hope to be able to welcoming you on another occasion and wish you a nice summer.

with best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#23 of 67 in Lucerne
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#33 of 67 in Lucerne
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zuerichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £105 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing