We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is clean, friendly and beautifully located close to Lake Lucerne.many excellent restaurants and riverside cafés close by, in a maze of small streets and squares. Pedalo's on Lake Lucerne with fantastic panorama's. Typical buffet breakfast with plenty of variety, good value for a very expensive and exclusive location. Sat nav will get you to within 200 metres of the hotel, finding the exact location requires the expertise of very friendly locals.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    153
    67
    17
    11
See reviews for
41
166
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We'd just arrived from the Swiss Alps where the view from our room was the Eiger itself so I have to say we were disappointed with the room we got at this hotel which was more expensive than the one we had at the Alps. Not a fair comparison perhaps but let me elaborate. The hotel is located in the center of the old town which was not spectacularly special since we've visited many old towns across Europe. When we arrived in our car, we had to navigate the tight old town streets to get to the hotel and then realised the front door and lobby was located on a side street which cannot be accessed by car. The lady at the reception was courteous and helpful when we arrived. When we got to our room, it was large enough but there is no ventilation in the room which was stuffy so we opened the windows and lo and behold, our window is just opposite the hotel's Chinese restaurant, Li Tai Pei's kitchen which meant we could hear the clashing of wok and spatula, plates and bowls which is typical of a Chinese kitchen. And because building structures in old towns are generally quite close together, there was little cool air coming into our room. There is a ceiling fan but it was circulating the stuffy air within the room so we still had to keep the windows open. The noise, this time not from the kitchen but from the people and bells in the old town went on beyond midnight and I slept badly. We also had dinner at the hotel's Chinese restaurant Li Tai Pe because as a Chinese I needed to get my fix during this rather long trip across Europe. We were going to go to Song Pi Nong for Thai cuisine but it was closed that day. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, the staff were polite and quick to serve. The food was also good for European standards. We ordered the hot plate beef and chicken with black fungus along with 2 beers. 70 swiss francs we paid in total. Quite a hefty sum and mind you I have eaten in many Chinese restaurants across Europe. Still I only have myself to blame for needing an Asian meal. Breakfast at the hotel was so-so. We've stayed in many hotels during this trip and honestly the breakfast spread was one of the worst we had. Not inedible but a bit bleh! One upside though is that the hotel is within walking distance to some of the sights but that's about it. Try it but if I were you I'd try something else first.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Noisy street, small room, broken TV, poor service for breakfast which was anyway not well furnished. Finally, we took a breakfast in the city, as the one proposed in the hotel was so... inexisting. We do not recommend this hotel unless you do not find something else.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiTaiPeLuzern, Manager at Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr. Jon M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Having read your comments I would like to firstly apologise for the issues you had with our service for breakfast.
I was however disappointed to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your experience due to the points you mentioned.
I would like to assure you we do take all of our guest’s comments very seriously. Such a pity that you haven’t enjoyed our breakfast buffet as there is in addition to the standard breakfast variety also fresh fruit salad, four different kinds of swiss cheese,various fresh fruits, high quality fresh brewed italian coffee and so on. But of course, we understand, that the high prices in Switzerland often bring the expectations to compare it with the value of money you get in your home town.

We send you best regards from Lucerne

Andrea Mascarello
Hotelmanager
andrea.mascarello@sedimo.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific experience when we arrived, until we were told at 3am, after taking a shower, using the bathroom, and sleeping in the beds, that there was a mistake and we had to change rooms. We had to pack all of our luggage and move rooms in our pajamas after we were already sleeping. The guests were then given our used room to sleep in. Horrible experience for a mistake that was not our fault.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jentravelseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

we checked in to this hotel on the easter weekend and we were lucky to have the suite (502), which had a jacuzzi and a fireplace in the living room. Andrea at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. the location is just great, being in the old town of lucern with cafes and restaurants just down the walkway, and shopping areas right behind. this hotel was built in the year 1240, and is very well maintained. this hotel is a must stay.

Room Tip: we had the suite on the 5th floor, so we would suggest that for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggydogg_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiTaiPeLuzern, Manager at Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear doggydogg_01

I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz. Also thank you so very much for taking the time to leave this nice feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the service that we provided you with and hope we will be at the forefront of your mind when planning your next trip to Lucerne.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Andrea Mascarello
Hotelmanager
andrea.mascarello@sedimo.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The welcome at the reception is synonymous with the rest of it. Just fine. The rooms we had were small but very clean and one misses nothing. Breakfast was rich and impeccable. My friend left here phone charger behind. They called me within one hour we left to ask whether we would pick it up otherwise they would send it to any address we would indicate. That's top service! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiTaiPeLuzern, Manager at Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Biddy_10

Wir freuen uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in vollen Zügen geniessen konnten und bald wieder kommen möchten! Ihr grossartiges Lob bezüglich unseres Hotels und unserem Service zeigt uns, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind und motiviert uns, immer besser zu werden. Wir hoffen Sie sind mit einem Lächeln nach Hause zurückgekehrt und wir freuen uns, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns verwöhnen zu dürfen!

Freundliche Grüsse aus der Luzerner Altstadt

Andrea Mascarello
Leiterin Hotel
andrea.mascarello@sedimo.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent a night there last week, booking by phone the previous day. Lovely attendance on the phone, and same at the desk when I arrived. Speaking french or english. Had room 301, single, spacious bathroom, nice room, clean, airy, with a little terrace... could have a glimpse at the lake :-) Breakfast is included in the price, so is a 10% discount voucher for one of their two restaurants (Pizzeria and Chinese). Superbly located in the old town, 30 meters from the lake, super close to the old bridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiTaiPeLuzern, Assistant Manager at Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear florebf

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Hotel zum Weissen Kreuz! We are so delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful visit with us, and that our staff took such great care during you stay. . I have already shared your message with my team as a great reminder of what we do best.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Andrea Mascarello
Assistant Manager
andrea.mascarello@sedimo.ch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only

Property: Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only
Address: Furrengasse 19, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the river, in the historical City, close to railway Station, ship terminals,shopping area, lake and museum. our 20 boutiquestyle rooms and one suite are all non smoking rooms! The house was renovated in 2007 and redesigned in 2016. All our rooms have boxspring beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Weissen Kreuz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing