We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tourist Hotel
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a wonderful room, kind of small but perfect for us. There was a bedroom with a door and then another room with two twin beds and television. Nice, updated bathroom. Very clean. Close to the covered bridge and on a really nice street. Parking was down the street but that was not a problem since we were walking everywhere and really didn't need the car during our stay. There is an Italian restaurant nearby on the same street, can't remember the name but they were open late and the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaGOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Room: clean and quiet, comfortable beds.

Got upgraded to Deluxe rooms, room directly facing The river is slight smaller but offers the magnificent view of the snow capped mountains and the old wooden bridge.

Another room we have is on the side which is bigger and brighter and has nice tree view. Large clean bathroom and very powerful water for hot showers :)

Tips: asked for a corner room which has views of the river and is bright and big !!

free tea coffee water (self services) from the lounge where bfk was served and the bfk was good actually !! The fresh fruit muesli are sooo nice we are still talking about it !

Location: very close (5 mins walk) to the old town. train station is not that far, about 15 mins walk, Our 70+ y/o mums each with a full on luggage Managed it fine .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in October at the end of our 9 days in Switzerland Our first impression of the hotel from the outside was not good, but don't be put off by this. The staff in reception were friendly and helpful. Our twin share room had been refurbished, very clean with the most comfortable beds we had experienced in Switzerland. There was plenty of room for our cases and we had a balcony with a side view of the river. Our bathroom was spotless, with all amenities necessary for our stay. The hotel is very convenient to the train station, about 10 minutes walk, and in the old part of Lucerne Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would definitely stay there again, and consider it good value for money in Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller6519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a great hotel within easy walking distance of all the inner city attractions and shopping in Lucerne. Excellent value for money. The rooms and facilities have all just been upgraded, so they are wonderfully clean and modern. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have great views and most have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Tourist hotel which is across a magnificent river for 2 nights in August and the service was impeccable . We received a warm welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful , everything we asked for was fulfilled and the breakfast was superb ! In fact the best I had during my visit in Switzerland . Crisp clean beautiful linen with the softest pillows and warm duvets , made my stay even more pleasant ! Stunning modern bathrooms was heaven . Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making my stay there the most treasured memory for me .

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of the river , you can have an equally beautiful room without the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehana360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location of Tourist hotel was very good, overlooking the river and within 5 mins easy walk of the CBD and train station. Without making a booking in Lucerne we visited the information centre at railway station, they suggested we try this hostel. A room with a double bunk on the first floor was available with shared female and shared male amenities. I found the double bunk difficult so we were able to shift to the top floor for twin beds. Unfortunately it was shared amenities with both men and women. My husband didn't mind but I was more comfortable taking the lift back down to the first floor every time I used the amenities. Other floors had amenities in their rooms. We were welcome to use the tables for teatime and could make a "cuppa" in the breakfast room. Staff were friendly and helpful and room was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The rooms that we have booked were not available when we arrived. The first evening we had to stay in a room that was really sub standard. The next day we were moved to the rooms that we have booked and it was a totally different (great) experience. Make sure you confirm your booking beforehand and make sure they have the rooms that you booked. MAKE. SURE ABOUT THIS!!

Great location. Great views of the towers and the river. Continental breakfast included in the room rate.

I would not take the chance again to find a hotel without my correct booking. I would not book here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.5 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#23 of 67 in Lucerne
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: St.-Karli-Quai 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £106 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the old town of Lucerne and only a few minutes from the station, the lake and the shopping area. Whether you come for a business trip or short holiday, the hotel staff will be happy to facilitate your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing