We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great location”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had booked Hotel de La Paix hotel but were upgraded to the next door sister hotel, Ambassador which we loved. The hotel is located steps away from the heart of all the action in Lucerne, however our room was very quiet. The only sounds we heard (which we enjoyed) were the sounds of singing birds and church bells. After a day of walking we enjoyed relaxing by the open window which overlooked the courtyard. The room was very clean, spacious and bright and the bed and the bedding were very comfortable. We appreciated the convenience of an in room safe and bar fridge. The breakfast room was modern and the food was very good. When we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who graciously offered to park our car in the adjacent parking lot. After a long day of driving, we graciously accepted his kind gesture. The location of this hotel is in a safe location and is excellent for seeing all the sights and restaurants . Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the courtyard is bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your good and nice comment. We appreciate your feedback. It was a pleasure to park your car. Lovely rent a car. The Car Parking just next to our Hotel is very convenient (even it cost 25.-- per 24 hours). We hope you had a nice and safe return. Hopefully we can welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    80
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
54
72
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our recent trip through Switzerland, the location was great and the ladies at the reception always had a welcoming and genuine smile about them. The Breakfast was good with very generous hours and they allowed us to use the coffee machine through the entire day. We were there just before the Easter weekend, and my child had the privilege of being loaded with Easter candy by the staff.
The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance, and if you need to take the bus, the stop was right at the entrance.
The room was very clean, but a tad tiny for the 3 of us (2 adults and a five year old). One star is missing here because, our reservation included an extra bed which was never provided (we had extra bed ordered in all the hotels during our Europe trip and all hotels had it setup when we checked-in) and even though we reminded them, there was no follow up. To be fair, we also did not follow up on it later as the room would have been packed with beds without any space to move at all if the extra bed was added. Other factors more than made up for this.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Grüezi

thank you for your review and comments. Thank you for mentioning about the reservation procedure. We will look into the process. We sell only triple room for 3 Persons so should be the travel agent. However there must be a lack of communication within our systems and reservation. We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and who knows, maybe see you on another occasion. With best regards

Ferdinand Zehnder
and The Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly & helpful, great location, rooms clean and a good size. Family room was great. And they gave us our welcome drink in our room when restaurant was busy (it was New Year's Eve). Above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewstaketime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Grüezi

Thank you very much for your comment. Our team works hard every day to provide the best service.
We are sorry for not been able to offer you a table in our Restaurant “Lapin” it was fully booked in New Years Eve. We hope you can taste our food in your next visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards from Lucerne

Ferdinand A. Zehnder and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and the location was perfect for all Lucerne sights. The rooms were spotless and all the young ladies on reception were awesome in every way. Two of us are gluten and dairy free and they went out of there way to accommodate us which was greatly appreciated. If planning a trip yo a Lucerne well please consider staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenRoslyn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Grüezi
Thank you very much for your nice Review. What a start in the new Year. We are working very hard on our product and are proud to receive so nice comments on behalf of our Team members.
We hope you had a good and safe return to your home country and wish you a very good year.
with best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have just returned from another mini break to the Ambassador Hotel in Lucerne!Since my last visit the owner Mr Ferdinand Zhender has refurbished many rooms,mine included!He has introduced a large plasma Samsum television with loads of channels.New furniture throughout ,with new bedroom furniture.New mattress and duva.The whole feel is very bright and comforting and gave me a lovely sleep at night!New mini -bar ,etc etc!My meals in the Lapin Restaurant,attached to the Hotel were nothing short of fabulous!! I will hasten to return in the New Year!1

Room Tip: Try room 504 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Grüezi
Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are so glad you had enjoyed your stay again in our hotel Ambassdor. Indeed the new rooms have a very good feed-back from our clients. It seems the new matress are so comfortable that some of our clients nearly miss the breakfast which ends at 11 am... We hope you will have a good festive season and will be able to welcome you again in 2014.
Warmes Regards from Lucerne
Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is located 2 bus stops away from the main station or say about 5-10 mins walk. The view from the hotel is not great as it is surrounded by buildings. If you looking out for a good view I would suggest a hotel near the lucerne lake. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was great. Rooms are fairly big with all modern amenities like Refrigerator, TV and heater. Overall a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush_Deora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Grüezi
thank you for your Review. We will pass on the comments to our staff. Hopefully you can make it again to Lucerne and our Hotel.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijayawada, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After staying in a pit hotel in paris, I wasn't expecting great from my travel agent. The hotel was fantastic. Check in was smooth.The room was big and tidy. wifi is good. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful in giving the directions to the local attractions. Its just a 10 minute walk from the train station. We took a taxi from the station and it costed 15 euro for a 5 minute ride. For people travelling with more luggage there is a bus station at the exit of the train station. Travelling by bus is very easy to this hotel as the bus stop exactly at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_8198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand Z, Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Grüezi
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make our clients happy and it looks we had surprised you during your stay. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder & Ambassador Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#31 of 68 in Lucerne
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Zuerichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing