We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in this hotel: LOUD and room was worse than my college dorm room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in this hotel: LOUD and room was worse than my college dorm room”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We are not complainers generally but we were extremely disappointed in this hotel choice. We selected it for the last 2 nights of our Switzerland trip and I can't say enough what a let-down our stay was here, compared to all the wonderful places we had been staying in the country. When we checked in at 6:00pm, we learned the hotel had given the river view room that we had requested away b/c we were 'late'. Really? 6:00pm is late? We were floored and very irritated, and they did not offer any compensation whatsoever.

The room we were given was outfitted with crummy IKEA furniture, horrible lighting, the worst amenities I've evern seen in a hotel, and a very disappointing view over the alleyway and a yucky little Chinese food joint.

If you want a good night's sleep, DO NOT STAY HERE! There was no AC, which is not uncommon in Europe, but the temperatures reached 90 degrees most days and the hot, sticky nights were unbearable. Had to keep the windows open to try to catch what little breeze there was, but the noise from the streets below our window all night long made sleep almost impossible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciegirl_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    151
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
41
160
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Lovely little hotel right next to the river where all the restaurants are.

Rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, but a little bit under furnished.
There were only 4 coat hangers for example and no drawers by the bed to store things.
We were there in July, it was very warm and air con would have been nice.
But these are niggles, I'd definately not stop me going back

I'd recommend both the restaurant in the hotel - really nice pizza, and our favourite place, the Rathaus Brauerei next door where they brew their own beer and serve decent food.

Breakfast was good, standard continental selection.

Overall, I'd say for the budget its in a really good location, less than 5 minutes walk from the station and good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tw_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I think you get the idea! I loved this little gem hidden in the middle of the strip next to the river. The room was a bit small for two people but it was really trendy and well fitted. The staff were amazing and the restaurant just as great

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoomCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I stayed here 3 nights and I found the hotel to be exceptionally clean. I arrived to find fresh apples and a clean scent in the room. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was plentiful - fruits, cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, and yogurt. The lobby computer was a nice touch. Would recommend!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed for 3 nights while taking time off between business trips.

Excellent small hotel, with great location and chic, will defintely consider staying here again in the future.

P/s: check out the restaurant at this hotel, the pizza and pasta were fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Best point was its location - Unbeatable. Staff very friendly and helpful.
However, we got disappointed by the breakfast - being vegetarians and with a small kid. Should have been more elaborate for a hotel with a 3 star rating

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NS_chd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Clean & spacious room (for triple sharing) with 24hrs reception, free internet service and sumptuous breakfast. Hotel is accessible from the train station within 10mins walk and to other attraction places. However, the noise from the adjacent restaurants and carts rolling over the cobblestones may affect your sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannahs_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 68 in Lucerne
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz

Property: Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
Address: Furrengasse 19, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the river, in the historical City, close to railway Station, ship terminals,shopping area, lake and museum. our 20 boutiquestyle rooms and one suite are all non smoking rooms! The house was renovated in 2007 and redesigned in 2016. All our rooms have boxspring beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Weissen Kreuz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing